Meredith (& Bro)
Member Since 2022
Hello!
I'm taking care of my elderly mother's recently diagnosed diabetic cat, Bro, because she felt too overwhelmed by the idea.
I have read so much here and learned a ton, thank you!
Her vet feels confident that Bro is likely to go into remission because the disease was caught early on routine blood work. His previous diet was already exclusively canned food with a fairly low carb content (10-15%) but he has been taking large doses of lactulose for constipation for many years, and I wonder if that hasn't contributed to the situation (even though what limited available medical knowledge there is says it's unlikely...). So, we removed the lactulose and switched him to even lower carb wet foods right away (<2% carbs). Magically, he is having no problems pooping, so that's a pleasant surprise!
Anyway, Vet started him out on 1 unit of Lantus twice a day, of which I have now finished 5 full days (10 cycles). Vet's original instruction was to continue on this regimen for 12 days, at which time I should take a +6 BG measurement and see if the dose needs to be adjusted.
However, I'm doing a fair amount of home testing (using an AlphaTrak2 meter since that is also what our vet uses and I wanted to be consistent). His numbers are still pretty high, and although they do drop a bit during the cycle, it's not a ton; his AM and PM PS numbers are still pretty much always in the 400s and even the nadirs appear to only dip into the mid 300s.
So, I'm looking at the TR protocol on Tilly's Diabetes page, which is what I've been using as a guide, and I'm thinking I want to increase his dose, but my question is, does it seem OK to go right to 1.5 units? Or is there some reason I should try a smaller increase first (to 1.25)? It's pretty tricky because my syringes are 0.3 cc with half units being the smallest marked increments, so I'd have to eyeball it for quarter unit changes and they're so TINY. But I'm not sure how safe it might be to increase him straight to 1.5, which is a 50% increase from his current dose. The TR protocol seems to allow for it though, where it says "if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU."
Does anyone have any experience with this or advice they could offer?
Thank you thank you!
I'm taking care of my elderly mother's recently diagnosed diabetic cat, Bro, because she felt too overwhelmed by the idea.
I have read so much here and learned a ton, thank you!
Her vet feels confident that Bro is likely to go into remission because the disease was caught early on routine blood work. His previous diet was already exclusively canned food with a fairly low carb content (10-15%) but he has been taking large doses of lactulose for constipation for many years, and I wonder if that hasn't contributed to the situation (even though what limited available medical knowledge there is says it's unlikely...). So, we removed the lactulose and switched him to even lower carb wet foods right away (<2% carbs). Magically, he is having no problems pooping, so that's a pleasant surprise!
Anyway, Vet started him out on 1 unit of Lantus twice a day, of which I have now finished 5 full days (10 cycles). Vet's original instruction was to continue on this regimen for 12 days, at which time I should take a +6 BG measurement and see if the dose needs to be adjusted.
However, I'm doing a fair amount of home testing (using an AlphaTrak2 meter since that is also what our vet uses and I wanted to be consistent). His numbers are still pretty high, and although they do drop a bit during the cycle, it's not a ton; his AM and PM PS numbers are still pretty much always in the 400s and even the nadirs appear to only dip into the mid 300s.
So, I'm looking at the TR protocol on Tilly's Diabetes page, which is what I've been using as a guide, and I'm thinking I want to increase his dose, but my question is, does it seem OK to go right to 1.5 units? Or is there some reason I should try a smaller increase first (to 1.25)? It's pretty tricky because my syringes are 0.3 cc with half units being the smallest marked increments, so I'd have to eyeball it for quarter unit changes and they're so TINY. But I'm not sure how safe it might be to increase him straight to 1.5, which is a 50% increase from his current dose. The TR protocol seems to allow for it though, where it says "if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU."
Does anyone have any experience with this or advice they could offer?
Thank you thank you!