New Lantus User

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cleo & Jane (GA)

Member Since 2013
My 15 y/o female kitty, Cleo, was newly diagnosed with Diabetes 4/5/13. Her BG reading vet's office was 486. He gave her 2 U Humulin R, and a script for Humulin R 2 U bid.

Back at vets on 4/6/13, 8 AM, BG 546. Requested switch to Lantus. Cleo given 2 U Lantus. RX given to me for Lantus, with dose of 2 U BID. I was able to get a successful BG reading at home around 4PM, it was 50. I still gave her Lantus at 7:45 1 1/2 U. I still get a sick feeling when I think about that. During the evening at various times (It is all on the Medical Board), she got Karo, Gravy cat food, crunchies, and LC kitty food. Her readings were 9:00- 56; 10:20- 125; 11:30- 132; 12:30 - 143; 1:40 - 136; 2:45 - 151.

This morning 7:15 - BG 264, I gave 1 u Lantus; 1 PM, BG was 272; 6:45 PM, BG was 246, I gave her 1 unit.

She had a good day, ate good, relaxed as usual, used litter box, did not see her at water bowl.

I plan on doing a curve with her on Saturday, next day off of work. Should I follow the same insulin policy tomorrow?

I have a shreadsheet, but so far, having trouble uploading it to this forum.

thank you, Jane
 
Hello Jane and Cleo,
Welcome to the Lantus forum!
I was reading all the action you went thru last night but didn't want to interject.
There was enough going on.
Someone will be able to give more advice soon and also help you get your ss working....


Cleo's first condo
 
Welcome to Lantus Land, Jane!!

Here's the link to your busy night on Saturday. Marje is very good with spreadsheets. I've sent her a note to see if she'll be around and can give you a hand. In the meantime, we use a particular convention for reporting numbers that's based on the hours from when you gave a shot.
  • AMPS - 164, 1.0u Lantus
  • +6.75 - 272
  • PMPS - 246 (shot 30 min. early), 1.0u Lantus

Lantus is a type of insulin that likes consistency. You have about 30 min. of flexibility with your shot times. However, it's best if you can shoot as close to a 12 hour schedule as possible. The reason for this is that an early shot acts like a dose increase whereas a late shot acts like a dose reduction.
 
Welcome to LantusLand, Jane and Cleo! You did a great job last night - trial by fire! And good for you for doing some research on insulin for cats. That Humulin R was not a good choice at all. Another housekeeping item: the subject line of the very first post should summarize what's happening with Cleo. So the subject line should be

4/7 Cleo AMPS 264;+6.75 272; PMPS 246 newbie

It's subject line of your original post that shows up in the forum so edit that one when you get a new reading.
Liz
 
Hi Jane & Cleo,
I just read through your "trial by fire" and want to tell you that you did great, with a little help from your new friends :smile: . Welcome to Lantus Land. It's a great idea to do a curve yourself next weekend. Curves at the vets are often not representative, since a visit to the vet often makes kitties nervous (and therefore they tend to have higher blood glucose levels). Also, it is much less expensive to do your own curves!
Ask as many questions as you need and good luck in getting Cleo's spreadsheet up and running.

Welcome, again,

Ella & Rusty
 
Insulin timing- newbie

Re: giving insulin at same time. I am trying to work her (Cleo) to a 6 am test, shoot and feed. We are up at 5:15, and my whole gang usually eats then, but I will change our routine to all eating at 6, so my weekends can start a little later ~ I will have my coffee first! Jane, mom to my gang: Cleo 15 y/o diabetic kitty; Simon, 3 y/o skinny red boy kitty; Opie, 10 month old chubby wild boy kitty; Britney, 11 y/o catahoula mix girl; Benny, 5 y/o pitty mix boy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top