macal
Member Since 2012
Hi, we're not on tight regulation yet, still learning Molly's trends, but I'm cross posting from the "regular" lantus board in case you have any dosing suggestions. I'm new to this and a consult would be helpful. Many thanks,
Hi,
My cat Molly was just diagnosed with diabetes during a dental about 4 weeks ago. I had noticed she was losing weight...no hanging around the water or increased urine output though. I asked them to check her urine while she was under and BINGO diabetes.
So a brief synopsis
Molly is 11, female calico.
Her diet was changed to canned only (FF classic and Purina DM) approx 3 weeks ago, and about 1 week ago we began Lantus. Molly is quite feral (but an indoor kitty) so the vet suggested 1U every 12 hours to start (vet's fructosamine analysis before and after diet change indicated levels in the mid 500s and her BG in the high 300s)
I started with this protocol, but braved it and started checking her BG levels and pulled off the insulin because her levels were suprisingly different than the vet's....turned out this was because of the meter I was using (TrueTest brand) which apparently many users on this board have had issues with.
I've now switched to a Relion micro and starting Molly on a tentative 0.5 U morning and evening when BG is above 200 (and I'm able to get a reading).
I've been making little discoveries over the holidays....like the fact that she was getting into the dry dog food in the evenings, so that was remedied today.
Just wondering what your thoughts were on the patterns you see in her spreadsheet. Is 0.5 U too high? I opted not to dose her tonight since she was well below 200 an hour before PMPS.
Should I have fed her a big supper (which I did...I've put her 1.5 hr post supper BG here ) and then dosed her anyway?
Thanks for any advice you can give.
Hi,
My cat Molly was just diagnosed with diabetes during a dental about 4 weeks ago. I had noticed she was losing weight...no hanging around the water or increased urine output though. I asked them to check her urine while she was under and BINGO diabetes.
So a brief synopsis
Molly is 11, female calico.
Her diet was changed to canned only (FF classic and Purina DM) approx 3 weeks ago, and about 1 week ago we began Lantus. Molly is quite feral (but an indoor kitty) so the vet suggested 1U every 12 hours to start (vet's fructosamine analysis before and after diet change indicated levels in the mid 500s and her BG in the high 300s)
I started with this protocol, but braved it and started checking her BG levels and pulled off the insulin because her levels were suprisingly different than the vet's....turned out this was because of the meter I was using (TrueTest brand) which apparently many users on this board have had issues with.
I've now switched to a Relion micro and starting Molly on a tentative 0.5 U morning and evening when BG is above 200 (and I'm able to get a reading).
I've been making little discoveries over the holidays....like the fact that she was getting into the dry dog food in the evenings, so that was remedied today.
Just wondering what your thoughts were on the patterns you see in her spreadsheet. Is 0.5 U too high? I opted not to dose her tonight since she was well below 200 an hour before PMPS.
Should I have fed her a big supper (which I did...I've put her 1.5 hr post supper BG here ) and then dosed her anyway?
Thanks for any advice you can give.