AmySawyer
Member Since 2014
Started my kitty Marley on Lantus yesterday (first shot 1 unit at 6pm) checked her BG levels +3 (285) & +6 (164).
This morning AMPS her BG is 150. I was told to post here for advice before doing anything else.
Should I feed her (she eats low carb Fancy Feast Classics) & then give a lesser dose?
Please help!
I also should have mentioned yesterday PMPS her BG was 436. Which had been normal pre shot range since we started her on Humulin 30/70 2 weeks ago when she was diagnosed.
As this mornings pre shot number was significantly lower than her "normal" pre shot values, I was unsure what to do. & after posting without getting a reply (it's early I know!) we fed her the Fancy Feast Classics but did not give her a shot... Only because we are so new to Lantus & just wasn't sure how safe it would be. It takes both me & my husband to test or shoot & he had to go to work for 7am. He is planning to come home around 9am for us to test again...
Any insight would be much appreciated!
This morning AMPS her BG is 150. I was told to post here for advice before doing anything else.
Should I feed her (she eats low carb Fancy Feast Classics) & then give a lesser dose?
Please help!
I also should have mentioned yesterday PMPS her BG was 436. Which had been normal pre shot range since we started her on Humulin 30/70 2 weeks ago when she was diagnosed.
As this mornings pre shot number was significantly lower than her "normal" pre shot values, I was unsure what to do. & after posting without getting a reply (it's early I know!) we fed her the Fancy Feast Classics but did not give her a shot... Only because we are so new to Lantus & just wasn't sure how safe it would be. It takes both me & my husband to test or shoot & he had to go to work for 7am. He is planning to come home around 9am for us to test again...
Any insight would be much appreciated!