Sarah and Buzz
Member Since 2009
Hi everyone! I am starting Buzz on Lantus shortly, and I am not sure how the SoloStar pens work. I thought I read that you just use a syringe to draw from the pen like a vial of insulin. Is this correct? I remember seeing a photo one time on the old site. I am going to check the stickies here.
I am so nervous to start Lantus! I feel like I am starting all over, and I guess I am. For some background:
Buzz was dx in July, started PZI Idexx on August 10, 2009, went into remission on Dec. 10th, 2009. She's been in double digits the whole time, usually in the 70 range. Dec. 31 her BG was 97, January 5 it was 255. Her SS is up to date if you want more specifics. She went to the vet today to rule out infection and had a heck of a visit (pee, puke, it was ugly). No infection in the urine, no ketones. Bloodwork is being sent out and we will have results tomorrow, in case there's a tooth issue or some other kind of problem.
As Idexx PZI is not being made anymore, I took advantage of the free Lantus offer in December to have on hand just in case she came out of remission. Well, here we are, apparently.
Vet advised starting at 2-2.5u BID, I politely declined. It should be noted that our vet does not prescribe Lantus and knows nothing about it. She was willing to prescribe it because she knows how I stay up on things and she felt like I could handle it without her knowledge, which I pretty much did with PZI, as well.
Starting dose should be 1u, right? And hold for 3-4 days before changing dose? Aaaagggghhh, just thinking about how different Lantus is than PZI is freaking me out! Any advice is more than welcome. THANK YOU!!!
ETA: I found the pictures on the handling and storage sticky.
I am so nervous to start Lantus! I feel like I am starting all over, and I guess I am. For some background:
Buzz was dx in July, started PZI Idexx on August 10, 2009, went into remission on Dec. 10th, 2009. She's been in double digits the whole time, usually in the 70 range. Dec. 31 her BG was 97, January 5 it was 255. Her SS is up to date if you want more specifics. She went to the vet today to rule out infection and had a heck of a visit (pee, puke, it was ugly). No infection in the urine, no ketones. Bloodwork is being sent out and we will have results tomorrow, in case there's a tooth issue or some other kind of problem.
As Idexx PZI is not being made anymore, I took advantage of the free Lantus offer in December to have on hand just in case she came out of remission. Well, here we are, apparently.
Vet advised starting at 2-2.5u BID, I politely declined. It should be noted that our vet does not prescribe Lantus and knows nothing about it. She was willing to prescribe it because she knows how I stay up on things and she felt like I could handle it without her knowledge, which I pretty much did with PZI, as well.
Starting dose should be 1u, right? And hold for 3-4 days before changing dose? Aaaagggghhh, just thinking about how different Lantus is than PZI is freaking me out! Any advice is more than welcome. THANK YOU!!!
ETA: I found the pictures on the handling and storage sticky.