Re: New Lantus Kitty, Jezebel, in Health, Needs Dosing advic
Hi Courtney- thanks for the help - its a weekend and hopefully people are out and about enjoying life.
I'm Em and my diagnozed a month ago kitty is Jezebel - she's a bit young for the disease at 6 years old and currently weighs a bit less than 10 lbs (she was 12 1/2 last vet check and they thought she should be between 10-11).
Short version is she's been on Lantus for a month - first prescribed 1U BID and I was to shoot with her meals. They did a 12 hour glucose curve a week after diagnosis and told me to drop the PM dose. She went back for a second curve on 2/5 and they didn't feel 12 hours was enough info so they kept her overnight. When I picked her up, they told me to continue with just the 1U in the AM. They also mentioned that her BG was really high before her morning shot (535 I think) but thought that was a spike as she wouldn't eat and they had to resort to dry food. I bought a Relion that weekend and after a bit of trial and error, I'm having pretty good luck playing vampire.
From what I've seen and what happened at the vets - I think Jez has a late nadir, so at +12 she's lower than my vet thinks is safe to shoot (and I'm sure she's thinking its easier for me as well to just go once a day). My concern is that she's really high AMPS (350 or so) and so I'm wondering if its safe to add that shot back in sometime and see if that helps hold her down through the night.
Or maybe i shouldn't be worrying and that PS number really isn't that high?
I am running a curve today and 10 hours in she's holding in the 90s and if she follows her usual pattern, I don't think she'll be up to 150 until +14.
I've been holding off feeding till 6:30 to time it with the shot - but the furkids would love the opportunity to eat now which is the time I used to put dinner out before diabetes came around. So I was thinking maybe feed them now, test in two hours (which would be +12) and then is there a safe number to shoot?
Or should I just be grateful that she's OK on one shot a day?
Thanks,
Em and Jez
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... sp=sharing