New Lantus Kitty, Jezebel, in Health, Needs Dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: New Lantus Kitty, Jezebel, in Health, Needs Dosing advic

Hi Courtney- thanks for the help - its a weekend and hopefully people are out and about enjoying life.

I'm Em and my diagnozed a month ago kitty is Jezebel - she's a bit young for the disease at 6 years old and currently weighs a bit less than 10 lbs (she was 12 1/2 last vet check and they thought she should be between 10-11).

Short version is she's been on Lantus for a month - first prescribed 1U BID and I was to shoot with her meals. They did a 12 hour glucose curve a week after diagnosis and told me to drop the PM dose. She went back for a second curve on 2/5 and they didn't feel 12 hours was enough info so they kept her overnight. When I picked her up, they told me to continue with just the 1U in the AM. They also mentioned that her BG was really high before her morning shot (535 I think) but thought that was a spike as she wouldn't eat and they had to resort to dry food. I bought a Relion that weekend and after a bit of trial and error, I'm having pretty good luck playing vampire.

From what I've seen and what happened at the vets - I think Jez has a late nadir, so at +12 she's lower than my vet thinks is safe to shoot (and I'm sure she's thinking its easier for me as well to just go once a day). My concern is that she's really high AMPS (350 or so) and so I'm wondering if its safe to add that shot back in sometime and see if that helps hold her down through the night.

Or maybe i shouldn't be worrying and that PS number really isn't that high?

I am running a curve today and 10 hours in she's holding in the 90s and if she follows her usual pattern, I don't think she'll be up to 150 until +14.

I've been holding off feeding till 6:30 to time it with the shot - but the furkids would love the opportunity to eat now which is the time I used to put dinner out before diabetes came around. So I was thinking maybe feed them now, test in two hours (which would be +12) and then is there a safe number to shoot?

Or should I just be grateful that she's OK on one shot a day?

Thanks,
Em and Jez


https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... sp=sharing
 
Re: New Lantus Kitty, Jezebel, in Health, Needs Dosing advic

Courtney and Kismet said:
Em, Dyana responded to you in your original post, did you see it? Also, you might want to start a new topic here (I also posted this in original post)

Dyana has asked that you make a Spread Sheet like the ones we use.You can find the documents and instructions here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... =6&t=50130


Thanks Courtney,

I got it - I do have a spreadsheet but apparently I don't have the permissions right because you folks can't access the link https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... sp=sharing
(even though Google says anyone with the link can see it) so thank you for the instructions - I was going to go hunt them down myself.

I don't want to make a mess all over your boards and its kinda clear you can't help me until I get my actg together - so let me get the spreadsheet sorted out and I'll finish my curve and then post in the right place in the right format tomorrow.

I really appreciate your help.

Em
 
Re: New Lantus Kitty, Jezebel, in Health, Needs Dosing advic

Hi Em, I can see your SS okay, but I think it must be an old template. We use a different one that shows times of tests as +number hours since shooting insulin.
You're not making a mess anywhere! It's a steep learning curve --- everything from learning about the condition, to how to use the site, to learning the language we use, to learning the regulation protocol.

Take a deep breath --- you're doing great!

If you want, start a new thread here, and just copy and post the following example into a new thread. You can edit your post continuously and update your readings as you need to, and this will help everyone here on the site know what's going on with Jezebel until you can get the new SS up.

Today 2/16
AMPS -BG number
+1----- BG number
+2----- BG number


For example, If you shot at 7 am this morning, +1 would be 8am, +2 would be 9 am etc. Since we all shoot at different times, we use this method so that it is easier to locate data.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top