New in this group, advice on keeping the dose

So far she’s having good numbers for today with the .5 units. You may decide to keep that dose (and especially if she doesn’t eat as much food.) You can just see how things go.
 
I was just checking and your message came!
You’re in Georgia-US right?
I do have TWO cooling pads, they’re not using them here though, not yet at least… I do hope that they’ll adjust soon… also thinking of getting a flat sonner than planned, they usually have AC installed (temporarily moved in my mother’s home).

I did find syringes online, U-100 0.3ml, pfew!

Yes, I might keep the 0.5, since her nadir hasn’t been very high, let’s see what her PMPS bg will be
 
Yes, I am in the U.S. in the state of Georgia. We have long summers but the fall is lovely and the winters are not usually too cold. Do you have much seasonal variation in temperature there in Athens?

I think you will be happy (and the cats too) when you get your own place. I am sure your mother is extremely happy to see you!
 
I left 20 years ago, and the climate conditions have changed quite a bit, not sure if there are huge seasonal variations in Athens any more… last winter was no winter to speak of, for example, and by contrast, when I was a child it was snowing every winter in the city itself. The winters were never very long, but bitter. Not sure how it has become now, we’ll see!

My mother yes, she’s over the moon!

Aida just had a bg drop, I’ll monitor it, maybe I’ll skip the dose altogether.
 
Aida and Feloro yesterday evening
upload_2024-8-27_12-1-48.jpeg


Aida taking care of her son Feloro
upload_2024-8-27_12-2-59.jpeg


My sweet sweet cats!
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-8-27_12-1-48.jpeg
    upload_2024-8-27_12-1-48.jpeg
    30.1 KB · Views: 102
  • upload_2024-8-27_12-2-59.jpeg
    upload_2024-8-27_12-2-59.jpeg
    40.1 KB · Views: 104
Yes, they really get along very well!

So, I think Aida’s insulin need is reduced, probably the effect of the heat, I’ve been giving her consistently 0.5U these days.
I’ll make a post in the main forum for advice on which glucometer to purchase, the one touch isn’t commercialised here.
 
So, super weird, Aida's BG is again low PMPS, I think it's best to avoid any hypoglycemia and skip the shot, but I'm also wondering if it could be that my glucometer isn't working properly in the heat???
I'll get a new one tomorrow to compare…
 
May I join this conversation? I am new to the Forum and posted Lulu's situation on the New Member board but don't know what else to do. She has been on ProZinc for 8 years and suddenly began having low glucose issues in January. She possibly has Addison's disease or hypoadrenocorticism, the ACTH stimulation test was not conclusive but because of her Ph/K ratio, sudden low glucose readings, weight loss and dehydration she was put on fludrocortisone. It helped her feel better at first but she is still having the same issues.

https://vcahospitals.com/know-your-pet/addisons-disease-in-cats
 
Update:
We’re here! What a long trip, my poor cats…
Aida is panting from the heat, there’s no AC just a ventilator, I’m wetting her coat and she just lies on the floor… Feloro is also just lying, however he’s not panting despite having a thicker coat.

During the trip Aida had some sort of a crisis, nothing alarming, she just needed to get out of the carrier. I brought her to the bathroom, the staff was super nice and gave me some water so I was able to syringe-give her some, she waU-100ndered in the tiny bathroom and then she was much better.

Before leaving the hotel, I gave both some kibble, and then before boarding the plane I gave Aida some more. Upon arrival, her BG wasn’t very high (165) which makes me think that gaba really lowers her bg. Or that her reaction to stress isn’t typical with bg spikes.

Whatever it is, and because I don’t know what the impact of the heat will be on her system, I opted to discontinue gaba - the vet had recommended to go on with 50mg for a couple of days for both Aida and Feloro until they’re settled. They’re acclimated now to one room, their safe-space, I’ve allowed them to explore just a bit more - kitchen and bathroom. And they’re both lying on the floor sleeping.
Her AMPS was a bit lower than usual, so again I gave 0.5U instead of the usual 0.75.

Whenever we came across a handicap bathroom we brought them both in and let them roam free. I took the occasion each time to syringe-feed them water, 10ml each time, to ensure a baseline hydration. Super worried for Feloro’s kidneys… When we arrived, I first installed the litter box and their fountain, they both drank and peed, and then ate, but much less than usual. They’ve been eating much much less than usual. Must be the heat.

I’ve been looking for 0.3ml U-40 syringes in pharmacies, no luck so far. I’m going to look online now. Still have half a vial of prozinc, so even a U-100 0.3ml syringe would work with the conversion table.

That’s it for now!
 
Hey Betsy. Were you trying to make a comment on this thread? Daphne’s thread?. I can’t see any text from you below Daphne’s comments and I just want to make sure none of your comments are missed. If you just did this accidentally don’t worry about it. We all have occasionally put out text i to someone else’s quoted text — and other odd things. I know I have. Luckily you can usually edit your post and fix it.
 
I love your story about the trip with cats. It is not as common to travel with cat as with a dog or dogs. Our last trip was with our current 5 old cats driving to Florida and back for the winter with an 8-9 hour side trip to visit our son. Because of their age we only drove 4-5 hours a day so they could get out to eat, rest and settle in to the hotel and we could clean cages, prepare litter boxes, medicate them,feed them and ourselves and crash. They are used to it because we have traveled with all of our cats for years. This time we sure got some stares going through 3 different hotel lobbies 3 different times with 5 cats. Finding one that would let us bring in five cats was a trial but not as hard as we expected. Most people on our trip were fascinated that we would travel with that many cats and did their best to get us in and help us.

My first trip with my first cat was on an airline and they put her in cargo. She was so terrified when I got her back, trembling and foaming at the mouth that I never did that again. I did fly with a cat carrier under my seat a few times after that but mostly did road trips...especially after acquiring more than one cat. We are a merged family, we married and combined 2 children, 3 cats and a dog then added more cats. We even moved twice with cats, first with 3 cats needing to stay in a hotel for months while waiting for our new house to be ready...then again with 6 cats for months in a hotel again trying to find a house. Second move we finally moved into an apartment until we could find a house we liked and another cat showed up on our deck and moved in. They sure know how to find us, it must be feline instinct.
 
Back
Top