New here

Status
Not open for further replies.

Byt2luv

Member Since 2010
Hi all,

I'm new here and thought I would introduce myself and my sweet foster.

My name is Ronda and I am a foster mom and volunteer with Fancy Cats Rescue Team. I typically try to help with the more special needs kitties... both mentally or physically. My foster's name is Dakota (Cody) in which I think he has been posted on here before by one of our other volunteers (Denise).

Dakota is an ultra sweet ultra handsome de-clawed 8 year old male Norwegian Forest Cat (mix), at least that is what his breed seems to be to me. He was diagnosed with diabetes before he came to my home. He and his brother were owner releases and a bit neglected because they were separated from people for a good bit while they tried to find them a new home. They were taken in by a lady but she was not prepared to foster a special needs cat and although he was diagnosed it was not treated until I was asked to step in. The lady could not handle the thought of doing insulin injections. So I came and took him to my home. I immediately began his insulin injections. His perscription was 2 units twice a day after eating. Although I have dealt with various special needs I had no experience with diabetes so I began reading anything and everything I could get my hands on about it and how to care for him properly. I switched his food gradually but as fast as I could to a mostly canned food diet of either Innova EVo 95% Beef or Duck. I also allowed him to have two handfuls of Go Natural hard food to help maintain his teeth. His food schedule was 3/4 of a 5.5oz can twice a day, once at 4 AM and again at 4 PM. When he first came to me he was extremely underweight to where I could feel his spine and could see his tail bone protuding. When he began to gain his weight back I reduced his food to 1/2 a can per feeding session.

He was the easiest (and still is) kitty in the world to medicate (give his injections). He seemed to know that I was trying to help him and immediately trusted and loved up to me. After his breakfast I would sit on the floor and he would immediately run over get on my lap and start kneading until I gave him his insulin of 2 units of Lantus. I allowed him to see and smell the needle and I thought I could have heard him start to purr louder. At any rate, he is also the easiest kitty I have ever dealt with in doing a spot check of his BG levels. He sees me breakout the meter and he runs over to me and gets on my lap. Such a wonderful and sweet boy. After about two weeks of this routine I took him to get a curve test by the vet as I had found it was never done for him. It turned out the dosage was off and so we upped it to 3 units in the morning and 2 in the evening. During that time we also discoverd a growth on his ear and had it removed once he was stable in the insulin. I then suspected he was becoming more regulated and asked for the vet to check. He confirmed my suspicions and we reduced his insulin back to 2 units per feeding session. Again he was doing so well, he no longer drank excessively or peed a lot. His appetite was WONDERFUL and he loved his soft food diet. He was on a hard food only diet at the previous homes. So we had another check and saw a low BG so we lowered it again to 1 unit per feeding. So I was getting my hopes up that he had become possibly regulated and may not need insulin anymore. After a two week stint on only 1 unit per session we checked again and saw again it was continuiously low so we tried OTJ for one week. To my dismay, when checked again his BG was a 400+. I immediately started his Lantus again but this time only 1 unit per day. My vet requested we try this and that I do a curve test at home.

I have not done a curve test before but I am willing to try.

So this brings me today. We really need to find a forever home for this sweet loving affection snuggly cuddle craving boy. His favorite thing to do is to lay on my chest, nuzzle into my neck and start kneading my shoulders. He drools a little while kneading but it is drools of delight.

I joined here in hopes of finding as much information as I can on how to best care for Dakota and for any future kitties I may foster that has this issue. I also am hoping that I might find some good leads on anyone that may be interested in possibly giving this sweetie a forever home.

HI!!!! confused_cat
 
Welcome Rhonda and Dakota!

We can help you help Dakota, so you are in the right place. :-D

The first thing that jumped out at me is, if I understand this correctly you are now only giving him insulin once a day. That isn't real good for a feline as the metabolize insulin faster than humans. Lantus works best when given twice a day, other wise kitty spends 12 hours feeling great and the other 12 hours feeling lousy. Perhaps if he is going too low on 1u bid you could cut the dose in half and give him .5u bid.

Secondly, no dry food is real good for a diabetic, and really does nothing to help their teeth, it is sort of like us eating potato chips or crackers to keep our teeth healthy. It would be better to either brush his teeth or give him raw chicken necks or wing tips to chew on for his teeth.

I may have over looked it in your post but are you home testing him? If you are then doing a curve is very easy, you just test every couple of hours. I'm sure you can get a hand with that from Denise if you need it.

Others will be along shortly I'm sure, but just wanted to give you a nice welcome to the FDMB family and thank you for stepping up to help darling Dakota.

Mel & Max
 
Hi there! Thank you SO much for stepping in & helping Dakota! It sounds like you're doing a wonderful job!

I agree with Mel though on everything. What popped out at me was the dry food for teeth thing, and the once a day shot. It's usually rare a cat only needs 1 shot a day.. they usually need it twice a day. Especially if he was doing well on that in the past. As for the dry food cleaning the teeth.. well, it just doesn't work that way. I always tell people, "Why would they have invented Greenies for their teeth then?" Those Greenies are REALLY hard! It has to be really hard to help scrape any plaque off their teeth.. not just break apart into dust at the first bite. (IF they chew it at all! How much puke have you seen w/ dry food eaters w/ the pieces all intact!? ;-))

You're hometesting right? That's all a curve is.. just doing more tests throughout the day. Every 2 hours if you can. It's actually more accurate if you do it yourself, because you don't add the stress of a car ride & being at the vet all day for it! If you're home all day, you can do a curve.. but if not, people try to get spot checks when they can. Whenever they think the 'peak' of the insulin is working, to see how far down the cat's BG goes. So hopefully Dakota's not getting any dry food 'treats' anymore. There are lots of low carb treat options out there, like freeze dried chicken or salmon, etc..

Anyway, welcome!
smileyvault-cute-big-smiley-animated-082.gif
Looks like you're doing a GREAT job already!
 
Thank you for the warm welcome.

I sort of agree about changing it to maybe .5 units my only concern is getting it consistent. I wish the syringes could be better defined. I realize they are already fairly small but I worry I don't give him a proper level everytime. I will try though. I have done spot BG checks but not a complete curve test. It is a bit hard for me time wise as I have other fosters with special needs that I take care of as well as the two kitties (Jazz and Alli) that own me. Plus I work everyday. This weekend I think will be my first weekend I have set aside to try to do this curve test for Dakota.

I will say that I am a little concerned that his teeth might be some of the problems I am having with his BG. Dakota has been with me for about a month and a half so I haven't had the time to try neck bones. I would really like to try to get his teeth cleaned but I am restrained by costs. He is part of the rescue I volunteer for and teeth cleaning is expensive and we have so many cats that we take care of that needs other more urgent medical treatment.

I will try to do as you all suggest as best I can. It gets hard though as I have three other fosters, one with IBD and one with a history of UTI. I will give it my best shot. Thank you for your advice.
 
You can get syringes with 1/2 u markings, in fact I have several here that I'm not using since my guy is OTJ (off insulin). If you would like them I can easily send them to you. I think I have about 9 left, which would get you a good start and give you something to take in with you next time you get syringes and just say "I need these". I got mine at Wal-mart they were like $13 for a box of 100, 10 of $2 Just send me a private message with a mailing address and I can get you my spares. They make micro-dosing so much easier.

Mel & Max
 
You can do some home dental cleaning (in your copious spare time!), to help with the dental problems. You may need to work up to actually using a pet toothbrush, but it can be done, and will slow or halt progression of current tartar buildup and infection.
 
Here are the specs on the Walmart syringes:

Reli On Insulin Syringes
Capacity: 3/10cc (Doses up to 30 units)
Gauge: 31
Length: 8mm (5/16")

#81131-0311-78
 
Hi all,

Just recently I introduced myself and my foster Dakota that was diganosed Feline Diabetic. I have WONDERFUL news... today Dakota was adopted. YEAH!!! I gave them this website info and I am hoping they check it out.

Although I no longer have a diabetic kitty right now I would be grateful if you all would allow me to continue to be a part of the group as I have just begun to learn and I want to be armed with as much information as possible for the next time I have a diabetic foster.
 
Oh that's great! I hope they come on here so we can see the updates!

Of course you're welcome to stay! Hopefully you'll learn more about it & possibly take in or foster another diabetic in the future. ;-)
 
Funny you should mention that. Snce I have a room available now the president of the rescue organization I volunteer for asked me if I would be willing to take another cat of our that was recently diagnosed with diabetes. Unfortunately though I have noticed that one of our kitties at the store has become very depressed and needs some good one on one time with someone. I can see that she would be a great lap kitty if I could just get her to cheer up a bit. I think I may have to take her in first. But they know I am willing to take special needs kitties and when I can find another of my fosters a furever home I might be able to take in Ginger (diabetic) in for a bit.
 
That is great for Dakota if you can and you think they are open to it maybe you could get them to post at the Lantus board. It sounds like if he was off dry food he wouldn't need insulin. It happens a lot. Hope all goes well for your new Foster.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top