New here!

Status
Not open for further replies.
And a spreadsheet linked to you signature and a picture of your handsome boy. You accomplished a lot today. Pat yourself on the back.
 
I would have reduced his dose this morning to the new 2.75 dose as he earned that dose reduction yesterday.
Please test by +2 to see where he's at.
 
WOW i must have been still asleep at 6:00 am I did forget to reduce it, I saw a reading of 15 and gave him 3 units.
He's at 11.1 +4 (200)

Does this mean that (thanks to my own carelessness) he is likely to drop too low again today?
I will test again at +6.
 
I think you'll be okay, but do test at +6, and maybe again at +8 and at +11. Remember the +11 test compared to the pre shot test can let you know if he's rising or dropping or staying the same when you have to give the shot.

Good luck, I have to go to work today, so won't be around. If you don't get a response when you need it on this forum, you can make a post on the Lantus Tight Regulation forum and they will help you. They know Lantus insulin over there, and are a good group.
 
Hi Judy!

Great job handling the low numbers yesterday. In the future when you see numbers in the 40's, go to testing every 1/2 hr to make sure he doesn't go into the 30's. The carbs can wear off quickly and cats can bobble up and down, as you saw yesterday. Nothing like baptism by fire having to handle that day of low numbers your first day here! you did great.

You definitely want to take the reduction tonight - regardless of what high numbers you see today! It was fine that you gave the "old" dose this morning, but you don't want to miss taking the reduction tonight - so give 2.75. Boomer is bouncing today - a reaction to yesterday's low numbers. It's the body's way to save a cat from a hypoglycemic episode, even though he didn't have one. His body isn't used to these numbers.

So don't worry about today's highs - this can even last up to 3 days when they are really not used to lower numbers. Here is a post explaining 2 situations where higher numbers don't mean a person should increase the dose, New Dose Wonkiness and Bounces. The part on Bounces (2nd post) is what applies to Boomer right now.

Dyana's gone to work today, but several of us are keeping our eyes on you and will keep checking. With this bounce, you can probably check about every 3 hrs today so you catch it when the bounce "clears" and he returns to the lower numbers. The fact that he was already coming down some at +4 might say that this bounce isn't going to last long.

I'm very glad you found the Facebook group and they sent you to FDMB when you did! Boomer definitely needed the extra attention yesterday!
 
Hi Julie, I was really grateful for all the help yesterday! I had been on the facebook page for quite some time but when things started to get a little serious here they asked me to come over to this site.
I had every intention of decreasing to 2.75 this morning and since it was early in the morning and my memory sucks, I forgot. Right now I am putting a note on the lantus bottle to remind me to decrease tonight.
We're at +7.5 now; tested half an hour earlier than my plan because Boomer REALLY wanted to eat! He is at 8.0 which is about 143.
The information about the Bounce was great and explains what I've been seeing with Boomer's numbers previously.

I really appreciate everyone's help with Boomer!!
 
:-D

if he's down to the 100's, he's already clearing the bounce. that says he's been in some of the green numbers before and his body isn't too unaccustomed to them.

If you want to try to get him diet-controlled through tightly regulating him, you might want to post over on the Lantus & Lev Tight Regulation Insulin Support Group. That's the goal of most of those folks, although not all. He's off to a great start!
 
oh I would love to get him diet controlled!
Do I just start a new thread over on Lantus or do I link it in some way?

He was 10.7 at +11.....192
Assuming he's still going up in one hour I assume I shoot 2.75?
 
You copy the link to this page and put it in your new post. That way, folks can look back to see what's been going on.
 
Thanks!
Boomer's PMPS was 10.3 (185). He has just finished eating so I'm giving 2.75. Hopefully this is the correct thing to do!!
 
Hi Judy. Did you shoot the 2.75? I'm just asking because the Units column is empty on Boomer's spreadsheet. I hope you have been getting some tests tonight.
I think you are ready to come on over.. to the Lantus Tight Regulation forum, when ever you are ready.
It looks like we have the same shot time, so I should be around to help you at shot time until I have to go to work :roll: .
 
Hi Dyana, yes I did shoot 2.75. Forgot to update the spreadsheet; I'll do that now.
I'll be doing a test in about 15 minutes at +4
I hope 2.75 wasn't too high for him; unfortunately there was no one around at his PM shot time.
I'm over in the Lantus group now.
 
I'm Alisa, my 12 yr old cat Oscar was diagnosed with diabetes a week ago. He had been pooping on the floor and lost weight, so I took him in to be checked out. For now we're treating with prescription MD dry food, he's never liked wet food. I was very glad that for the past couple days he stopped pooping in the floor, I thought he was feeling better. Today he pooped again, and there was blood in it. He's stayed on the bed most of the day, but is purring and happy otherwise. I wish tomorrow weren't holiday I'd take him in to be checked. Should I be worried?
 
Hi Alisa,

Go ahead and start a new thread about Oscar so your post doesn't get lost here. Each kitty gets their very own thread on the forum!

welcome to the forum! we'll try to give you a hand with Oscar.
 
Help.im new here. I just brought my kitty home from e.r. I could not afford the 1500 for another day. I picked up script n vet said dont give shot if she doesnt eat. She did not eat n is very wobbly. She is still not stable. I am trying to get a reading not any luck. She is drinking but not eatting n very thin. Desperate for help
 
Hi babyzizi.

Could you copy this post into a new thread?
We have one cat per thread, and your post will get lost stacked at the bottom of the thread by judytomlinson.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top