New Here With Max--Insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
Okay. Max was started on 11/15 on l unit of lantus twice a day. I went back for a recheck of his BG 5 days later and his BG went from 427 to 114 so his insulin was decreased from l unit in the morning to 1/2 a unit at night. I was advised here to give .75 each time for best results. That is no easy task to measure especially since I used up the syringes with .5 markings. I ordered more today but won't get them until probably until Monday I bet. If it is too hard I'll buy a bag of 10 to tide me over but I think it's rotten that they charge so much for 10 ($5). His BG today was 182 and both times were taken about 6 1/2 hours after his insulin so the dose is to remain the same and I take Max back to the vet Friday. At this point I am not testing at home. That MIGHT change on Friday. Does a good response like this mean we stand a better chance of remission?

Elise
 
Elise,

No one can predict which cats will and will not go into remission, but a good response early does indicate you have an good insulin for Max. And that gives you the best chance with home testing to control his diabetes enough to give him a chance at remission.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Don't know where you get your syringes or where you live, but I buy a box of 100 for $12+ change, at Walmart. I also use the Walmart brand meter 'Prime' and the strips are only $9 for 50. Have yet to find anything cheaper and it is expensive to care for a diabetic cat.

Good luck to you and Max.
 
Re: Question About BG meters and results today

I just got back from my vet's and we tried out my monitor from Walmart, the Relion Micro. His BG on it was 258 but on my vet's meter it was 185 and was 182 last week. This is obviously too big a difference. Should I send the meter back and get another or could we have done something wrong? If I get a different one which one should I get that is easy to use and reliable? Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top