New here -unsure whether to give shot 2nite

Status
Not open for further replies.

lbeerman

Member Since 2012
Hi, New here and could use some help this evening.

My cat Riley just went back on Prozinc after a 6 month honeymoon :-|.

He is on 3 units twice a day. I work full time so give him his shots around 8 am and then 8pm. Always getting a BG reading 1st.
His numbers tonight are low and I am unsure whether to give him the full 3 units, reduce it, or skip it. Any help would be much appreciated. I don't have a spread sheet but here are the last few days #'s.

5/29/12
amps 333
pmps 280

5/30/12
amps 209
pmps 307

5/31/12
amps 218 at 8am
got in a little early tonight and checked bg at
+10.5 hours it was 71
+12 hours it was 145
+13 hours it was 175

Not sure if 175 is too low for a shot tonight. Any thoughts??????


All readings are after meals and all taken w. a Relion Micro.

Thanks for any help you can provide.
 
HI, thanks. Yes. The 175 is with food. He gets 2 cans of Fancy Feast AM & 2 cans PM. He's a big cat. I give him 1 can before checking his BG and then the other after his shot.
 
We generally say not to give a shot under 200 until you have data toknow how he will react. If he has eaten, the food will increase his bg so you can't figure the numbers are " true" until 2 hours after food.

I think I would skip. He will be high in the am, but it will be because he will be 24 hours without a shot. I would reduce regardless. Maybe down to 2 units? The long cycle and low numbers indicate the dose is too high.
 
Thanks so much. I was wondering if the dose was too high. I will skip tonights shot and try 2 units tomorrow morning.
 
At the least, I would wait and retest in an hour or two. But, if you shoot then-- your 12 hour schedule will be off and might not work with your schedule. If I could not test in an hour or two and adjust my schedule if necessary-- then I would skip tonight. The 175 is not only a low number to shoot into, but it is also inflated due to the food.

I would also consider decreasing your dose. A 71 reading at +10.5 is fairly low and the 3 units left you unshootable tonight.

Good Luck!
 
One more thought! In the future, I would suggest testing prior to feeding-- it will give you a truer reading. But, whatever you do in your testing-- be consistent!
 
We have all been there. It appears there is some pancreas work. I would be careful with the dosing. Especially if you are gone for the whole cycle. The pancreas could start working because you do have the history of it. If you give to much insulin plus a working pancreas you could end up with a hypo.

So maybe in the morning post your AMPS & ask for some dosing advice in a new thread so you can get a quick response if possible.

You are doing a good job.
 
I checked his blood @ 7am this morning & it was 292. This was after eating. My DH fed him when he got up at 5:30am.
I gave him 2 units. What do you think? Again, thanks for the help!
 
I wish I could get a +6 shot but not today. I'm at work. I will post his +12 when I get home & go from there.
I'm off tomorrow so can check his #'s through out the day and see what is going on.
Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top