New Here & Switching from Lantus to Levemir

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looks like he's clearing that bounce quickly!!!

That's good news!.....but with him starting to respond so much better, it's REALLY important to get some tests on that PM cycle too

Most cats go lower at night....and without getting tests on the PM cycle, you're missing half the picture

If you think of your spreadsheet like a puzzle, each test result is a piece in that puzzle....the more pieces you have scattered around, the easier it is to see "the whole picture"
 
To say a little bit more about the jigsaw puzzle analogy that Chris mentioned - right now there could be an elephant in the night cycle (the right side of the spreadsheet) for Noah. ;) We harp at people to get at least one pm cycle test because we've seen a zillion times over that so many cats go low at night. And because Lantus dosing is based upon how low the current dose causes the cat's blood sugar to go, those lows are very important to know. Most people think if they see the day cycle, it likely repeats again at night, but that is seldom true. Often the night cycle looks like it belongs to a different cat. Morning numbers are typically high because of Dawn Phenomenon and often the higher numbers are during the day. But cats are all different, so it may or may not be true for Noah.

If you have a reason you absolutely can't get night cycle tests, just put it in your signature line "unable to get pm cycle tests" and people will stop bugging you. Sometimes people truly aren't able to, but if you can, it can be extremely revealing to see what's going on in his body at night. Many people get just one test, right before they go to bed. There's no benefit to us if you test at night or not, but there could be a lot of benefit to you and Noah.

I think Noah's sugar is beginning to regulate. I know this isn't much data to go on, but after last night's debacle, when I way overreacted to a BG of 80 and gave him some corn syrup, his BG was predictably high pre shot this morning at 534. But I just tested at 4+ and it was down to 179 and his peak isn't usually until about 6+. Am I onto something here, or just lucky?

I know we're on different time zones . . . but I see an 80 at +6 in yesterday's day cycle. Was that actually at night?

It's hard to answer your question yet - as time goes on and more test data appears, then answers become more obvious. :D
 
I actually need to roll back the shooting schedule a couple of hours. I'm giving him about 7 days to do so starting tomorrow.
 
So Noah just BG is 52 at +10. Gave him a Karo Syrup gum rub and some yummy ff. What number am I going for pre shot in 2 hours ideally? What number should I stall a shot at?
 
Either that was a lot of karo, or he's already bouncing. You may not have to stall. We try not to feed between +10 and preshot time, so we know what his preshot numbers would be without influence of food. But we absolutely would feed if they were in the 40's.

With Tight Regulation, kitties earn a .25U reduction if they go below 50.
 
I didn't stall. Just gave shot and will test at +2. That's 1:30 in the morning for me - Ugh. My vet just put the fear of G/d in me when Noah first got the dx, that if he gets to around 50, I have to get sugar into him that second! and take him right over for the vet to look at. So, I'm still trying to shake the compulsion to drown him in Karo Syrup when numbers get to double digits - It's all psychological.:nailbiting:
 
In future, always get a preshot test. Since you gave high carb two hours before hand, it could have worn off and he could have been a low number you don't want to shoot. Given the amount he went up, you were probably OK this time. I would get another test soon to make sure.
 
Hi. I'm brand new here and I have questions about Levemir vs. Lantus. My 18 yr old cat, Noah, was recently dx'd diabetic and started Lantus just over a month ago. He's up to 4iu 2x/day and it's just not controlling things. With my vet's approval, we even went up to 10 hour intervals, instead of 12, and still, while his numbers do get down to the 140 - 150 range, they're back to upwards of 500 after just 9+ hours. To complete the picture, he does have kidney disease, probably ~ stage 2 (progressing slowly), which does complicate things. He's also already on a raw diet with zero carbs for several years. Anyway, the vet wants to switch him to Levemir. My question is, has anyone had success with Levemir after Lantus did not last long enough. Any experiences (esp. with a cat with any degree of kidney disease) would be much appreciated. Thanks!
Hello!! Viveca. I switched from Lantus to Levemir. The same happened to my cat Markeis with Lantus. I remember that he was not getting to 12 hours so I was told to add Rapid.
It was a mess. When we switched to Levemir it was great! Not only Markies has a much nicer curve but also the shots don´t even hurt. Lantus has a different PH so it hurts more when shooting.

I think Levermir will be great.

Silvi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top