Hi, my name is Janet and I apologize that my first post here is a small novel but I'm hoping you can help Toonces. Toonces is 15. Here is her story.
One year ago in Januray 2013 Toonces started going on the floor just outside of her litter box. I took her to the vet to see if it was being caused by something physical. He did a Urinalysis, cbc and chemistry profile and they all came back normal. Her bg was 83 at that time. She continued to not use her litter box so I was able to train her to use pee pads.
First part of October 2013 she started peeing in large quantities and guzzling water.
October 23, 2013 There was blood in her urine so I rushed her to the vet. Because of the pee pads, I caught the blood on the first day that it happened. The vet did another full panel test on her and it came back with glucose in her urine and a bg of 335 and a urinary infection. He said she would need shots so he hospitalized her for 6 days and ended up with 3 units of prozinc 2 times a day. She also got an antibiotic shot. He also took her off of the Wellness chicken/herring food that I had been feeding her for the past 3 years and put her on Hills WD
About a week later she had a followup all day test and another antibiotic shot. Her lowest bg was 430 so he upped the prozinc to 4 units.
This pattern of all day vet checks and increasing by 1 unit each time continued until the end of November (so about a month from diagnosis). I finally told the vet that I would have to learn to do blood checks at home because I couldn't afford to keep bringing her in and I had no clue if she were to drop too low in between visits. He agreed and I bought an Alpha track II from him (didn't know I could use human monitors).The vet showed me what a curve was and I did one about every three days and called him with the numbers, which never went below 421. He increased 1 unit each week until she reached 9 units with no improvement and then he suggested switching her to dog insulin.
It was at this point that I googled " insulin resistant cat" and found your site. I read all that I could and was completely overwhelmed, I called the vet and asked if he would switch her to Lantus instead of the dog insulin and he said he would but it is $200.00 for a vial (his cost, which he passed on to me) and it only had a shelf life of 28 days. I showed him your article on Lantus lasting up to 6 months in the fridge (I'm praying that's true because I can't afford 200 a month) and he said he would try it.
So on this past Wednesday, January 8 Toonces went for an all day testing and he started her on 3 units of Lantus. He had me withhold her night time prozinc so she had been 24 hours without insulin when he put her on Lantus. Here are her numbers:
7:30 at home ate 1/2 can
8:45 Preshot 641
8:46 3 units Lantus
9:20 HI
10:20 702
11:30 640
1:30 571
3:30 695
I picked her up at 4:30 with instructions to give her 3 units that night and increase to 4 units the next morning when I could monitor her all day.
5:00 1/2 can Hills WD
7:30 569
8:45 shot 3 units
Yesterday, Thursday Jan 9..I didn't increase her to 4, I increase by 1/2 unit after reading this on your site
7:30 1/2 can Hills WD
8:45 preshot 585
9:00 3 1/2 u Lantus
11:15 528
12:15 610
1:30 555
2:30 501
4:15 533
5:00 1/2 can hills wd
8:30 610
9:00 shot 3 1/2 units
I found your posting on canned food and was appalled to find that Toonces was taken off of Wellness at 7% carbs and put on wd at 25% so I had a can of Wellness and I switched her back this morning
Today's numbers
7:30 1/2 can Wellness chick/her
9:10 Preshot 585
9:15 3 1/2 u Lantus
Looking back now I have so many questions that I was too ignorant and uninformed to even ask the vet. I feel horrible that Toonces has had to pay the price for my ignorance. Last night my husband and I just sat with her in our laps and cried. I don't know if she can be helped.
Here are my questions.
Was she increased way too fast on the prozinc? from 3 to 9 units in 9 weeks.
did the urinary infection and antibiotic shots affect her readings while she was in the initial stages of receiving prozinc
At least with prozinc her lowest number was pretty close to 4 hours after her shot, I have no idea with Lantus.
Her schedule has always been 7:30 am eat, 9:15 shot, 5pm eat, 9:15 shot. Is that ok?
She's eating Wellness now, is there a better food for her?
Should I continue to increase the lantus..I don't want to make the mistake of increasing too fast again
Any help you could give us would be greatly appreciated.
Janet
One year ago in Januray 2013 Toonces started going on the floor just outside of her litter box. I took her to the vet to see if it was being caused by something physical. He did a Urinalysis, cbc and chemistry profile and they all came back normal. Her bg was 83 at that time. She continued to not use her litter box so I was able to train her to use pee pads.
First part of October 2013 she started peeing in large quantities and guzzling water.
October 23, 2013 There was blood in her urine so I rushed her to the vet. Because of the pee pads, I caught the blood on the first day that it happened. The vet did another full panel test on her and it came back with glucose in her urine and a bg of 335 and a urinary infection. He said she would need shots so he hospitalized her for 6 days and ended up with 3 units of prozinc 2 times a day. She also got an antibiotic shot. He also took her off of the Wellness chicken/herring food that I had been feeding her for the past 3 years and put her on Hills WD
About a week later she had a followup all day test and another antibiotic shot. Her lowest bg was 430 so he upped the prozinc to 4 units.
This pattern of all day vet checks and increasing by 1 unit each time continued until the end of November (so about a month from diagnosis). I finally told the vet that I would have to learn to do blood checks at home because I couldn't afford to keep bringing her in and I had no clue if she were to drop too low in between visits. He agreed and I bought an Alpha track II from him (didn't know I could use human monitors).The vet showed me what a curve was and I did one about every three days and called him with the numbers, which never went below 421. He increased 1 unit each week until she reached 9 units with no improvement and then he suggested switching her to dog insulin.
It was at this point that I googled " insulin resistant cat" and found your site. I read all that I could and was completely overwhelmed, I called the vet and asked if he would switch her to Lantus instead of the dog insulin and he said he would but it is $200.00 for a vial (his cost, which he passed on to me) and it only had a shelf life of 28 days. I showed him your article on Lantus lasting up to 6 months in the fridge (I'm praying that's true because I can't afford 200 a month) and he said he would try it.
So on this past Wednesday, January 8 Toonces went for an all day testing and he started her on 3 units of Lantus. He had me withhold her night time prozinc so she had been 24 hours without insulin when he put her on Lantus. Here are her numbers:
7:30 at home ate 1/2 can
8:45 Preshot 641
8:46 3 units Lantus
9:20 HI
10:20 702
11:30 640
1:30 571
3:30 695
I picked her up at 4:30 with instructions to give her 3 units that night and increase to 4 units the next morning when I could monitor her all day.
5:00 1/2 can Hills WD
7:30 569
8:45 shot 3 units
Yesterday, Thursday Jan 9..I didn't increase her to 4, I increase by 1/2 unit after reading this on your site
7:30 1/2 can Hills WD
8:45 preshot 585
9:00 3 1/2 u Lantus
11:15 528
12:15 610
1:30 555
2:30 501
4:15 533
5:00 1/2 can hills wd
8:30 610
9:00 shot 3 1/2 units
I found your posting on canned food and was appalled to find that Toonces was taken off of Wellness at 7% carbs and put on wd at 25% so I had a can of Wellness and I switched her back this morning
Today's numbers
7:30 1/2 can Wellness chick/her
9:10 Preshot 585
9:15 3 1/2 u Lantus
Looking back now I have so many questions that I was too ignorant and uninformed to even ask the vet. I feel horrible that Toonces has had to pay the price for my ignorance. Last night my husband and I just sat with her in our laps and cried. I don't know if she can be helped.
Here are my questions.
Was she increased way too fast on the prozinc? from 3 to 9 units in 9 weeks.
did the urinary infection and antibiotic shots affect her readings while she was in the initial stages of receiving prozinc
At least with prozinc her lowest number was pretty close to 4 hours after her shot, I have no idea with Lantus.
Her schedule has always been 7:30 am eat, 9:15 shot, 5pm eat, 9:15 shot. Is that ok?
She's eating Wellness now, is there a better food for her?
Should I continue to increase the lantus..I don't want to make the mistake of increasing too fast again
Any help you could give us would be greatly appreciated.
Janet