deuxnoirchats
Member Since 2014
Hi all! I've been reading posts, but not finding exactly what I am looking for, so here I am!
Puffy is 14, and was diagnosed last October. He first showed signs in August, but it took me a little while to put the indicators together. He has a "sister", Stella, who is 10 and pretty normal in the sense of health.
Puffy has been on Lantus 2x daily the whole time, since diagnosis. Starting BG was over 400 at the vet. We've regulated quite well, first at 2U, and then up to 3U, which has been dose for 11 months or so. Periodic trips to the vet, and had not done home testing. He's usually acting himself.
Earlier this week, he started a bout of loose stools. I know it is him because he doesn't like to poop in the litter box (been this way for years, he has his moments where he will, but prefers the rug I give him next to it).
I thought this was due to a diff wet food I gave him (Weruva Paw-Lickin Chicken), but after returning home from Christmas travel (both cats were with me), I found a spot in the basement I had missed from before the feeding. I racked my brain to think if there was anything else I had given him out of the ordinary, but came up with nothing. He had been given some 1/2% milk, which is not abnormal and has never caused any upset. (Vet has approved in small doses-he loves it.)
He has been begging for food more than normal since Christmas Eve, and with the loose stool (liquid yesterday), I was really worried about his BG levels. He was not showing Signs of hypo, in fact he was being all fun and youthful. Happy and purrs.
I went and purchased a home test kit, TrueResult, as it did have good reviews on Consumer Reports and closer store than Wal-Mart (was getting close to pharmacy closing time and didn't want to risk missing them and wasting time). I don't think he had eaten much and at +6, he read at 41. I was already in the process of boiling him some chicken, but gave a little syrup just in case. Now, I am new to testing, so didn't write down where the eating was in this, but all he had was some plain chicken and some water during the testing. (BTW he has been drinking water, so I have not been overly concerned of dehydration at this point.)
+7 @50 (after some chicken)
+8 @67
+10 @54
+24 @92
I skipped the PM shot and AM shot (we are a little off schedule due to weekend and me not feeling so hot either and sleeping in).
He's still just eating plain chicken and had a more solid stool this morning.
My question is how does the human meter number translate to the actual cat number? I am using his ear, thank goodness I have a great boy who stays calm, otherwise I wouldn't be able to hold it together myself, lol.
Hopefully I covered all the bases here.
Thanks!
Puffy is 14, and was diagnosed last October. He first showed signs in August, but it took me a little while to put the indicators together. He has a "sister", Stella, who is 10 and pretty normal in the sense of health.
Puffy has been on Lantus 2x daily the whole time, since diagnosis. Starting BG was over 400 at the vet. We've regulated quite well, first at 2U, and then up to 3U, which has been dose for 11 months or so. Periodic trips to the vet, and had not done home testing. He's usually acting himself.
Earlier this week, he started a bout of loose stools. I know it is him because he doesn't like to poop in the litter box (been this way for years, he has his moments where he will, but prefers the rug I give him next to it).
I thought this was due to a diff wet food I gave him (Weruva Paw-Lickin Chicken), but after returning home from Christmas travel (both cats were with me), I found a spot in the basement I had missed from before the feeding. I racked my brain to think if there was anything else I had given him out of the ordinary, but came up with nothing. He had been given some 1/2% milk, which is not abnormal and has never caused any upset. (Vet has approved in small doses-he loves it.)
He has been begging for food more than normal since Christmas Eve, and with the loose stool (liquid yesterday), I was really worried about his BG levels. He was not showing Signs of hypo, in fact he was being all fun and youthful. Happy and purrs.
I went and purchased a home test kit, TrueResult, as it did have good reviews on Consumer Reports and closer store than Wal-Mart (was getting close to pharmacy closing time and didn't want to risk missing them and wasting time). I don't think he had eaten much and at +6, he read at 41. I was already in the process of boiling him some chicken, but gave a little syrup just in case. Now, I am new to testing, so didn't write down where the eating was in this, but all he had was some plain chicken and some water during the testing. (BTW he has been drinking water, so I have not been overly concerned of dehydration at this point.)
+7 @50 (after some chicken)
+8 @67
+10 @54
+24 @92
I skipped the PM shot and AM shot (we are a little off schedule due to weekend and me not feeling so hot either and sleeping in).
He's still just eating plain chicken and had a more solid stool this morning.
My question is how does the human meter number translate to the actual cat number? I am using his ear, thank goodness I have a great boy who stays calm, otherwise I wouldn't be able to hold it together myself, lol.
Hopefully I covered all the bases here.
Thanks!