New Here -Need Diabetic Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

deuxnoirchats

Member Since 2014
Hi all! I've been reading posts, but not finding exactly what I am looking for, so here I am!

Puffy is 14, and was diagnosed last October. He first showed signs in August, but it took me a little while to put the indicators together. He has a "sister", Stella, who is 10 and pretty normal in the sense of health.

Puffy has been on Lantus 2x daily the whole time, since diagnosis. Starting BG was over 400 at the vet. We've regulated quite well, first at 2U, and then up to 3U, which has been dose for 11 months or so. Periodic trips to the vet, and had not done home testing. He's usually acting himself.

Earlier this week, he started a bout of loose stools. I know it is him because he doesn't like to poop in the litter box (been this way for years, he has his moments where he will, but prefers the rug I give him next to it).
I thought this was due to a diff wet food I gave him (Weruva Paw-Lickin Chicken), but after returning home from Christmas travel (both cats were with me), I found a spot in the basement I had missed from before the feeding. I racked my brain to think if there was anything else I had given him out of the ordinary, but came up with nothing. He had been given some 1/2% milk, which is not abnormal and has never caused any upset. (Vet has approved in small doses-he loves it.)
He has been begging for food more than normal since Christmas Eve, and with the loose stool (liquid yesterday), I was really worried about his BG levels. He was not showing Signs of hypo, in fact he was being all fun and youthful. Happy and purrs.
I went and purchased a home test kit, TrueResult, as it did have good reviews on Consumer Reports and closer store than Wal-Mart (was getting close to pharmacy closing time and didn't want to risk missing them and wasting time). I don't think he had eaten much and at +6, he read at 41. I was already in the process of boiling him some chicken, but gave a little syrup just in case. Now, I am new to testing, so didn't write down where the eating was in this, but all he had was some plain chicken and some water during the testing. (BTW he has been drinking water, so I have not been overly concerned of dehydration at this point.)
+7 @50 (after some chicken)
+8 @67
+10 @54
+24 @92

I skipped the PM shot and AM shot (we are a little off schedule due to weekend and me not feeling so hot either and sleeping in).
He's still just eating plain chicken and had a more solid stool this morning.

My question is how does the human meter number translate to the actual cat number? I am using his ear, thank goodness I have a great boy who stays calm, otherwise I wouldn't be able to hold it together myself, lol.

Hopefully I covered all the bases here.
Thanks!
 
"True" meters read significantly lower that good meters. In any event, the 41 was too low. I would reduce the dose to 1 1/2 (from 2) units.
 
See my signature link Glucometer Notes for reference values and their use.
 
Thanks, that is helpful.
At +27, just about 3 hours after eating some chicken, he was at 67. Going to keep checking, but very wary of giving his normal 3U dose, or any. He hasn't been eating much dry food, which is free feeding of Orijen. (Being pampered with chicken, I probably wouldn't either.) I may just give a mini dose tonight, as I don't really want to just cut him off, and continue to test after and then in the morning. I'll be phoning the vet tomorrow from work.
 
At 67 I would not give him any insulin. You have a risk of him becoming hypoglycemic. If his numbers keep in this range, he may have become diet controlled. Even though the True meter reads lower than most meters, that is still a very good number. If you can transition both cats off of dry food, you may have him completely diet controlled and no longer need insulin.
 
Agreed...that was 4 hours before scheduled shot would be administered. Just a half hour ago, at +30 (about two and a half hours after plain chicken), he is @93. Didn't want much chicken, or dry food after that. (He is normally a food junkie, a life-long trait.) I'll give him some Tiki Cat later, and periodically test.

Fingers crossed that this is a fabulous Christmas present, but with the GI issues I am not yet convinced.

They will never be fully off dry, but I buy great stuff. Puffy loves wet food, his sister is just a bit picky and only likes certain things.

As for the TRUE meters, are everyone's thoughts based on old meters? I only ask because it was rated pretty good with recent Consumer Reports. I couldn't remember what my vet recommended, besides the AlphaTrak. I don't mind switching as the meter has a full rebate, I'll just be out the current pack of strips. (If I wasnt a chicken, I would test myself for fun.)
 
The TRUE report is based on humans. On cats, we've had issues.

One Touch Ultra does OK.
Arkray Glucocard 01 or 01 Mini (unbranded version or WalMart ReliOn Confirm or Confirm Micro) from American Diabetes Wholesale (one of our shopping partners), work pretty well for us.
 
Don't give up on trying to remove the dry food from their diet. I have several cats that were addicted to dry food. It was an effort, but now all of them are happily eating canned food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top