New Here Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

blakismom

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone! Tonite is the very first time I gave my cat an insulin injection. My cat is newly diagnosed, and it is her first day back home after spending three days at the vets so he could do a glucose curve.
She is going to be taking 3 units, twice a day, 12 hours apart. I was told to give her her injection when she is eating. The vet also told me to feed her only twice a day. So my question is this...what if she doesn't eat the whole can of food that I give her? Should I pick up what is left over or leave it down for her to come back to. What if she only eats a small amount? I don't know what I am supposed to do! It is a huge change for her to only be fed twice daily because she has always had food down and ate all throughout the day and night. Anyways...should I pick up the food and not feed her again til the next scheduled injection and feeding? Or should I leave it there for her to come back to since she only ate a small amount of it? Any advice would be greatly appreciated! This is all so scary and seems so complicated.
 
hello and welcome !

first question do you home test ?
second question what are your kitties bg numbers ?

did the vet do a blood test or a fructosamine test ?

does your kitty have any other health issues ?
 
Hi and Welcome!

In general, diabetic kitties do better if you feed several small meals throughout the day, as well as a meal with each shot.
What was her blood glucose # (BG) at diagnosis?
What kind of insulin is your kitty getting?
If it is Lantus, it's best to not let kitty eat in the 2 hours preceding kittys shot.

Food can make a big difference in BGs. wet food, with a carb% of 10 or less is best.
You can find food charts with carb counts here.

What is your kiitys weight?
Anny other health issues?

In the interest of your cats safety, I encourage you to buy a human glucose meter and test strips and learn to hometest.
Plenty of folks around here to walk you through it - and videos on the internet as well.

Then you can do your own curves in the comfort of your own home :-D
 
Aww geez...I wrote a long detailed reply and thought I hit submit but I don't know what happened...I don't see it anywhere. I am frightened and exhausted, and need to get some much needed sleep. Thank you kind people for the replies. I pray that we make it through the night okay. I will post again tomorrow with all the details. God Bless You! Thank you!
 
Hi
If you are still online.....3u is a very high starting dose, but there may be a logical reason for it. Did the vet say why that dose?

Type of insulin is very important, and if you can tell us what sort of numbers the vet got on those tests, that might help us to understand the dose.

And most importantly, are you home testing?

Carl
 
My 15 year old cat was scheduled for surgery...she was in to have her tail amputated due to an injury that was not healing, and it (the tail) was beginning to cause her some problems. Routine blood work before surgery showed her bg at 355. Surgery was postponed, but she stayed at the vets so he could do a bg curve. So it started out at a bg of 355 in the a.m., the vet gave her 4 units of Novolin and tested her bg again around noon time, it was 65. The next test at around 5:00pm it was at 157. Day two, at 8:00am her bg was 298 so he gave her two units of insulin. At noon time her bg was 178. No more insulin was given to her that day because she was given anesthetic and had the tail amputation surgery done. At 5:00pm her bg was at 192. Day three (today) at 8:00am her bg was 308 at which time the vet gave her 3 units. At noontime her bg was at 97, and at 5:00pm it was at 155. At this time the vet sent her home and gave me the insulin Novolin and instructed me to give her 3 units at 8:00 pm at the same time she was having her last meal of the day, a can of Hill prescription food. So here I am with my senior kitty cat, freshly amputated tail, and we are sailing into uncharted territory here...
So I did give her the 3 units while she was eating her 8:00pm meal. She did not eat very much. The vet told me to only feed her twice a day, and give her the injection at each meal. So since she did not eat very much I am concerned that three units might have been too much. Should I leave the remainder of that can of food down, available for her to eat if she wants to later? Or should I pick it up and not feed her again til her next meal at 8:00 am...at which time I am supposed to give her another 3 units, and then repeat same again at 8:00pm. I have not gotten a bg tester yet, but plan to get one tomorrow so that I can attempt to do home testing. I am very concerned. I would never forgive myself if I did something wrong and it caused her harm. She is the light of my life, we have been through some pretty rough times together and have had to fight for her life more than a few times in 15 years. She has had feline asthma for about 11 of her 15 years, which has been managed by regular injections of steroid just to keep her breathing comfortably.
The many years of steroid use is now taking its toll on her health. I am not ready to let her go. I will do whatever it takes to manage this new crisis. I need help so that I may help her. Thank you people for taking time out of your busy and complicated lives to help me and my Blaki and many others. God Bless You!!! Thank You!!!
 
I would leave the food down so she can come back to it. But I'm no vet, and a newbie. But I think, if your cat's bg went low, it would probably get hungry (mine gets really hungry) and then the food being there is better than the food not being there. Also I have heard that food in small lots over the day is not a bad thing.
I am mainly just answering in case there is no one else around, so that you know you aren't out there alone.

I have scanned your answer to see if I can find the name of the insulin, but I can't see it. Did you know there are loads of different kinds (I didn't know that). If it is any consolation to you, my cat is on 3 units of insulin (I forget the name, but its in my signature), twice a day, and he has made it for a couple of months so far.

Is your cat on dry food or wet food, mine was on dry food and he was alright, but I just started wet food and I think its too much for him now, at 3 units.

Mainly, ((hug)) I think you should leave the food out and take a big deep breath. And maybe have some kind of beverage?
 
Hello! Just wanted to say welcome to you and Blaki and I'm in the same boat here - diagnosed Monday and a little bit panicking - and everyone's been really helpful.

I'm with akbahsMum, definitely have a refreshing beverage and leave the food down. I find that putting fresh food down at injection time encourages Scout to eat a meal then. I have been doing about a quarter can every 6 hours (roughly) and throwing away whatever's still there when I put fresh down. There is also low carb dry food but neither cat seem to like that so the bowl has been sitting there untouched :)

Definitely learn to home test as soon as you can. It took me a few days but now I have the hang of it and Scout doesn't complain a bit, she likes the fuss I make of her before and after. But it means I can dose her with piece of mind (somewhat!)

Anyway let us know how Blaki is doing. I've had 3 black cats in my life and find them to be the most intelligent and unintentionally hilarious cats. When I was 4 years old, I came into the kitchen to find my kitty Inky, standing in front of an open cabinet door, shoulder deep in a box of cat food, scooping the food out onto the floor, like "O hai, don't mind me, just fixin a snack." :-D One of my first memories and it still makes me giggle today.

Lori
 
Welcome to the FDMB family! cat_pet_icon

Since I wasn't familiar with Novilin, I did a search and found this:

As of January 1,2010, the company has discontinued the line of products. Interestingly, the company provided no reason for the decision and no other recommended replacements within its other insulin product offerings.

Prior to being discontinued, the Novolin product family came in primarily 4 different versions. Different versions offered different delivery methods.

Novolin R. This was a regular human insulin injection with rDNA origin. The onset was approximately 30 minutes. The peak was between 2.5-5 hours. The duration was approximately 8 hours.

Novolin N. This was a long lasting NHP human insulin isophane suspension with rDNA origin. The onset was approximately 90 minutes. The peak was between 4-12 hours. The duration was approximately 24 hours.

Novolin L. This was a long lasting Lente human insulin in a zinc suspension with rDNA origin. The onset was approximately 2.5 hours. The peak was between 7-15 hours. The duration was approximately 22 hours.

Novolin 70/30. This was a Long Lasting 70 percent NHP human insulin isophane suspension and 30 percent regular human insulin injection, with rDNA origin. The onset was approximately 30 minutes. The peak was between 2-12 hours. The duration was approximately 24 hours.

Like all insulin, individuals often needed several adjustments of the medication before they found the most effective dosing for their needs.


Keep in mind those times are for humans. Cats metabolize insulin quicker (about half the time of a human). If it were me, I'd be asking the vet for Lantus, Levimir, or PZI/ProZinc as these insulins have been shown to work better in our kitties (and haven't been discontinued).

Home testing is essential to knowing how the insulin you are giving is effecting your kitty. Especially with such large doses. I do urge you to get a meter at your pharmacy and start. Many of us here can help you through it. :smile: Many folks here use the Relion meter from Wal-Mart as it is reliable as well as inexpensive and the strips are the cheapest around.

Don't let all this overwhelm you. We have all been where you are, new to this and scared. The folks here are super friendly and very knowledgeable, as we live with this day in and day out. We are all here to help our kitties.

Since stress (including going to the vet's) and ailments can effect blood glucose levels in cats, it is possible your kitty's BGs have been higher due to everything going on. Again, another reason to be testing at home.

Let us know how we can help you help your kitty. :-D
 
Hi,
Wish I had seen this when you posted last night. Are you on the west coast?
I disagree with the advice about feeding only twice a day, but to answer your question, yes you should leave the food out after the shot. A cat needs to have food in its system to offset the effect of the insulin.
Until you can start home testing, I think I would go with no more than 2u as a dose. That is a quick acting insulin and 3u might be too much too soon.
You should always feed at shot time but you can feed at other times during the day or night as well.
Carl
 
When using N insulin you NEED to feed at least a 1/2 hr. before shooting so food is on board. N is fast acting and short duration and is not a good insulin for cats. Your vet is also winging that insulin dose around which is not done. Will be glad to know you are getting a meter today and the sooner you start testing the safer your kitty will be. I would not give another 3 units of N.....that is a high dose, even for starting, and I cannot believe your vet gave her 4 units of N for her first shot.

If she continues to need insulin, which home testing will tell you, I strongly suggest you ask the vet for Lantus, or Prozinc, of Levemir, and get her off that N insulin.

Stress plus a damaged tail could have contributed to her high blood glucose and now that she is home, tail is fixed, she may very well not need insulin at all. If she is on antibiotics, those also may increase bg's so once she is off of them, she also may not need insulin.

Start testing her, especially before eating, then feed her, wait a 1/2 hr. and shoot if insulin is needed. If in doubt, post here and ask.

No insulin should be increased/decreased the way that vet was doing it. You figure out a starting dose, hang with it for a few days and see what happens, then you decide whether to increase a 1/2 unit or not. Majority of times a starting dose is 1 unit only.
 
The feeding is very important and twice a day is not healthy.
If you ask any human diabetic, they will say that they test several times a day to know their blood sugar and they eat more times a day as food helps to level out the numbers.

Most people feed 4 or more times a day, or you can just leave the wet food available through the day because most cats are able to regulate themselves, eating when they feel they need to eat. Twice a day feedings is wrong, especially for a diabetic. About the only time you may want to pick up the food is around 2hrs before shot time so that the test number you get is true and not food influenced. Food will cause a small spike in numbers so you may think the number at shot time is high but after an hr or so, it will fall as the food wears off.... best to take away food 2hrs before shots and put down when you are giving the shots. As per above, your insulin is diff and needs food, like meds you may get that says to be taken with food, or not on an empty stomach.

Home testing is easy peasy, and way cheaper than taking your poor cat to the vet for days. The data gained from the curves or testing done at the vet office are pretty much useless because of stress, as well as your cat not feeling well from the tail issue. The availability of dry food will also cause higher numbers (I don't believe there is such a thing as low carb dry food). Before making changes to the food though, it would be best if you were testing to see what numbers you are getting when in the comforts of your own home. One of my cats tests much higher at the vet and another tests lower than normal when at the vet office. Once you have a relaxed cat, recovered from the surgery, and eating properly and no dry food, you may find that you need much less insulin.

As for the insulin, I don't know the one you are using, but would go with Levemir, or Lantus, or prozinc, as they are much better and longer lasting insulins with proven results. Who knows? Maybe you will find that you have yourself a Diet Controlled cat once health and diet are corrected! I like Levemir the best, but have never used prozinc, but it would be best to get on a decent insulin and hope once the dust settles, you won't need the insulin for long.
 
You also mentioned that she has gotten regular shots of steroids for asthma?
In that case her diabetes may be "steroid induced" to some extent. Can you ask the vet about that?

Carl
 
Hello again :-D

I too agree that there is a possibility the 355 was "vet stress".

Try not to worry - get yourself a glucometer, test strips and lancets as soon as possible. I use the Bayer Contour and like it.
Once you get a few test under you belt the picture will be much clearer. In the mean time leave food out.

And, as the others have said, your vet needs to prescribe an appropriate insulin.
I used Lantus and the experience was good. Black Kitty has been in remission for a little over 2 years now.

You've come to the right place here - most vets don't see very many diabetic cats and their knowledge is limited.
The folks around here live and breathe FD and although we aren't vets we do have experience in the trenches and are intimately familiar with many of the nuances.

Regarding the surgery, how's the recovery going? How does Blaki appear overall? Is she behaving normally? Any lethargy, appetite OK?


Hang in there !
 
Hi everyone! So kind of all of you to respond to my plea for help. I am really worried about Blaki. She has been sleeping all day, and eating very little. I now have bg meter and supplies in hand and I will attempt to test her bg here in a few minutes. You are all so knowledgeable and helpful. Thank you all so very much! Blaki has been through a lot this week. I also forgot to mention that she had bloody urine 6 days ago and the vet put her on baytril antibiotic for 10 days for infection. Her urine is no longer bloody but she is still missing the litter box when she gets in it to go pee. I don't know if it is because her backend is sore from the tail amputation or if it is something to do with her bg. I will post back here a bit later to let you all know whether or not I had success at testing her bg. From the bottom of my heart...thank you all so much for your kindness and guidance.
Nora-Blakis Mom
 
I was unsucessful at my attempt to test Blaki's bg. Very discouraging. I am so worried about her. She is going in the bedroom to sleep in the corner, something that she never does.
 
Have you seen the 'where to poke the ear' diagram?

images


Also there are a lot of videos available that show step by step how to do a test. Here are some on Youtube.

It also helps to rub the ear a bit before poking, and warm it up too. A rice sock is really easy to use for that - just take a thin sock, partially fill with rice and tie off, then warm in the microwave for a few seconds, long enough to get the rice real warm but not hot. That is the magic trick that worked for me and Beauregard.
 
Hi Blakismom, My Racci also has asthma. I would strongly suggest you change from steroids to Flovent inhalation spray. It's a lot more expensive but I agree with the other poster that Blaki's diabetes could very well have been induced by steroids and they are very bad for her/him. I buy it online from Canada where it's much cheaper (1/4). There is a website devoted to feline asthma that I suggst you join & check out. Feline Asthma Inhaled Meds [url=htt.../feli]http://pets.groups.yahoo.com/group/feli ... haledmeds/[/url]

Also, I know you probably already bought syringes but the next time if you didn't this time, buy 31gauge short needles with half marks. They will be most comfortable for Kitty and easiest for you. I would also recommend Lantus. PZI did not work for Racci though it does for lots of cats. Lantus is what she is on now & it really seems to be better. A lot of frequent meals also and lots of water.

You can usually get your testing kit for free when you buy either the syringes by the box (usually have coupons) but you will have to wait for them to send it to you. Just a note. :) Always good to have an extra kit. I'll look to see if I have one if you want.

Hope that helps.

Melanie & Racci
 
blakismom said:
I was unsucessful at my attempt to test Blaki's bg. Very discouraging. I am so worried about her. She is going in the bedroom to sleep in the corner, something that she never does.

When people say its easy, well, it is! But I found it really really hard at first. Really hard, and I cried, and I didn't know what on earth I was going to do. BUT, it got easier. I got determined, and I gave it a rest, and came back and tried again.
- try to be calm, your calmness will calm your cat. Soothe and praise your cat before, during and after each test. Reward with something (e.g. I reward with the brush, or lately, with a v small snack.
- For a while I skipped the ear warming part, I thought, "Sydney is warm enough". But actually, warming the ear helps, even here. And Akbah seems to like the part where I warm his ear and stroke his back. He settles in.
- I couldn't get any blood out until I took the top off the lancet and just used the needle. Others don't have that problem.
- they say that it gets easier and it does.

((hug)) You did good to try. If you stick with it, you'll work it out. There is nothing so rewarding as the first successful test, especially if it started out hard.
 
Thank you all so much for your support. Me and Blaki both are frustrated after many failed attempts at testing her bg. Her next scheduled injection is in a half an hour. I have no idea what is going on since I have been unsucessful at testing. I don't know what to do! I have warmed her ear, and pricked it many times with a pen type lancing device but I just have not been able to draw blood. Is there any other alternative site for lancing? I know it is just me being inept at it, but I am desperate to test her before 8:00pm.

Thanks,
Nora and Blaki
 
Nora,
Are you using the whole device or have you tried just using the lancet part? I found that to be much easier. If you can hand sew, you can do this!

Carl
 
I am on the verge of tears, and I just don't know what to do. Blaki has only eaten a bite or two of food at three different times today, she doesn't have much of an appetite at all, she's hardly drinking any water, she's been sleeping all day. It has been a rough week for her and with so many different things going on such as the urinary tract infection, the tail amputation, and the insulin stuff...I don't have the slightest idea what is going on with her. Maybe she is just exhausted from the stress and trauma of being away from home (three days at the vets) and certainly the tail amputation. It is almost time for her scheduled insulin injection, but I am thinking that I am not going to give it to her since she has ate so little today and does not seem interested in eating any time soon. I just don't know what the right thing to do is.
 
Nora,

Did the vet give her anything for pain? Can you gently pick her up and get her to sit next to you on a chair and just be calm with you and eat from your hand and bring a littl bowl of water with you and slowly and gently once she's calm with you feed her and give her water? If so, that is what i would do and not worry if the shot is late or if you get a bg tonight since you're so tense and she is sensing it. Worry about calming and soothing and feeding her first. comfort her if you can and both of you calm down, then give the shot and tomorrow get the bg.

Melanie
 
Nora,
Given that the insulin you are using is fast acting and hits pretty quick and hard, I would agree with your feeling on not giving her a shot tonight.
Tomorrow, call the vet. She needs to eat, and even though no insulin might make her numbers go up some, it's safer to skip a shot than to shoot without knowing the BG when she won't eat.

Have you ever checked her for ketones?
Where do you live (city/state). I know it's California, but where abouts? I am hoping that maybe another member lives close by and can give you some hands on training with the testing and poking routine....

Carl
 
Nora,
I just posted a "home testing help needed" message on this forum. I know we have lots of folks in CA, but it's a big state! Hopefully someone will know of someone that can help you out.

Carl
 
I actually test the opposite side of the ear a little further down.

and often cats do not eat well when first diagnosed as they feel like crap...I had to syringe feed Squeak in order to give him insulin and I'd suggest it for you too. It really does help!
 
Mystery said:
Have you seen the 'where to poke the ear' diagram?
images
I went away and tried in the area marked "sweet spot" today. No dice.
For me, (for Akbah), its the area below that area, down to the notch. I can see the vein, and I aim for it. Higher up, if I get blood, its just a tiny amount too small to use.
And for Ak, its his right ear more than his left that works. Today, I tried his left ear again because he's had a LOT of testing in the past few days.
Husband just came home from the shops, he bought me a torch. Should help me see what I'm doing.

blakismom, I'm so sorry you and puss have to be in this situation. ~O)
When I started testing, I did sit down and cry. I wish I could come over and help you out. Probably I would have trouble too, I only just worked out what to do with Akbah.
I had many such sessions before I ever got a successful test.

Most importantly, a rest will help everyone involved.
 
To all of you very kind people...I am so grateful for the support and advice that you have taken the time to give to Blaki and I. Unfortunately, despite repeated attempts at getting a drop of blood to test Blaki's bg, I am so far unsuccesful. I am feeling more than a bit defeated. Both Blaki and myself are exhausted. As I look over at her sleeping I cant help but feel like I have let her down. I did not give her an insulin injection at her scheduled 8:00 pm...she has eaten very little and I just felt like its not a good idea. Now if I am not succesful at testing her bg before her next scheduled injection at 8:00 am, I don't know if its a good idea to give her that one either. I have no idea what to do next, besides stress her out by loading her in the car and taking her back to the vet when he opens in the morning so he can test for me. Boy, I am supposed to be taking care of her...and I can't even get this right? Pretty sad :(. I know how serious this is... it could cost her her life...and I still can't manage to figure this out! Pretty lame.
 
Well folks, I am batting a thousand here...I noticed that Blaki was starting to pee a whole lot again, so I thought uh oh, maybe I BETTER give her some insulin. So I tried one more time to test bg by pricking her ear using just the lancet without the pen. She let out an OUCH! but still no blood...no test. So I opened a new can of food and offered it to her in the kitchen. While she was eating, I was preparing her injection and the vial of insulin slipped out of my hands and broke on the kitchen counter. I did manage to get some insulin into the syringe before dropping the vial so I gave her about 1 1/2 units. Keep in mind that the vet has instructed me to give her 3 units twice daily, 12 hours apart. I dont have the slightest idea whats going on with her. I am driving blind. Which I know is very dangerous. Now what? I am a total wreck and she is too. I feel like I am going to end up killing her!

Nora and Blaki :( :(
 
Might not be so bad really... think about it this way. If you gave her too much insulin, especially if she hadn't eaten much, that's supposed to be when things could get suddenly dangerous. While if you gave her not enough, she could get hyper, which means she *could* make ketones, but I think, I believe, its possible that this is more of a long term problem. So I am led to believe that in the short term, not enough insulin is better than too much. There is probably some complication that blows this theory, but bear with me.

3units is a fair whack of insulin, but 1.5, well that's half what you'd planned. Not enough is better than too much, so in a state of uncertainly, 1.5 is better!
Secondly, this means you have to go back to the vet (for more insulin), so you'll have a measurement tomorrow, done by the vet. While you you're there, when (s)he's taken the blood sample, get vet to put a drop onto your primed tester, and compare what it says with the vet's reading.

Meanwhile, go to bed and relax. Your cat knows you love her, they can tell when we are trying to help, and she will forgive you anything so long as you are trying your best. Get some sleep. I think it will be better tomorrow.
 
Thanks for your kindness. Just curious...can I buy insulin over the counter in California like at Walmart or Walgreens or similiar stores?
 
Not sure of the rules in California so don't know if you need a prescription or not for insulin, but the type you are using I believe has to come from the vet. This may be the perfect time to change to one of the better insulins: Levimir, Lantus, or ProZinc. :smile: My momma always says, "There are no accidents."

As for the pokey pokes. I feel your pain, Nora. My poor Poopy was feeling like a pin cushion...and I a failure.....and not enough blood to test. I was so frustrated and angry with myself. The folks here were so patient and kind, giving me suggestions and words of encouragement. One of the best suggestions? Breathe.

Kitties don't always bleed freely for pokey pokes, especially in the beginning. Just know, each and every attempt you make is helping create more capillaries (which means easier blood for the future).

Here are some of the other suggestions that helped me:

Warm ear (great time to be exchanging some lovings too) - use a warmed rice sock or pill bottle filled with warm water
Hold something firm under ear (I use a folded paper towel. Some use the pill bottle as backing. I tried a folded tissue and it just wasn't firm enough.)
Place lance pen against ear firmly
Once you have lanced, check for blood. If a small drop is present, massage ear toward drop to see if can make a bit bigger. If no blood or not enough, repeat in the same spot...or a different spot. :smile: Each poke does count!
I scoop the blood up on my nail so I can test from there (no ear flicks, head jerks, or whatever to smear the blood across Poopy's ear)

Last, but not least, another great suggestion was 3 pokes and take a rest...for both! Also, don't' forget the treats for pokes, successful or not! :-D

You'll make it. It just takes time and pokes. :-D
 
Nora,
please read this out loud to Blaki?

Blaki,
this isn't hard, but you have to help. It is just one drop of blood, and you have millions of them. I just saw at the bottom of the main page that this is a very special day for mom.
How about giving Mom a Happy Birthday?
What do you say?

Carl and Bob
 
Not on the west coat so all I can offer is words of encouragement. Don't feel bad about not being able to get blood because you are doing right by Blaki by being so aware of her condition and trying to get her better. I am still new at this, and I had (still having) a really tough time testing Charlie. I followed all the tricks and tips, and got very frustrated that it didn't work for me. The "sweet spot" was not so sweet to us. The only way for me to get blood from his ears is to poke the inner edge. I aim as close to the vein as possible, and use the lancet free-hand (I put it in the lancing device to make it a little easier to hold). This way I can see exactly where I'm putting the needle. It doesn't help that Charlie has thick black fur on his ears! I also try to poke and hold the needle in for a second, if Charlie will stay still for that long. And if the blood is a large amount I scoop it up on my fingernail or even fingertip to test, because, somehow, beautiful round drops of blood have disappeared in the time it takes me to put down the lancet and pick up the meter!

I'm not sure if anyone suggested this, but you might want to check her urine for ketones. You can get ketone testing strips anyplace that has a pharmacy (including wal mart or target). http://www.felinediabetes.com/ketones.htm
 
Nora,
You do need a prescription in CA. I used to live there but unfortunately can't come help as now I am living in VA. I don't know if your type of insulin would be there anyway tho.

I've found one of the causes for not getting blood to be not holding the paper towel behind the ear firmly enough where I am poking (actually in front) since I find it easiest to poke from the back even with all the fur) when I poke. Be sure that your fingers on the other side with the paper towel are firmly pressing forward on the same spot that the lancet is poking from the other side. I also have found only one ear works well.

A trick I use to keep the blood from disappearing is putting a tiny bit of vaseline on the ear. It keeps the blood from going into the fur but don't do until you are a good poker because it can also make the ear slippery.

I feel for you. I had a terrible time with it in the beginning also & no one nearby to show me. study the diagram of the sweet spot, give treats and take your time. I also think after 3 pokes you should take a rest and get unfrustrated before trying again. Your baby knows your trying to help. I remember poor Racci with 2 black and blue ears and me crying over it. It gets easier. Once you get the hang of it, it's like a lightbulb going off and then it gets easier and easier.. Hang in there.

When you go to the vet, maybe he can show you? It doesn't hurt to ask. When Racci was first diagnosed, unfortunately my vet couldn't show me. He had never done it. He had only done needle tests. Now I'm lucky enough to have a cat specialist for a vet who knows a lot about feline diabetes. Maybe your vet has used a testing kit before? I also would ask to switch to Lantus or PZI. Just pretend you didn't find out yet and make sure you feed him properly for a diabetic until you get there. Relax & periodically try to test. If you are tense, your kitty will be also.

Melanie & Racci
 
Hi again Blakismom,

I know how stressed you are right now, I have been there. I don't want to frighten you however I think it would be a good idea if you pick up some ketostix at your local Walgreens/CVS/Riteaid today, so that you can test her urine for the presence of ketones.

I'm concerned about her being lethargic, not eating, not drinking and having an active infection. All those, along with her FD, could lead to the development of ketones, which can lead to DKA which would require require hospitalization. Testing her urine with ketostix is quick and inexpensive and the results will clarify how best to proceed.
 
I want to second Sandy's concern. If the UTI isn't under control, Blaki isn't eating well, and you don't have insulin, this could be a recipe for ketones developing. Testing for ketones using Ketostix is the cheapest form of prevention you can buy. It can also save your cat's life. Any pharmacy should have Ketostix. The testing is easy. You stalk your cat to the litterbox and put the strip in the cat's urine stream. If Blaki is missing the box, it's even easier! You wiat 15 seconds and then compare the litmus paper end of the strip (that's been soaked with urine) with the guide on the container. If you have more than a trace level of ketones, you need to get your cat to a vet or ER.
 
((((nora))))

you've gotten great advice. the only thing i can add is that it's critical to get food into her. we have members who have had to assist feed their kitties using a syringe. you mix the food with water and inject it (no needle, just the syringe) into the side of her mouth. without a syringe, if i were you, i'd mix it with a little water and use my finger to work it inside her lip. we have an expert on doing this - i'll send her a message to come and see you. i just don't want to overwhelm you because i know it's all, well, overwhelming.

for the home-testing - try shining a flashlight against the inside of her ear so you can see the vein. poke straight on it. we don't do that on an ongoing basis, but in your case you need to know what her BG is. it will be too much blood but you can get a bit on your fingernail or a credit card or something non-absorbent and then you won't be in such a frazzled spot trying to get it tested. one really important part is to have the ear against something hard so that the ear doesn't move when you're poking. otherwise it kinda gives way.

i'm so sorry you're having a terrible time. the vet's might be a good solution - she needs food and monitoring. if you can't get her to eat, or get a BG test (and believe me, we all know it's very hard in the beginning), and she continues to appear sick, i'd take her in. you're not failing her - it's obvious that you adore your kitter and are doing everything you can. testing at home at first is really a challenge. you can do everything right and still not get blood. so don't beat yourself up - we've all been in your shoes. it gets much easier but the beginning is rough.

hugs, hugs and more hugs!

edited to add - you could also test your own BG first so you understand how the test strip works. just use a finger.
 
Hi Nora:

Just sending you support and encouragement. I agree with Sandy, Sienne, and Julie that it is best to check her urine for ketones....that will tell us ALOT. And it's also best to be sure she gets ample food and water. You've
gotten other good advice about feeding schedules.

I also hope you can discuss with your vet....or perhaps a new one... about putting her on one of the gentler, long duration insulins like lantus or levemir or on PZI. We can answer questions about the different insulins for you. Many lantus/levemir users have responded to your condo and I know Carl is familiar with PZI.

We're keeping your little girl in our prayers.
 
You are in good hands. The people giving advice know their stuff. They were amazing with Maverick and I when we joined also.

I had to really warm Maverick's ear with a sock and I used the lancet free hand not in the device. I also used a light so I could hit one of the capilliaries and had to milk the blood drop to form. Here is a picture of the light - it acts as a backing making lancing easier. Its just one of the cheap DIY lights I got from the walmart hardware section.

DSCN0319.jpg


DSCN0315.jpg
 
Please don't be hard on yourself over mistakes, you're brand spanking new at this and doing the best you can. It will get less frightening and easier with time.

If you are able to collect some urine, I'd suggest you get the pee sticks that test for both ketones (very important as already mentioned) and glucose. While the glucose pee test is no substitute for the blood glucose test, it does give you some information so you'll be a little less in the dark until your blood testing skills are up to speed.

As for the blood testing, again go easy on yourself! I'm not sure if you mentioned it, but do you have another cat (or even a friends cat) you can practice on? My innocent healthy cats all got stabbed a few times when I was first learning. It's much more relaxing stabbing a cat when you don't feel you need to do it.
 
Hi Nora,

I hope you're doing OK. I just wanted to offer my support. I have spent a good chunk of the day crying because I don't know what to do for my kitty and I'd hoped, naively perhaps, that once she was on insulin she'd be all better. We are doing the best we can and those blood tests are not easy to get the hang of. Poor Scout has bruises on both her ears and it took me 5 pokes and 3 strips to get a successful test earlier. Keep at it and it will get easier over time.

Take care,
Lori and Scout
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top