New Here-Need Advice on Prozinc Dose for PM dose on 9/1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lyndsey & Mittens

Member Since 2013
I have an overweight (16.5 pound) 12 year old cat (Mittens) who was diagnosed today with diabetes. I have so many questions regarding blood glucose levels & really don't know where I should start. BG level at the vet this morning was 575 w/glucose in his urine. The vet advised me to immediately take him off of the w/d (dry) that I was previously giving him & put him on the fancy feast classics canned food. She also put him on 3u of prozinc twice a day. So, this evening I fed him the new canned fancy feast classic diet and gave him his prescribed insulin dose afterward. 5.5 hours later I checked his blood glucose level (i'm using the ReliOn Micro based off of suggestions on this site-THANK YOU!!) and his glucose is 95.
My question is-is it normal for his BG to drop this much after his first dose of insulin? Does it sound like his dosage might be too high? His next dose is due at 8AM-perhaps I should back off on the number of units that i'm giving him? Or should I skip it all together? I read on this site that I should not treat until it reaches 200-did I read that right? If so, if his morning glucose reading is under 200-should I skip his morning dose all together? Is it typical to see a drastic spike in BG levels after the insulin has worn off? I definitely don't want to harm him by causing him to go hypo and all of this new information is so overwhelming!

Thanks in advance for any info you can give me
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

I'm not experienced with Pro Zinc, but there are a few things I can tell you.

Most vets start too high on dosage. If I were you, since you're changing over to the low carb foods, I'd drop back to 1 unit and start home testing as soon as possible so you can see how your kitty reacts to insulin and food changes. You probably shouldn't switch over from the high carb food quickly...gradually over a few days time would be better and safer. With the diet change, numbers can drastically change quickly

Yes...dropping that much in 5.5 hours is a significant drop! You might want to continue to test for a little while and make sure Mittens doesn't go any lower than 50.

You'd want to make sure to NOT feed within 2 hours of doing your pre-shot tests, and if Mittens is below 200, don't feed and post and ask for dose advice in the morning
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

I read on this site that I should not treat until it reaches 200-did I read that right?

Not exactly. Until you have more data on how Mittens responds to both insulin and food, you just don't want to shoot under 200 without help. This is just to keep Mittens safe. Stall and don't feed for 30 minutes and post and ask for dose advice. The members here are great about trying to help!

Is it typical to see a drastic spike in BG levels after the insulin has worn off?

There is a natural "curve" to blood glucose readings. At pre-shot they'll be high(er), then go down until you reach the nadir (the lowest point..where the insulin is working it's best...Usually between 5-8 hours after shots) and then they'll come back up again.
The nadir can be at +6 on one day, and +9 another...and +5 the next. That's where "know thy cat" comes in really handy. You'll need more tests before you'll have that data though

The other thing that's natural is called a "bounce". Since Mittens body is "used to" high glucose numbers, when they drop down, the liver reacts and releases counter regulatory hormones and glucogen to bring them back to where it's "used to". Bouncing is normal, and will gradually reduce as his liver gets used to more normal numbers, but can take up to 72 hours to clear completely.
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

Thank you so much for your reply! All of your information was extremely helpful, and there is so many variables to contend with as a newbie! I was concerned that it had dropped that much in such a short amount of time-looks like it will be a long night for me (i'm too nervous to sleep for fear that his BG will drop drastically low while i'm asleep anyways), so i'll continue to test a couple of more times tonight. I'll definitely start more gradual as far as switching his food over to the low carb stuff.
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

Here's a link to How to handle low test numbers

You'll want to bookmark it and/or print it out in case the message board goes down, or you have a computer problem. It will help guide you

The other thing that will be very helpful is to start a spreadsheet. It will help both you and us see how Mittens responds to insulin and help to let you know when you might need to decrease the dose...or increase it. Getting a spreadsheet started

If you have problems, we have members who can help you get it set up.

We all understand this is a LOT of information to absorb quickly, so don't let it overwhelm you!

Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using glucometers. Human glucometer numbers are given first. Numbers in parentheses are for non-US meters. Numbers in curly braces are estimates for an AlphaTrak.

< 40 mg/dL (2.2 mmol/L) {< 70 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) {< 80 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50 (2.8).
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL (2.8 - 7.2 mmol/L) {80 - 160 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers. (May even go as low as the upper 30s (1.7 mmol/L){60s for an AlphaTrak}; if not on insulin, this can be safe.


> 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L) {230 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {180 mg/dL} for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as data collection shows it is safe

180 - 280 mg/dL (10 - 15.6 mmol/L) {may be 210 - 310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL (15.6 mmol/L) {may be >=310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

Oh goodness. Just took Mittens BG again, this time it was 55. Gave him some w/d canned food (not ideal but its all I had on hand other than the low carb Fancy Feast) and drizzled a few teaspoons of honey over it. Will recheck BG in 20 minutes. Did I do OK?
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

Well since w/d isn't a low carb food, you could have probably just given a couple teaspoons of that. We don't suggest the honey or gravy until they drop below 50...and then, if you're adding honey, syrup or Karo, just a couple drops. We want to gently bring them back up into the 70's and then continue testing (without any more food/sugar) another couple of hours to make sure they don't drop back too low again.

If you get a number under 50, then you'd want to give the HC gravy, or LC food with a drop or 2 of honey, syrup or Karo. Then test every 30 minutes until he's climbing into the 70's without having to give more HC or sugars....Once into the 70s you don't want to give any more HC food and then continue testing for about 2 hours to make sure the numbers don't come back down. Sugar acts quickly, but wears off just as fast.

If you gave W/D along with 2 teaspoons of honey, he's probably going to shoot up pretty quickly...but again, you'll want to retest for at least 2 more hours to make sure those numbers stay up

But yes..for your first scare, you did good!!...next time you'll have some of the HC Gravy Lovers around, and if Mittens drops below 50, you'll know to just give a couple teaspoons of the gravy part and restest in 30 minutes and go from there!
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

Thanks again. Feeling so bad for the poor kitty right now-he probably feels like i'm conducting some sort of science experiment on him right now, as this is all very new to us both! Hoping that I can get a handle on all of this soon...already printed out the info that was sent to me earlier to put on the fridge.
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

You are doing great with testing! This is just my opinion... but since you dont know how mittens is going to react with these lower numbers... I would just focus on getting his numbers up. He went from 575 today and is now in the 50's? Did the vet give Mittens a dose of insulin while you were there?

I am going to try to get some more members to come take a look at your condo to get their opinions as well... i dont know how prozinc works so hopefully someone with some experience with prozinc can give their opinion

Can you please post mittens BG as soon as you do the next test?
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

Nope-no dose of insulin given to him at the vets. The first dose was given to him tonight at 730. I'm hoping that his numbers will start to come back up, this is so scary since all of this is so new and I don't really know what to expect as far as predicting how his body will react to the new diet & insulin yet.
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

I feel like thats a huge drop considering it was his first dose but I dont know much about Prozinc. to be on the safe side until some prozinc experienced members can help you, i would try getting mittens numbers up more


Did you happen to test before you gave the insulin?


Bg 5.5 hours after shot was 95

how many hours after the shot was the 55?
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

I did not test prior to giving the insulin since I was at the vets office earlier and it was 575 w/glucose in his urine...in retrospect, I wish I had...

The 55 reading came almost 8 hours after the insulin shot.
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

Just retested, BG is going up-now it's at 78. How often should I continue to retest?

Just wanted to say, thank you all for your help-you guys are awesome & i'd be lost without your advice.
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

im worried that number is only due to the honey you gave. Can you please retest in 30 minutes to make sure Mittens is not coming back down?
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

We like to see a few tests with rising numbers that are not influenced by the syrup/honey/high carb food
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

Yes-i'll retest in 30 minutes & post the number. Now i'm beginning to wonder if I should try to regulate his BG by using just the fancy feast selects first and see how that works out for him...but considering he was 575 this morning, the vet was hesitant on trying to regulate his glucose on food only....
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

OK...now you're in the 70's and that's good! When was the last time you gave him any food/syrup/honey? You'll want to maybe set your alarm and get at least one test per hour until it's been 2 hours since any food and he's still climbing or at least holding in those 70's without any more Honey/syrup or HC food.

Once you're there, you can leave out a little low carb food to munch on overnight
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

Last high carb/honey feeding was given about 40 minutes ago. Feeling so bad for Mittens right now...since i'm new to the BG testing-it takes me a couple of sticks each time before I can actually get some blood. Hopefully after all of this he wont be afraid to come near me!
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

We have all been through poking our kitties a bunch in a night when numbers were low. Just give him lots of pets and love - he might seem a little agitated when you poke him because hes not used to it - but he will forgive you :-D and remember, you are doing this for him, to make sure he is safe!

You are doing a great job tonight - it will get easier
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

If you go to your first post and click edit you can change the subject line. Can you please add in there "low bg need advice" I am hoping some more members will be able to take a look and give their advice and opinions

you can make it say something like " New Here - Low BG - need advice"



Perfect! Thank you
 
Re: New Here-BG Question

Now i'm beginning to wonder if I should try to regulate his BG by using just the fancy feast selects first and see how that works out for him.

I think you should just gradually switch over to the low carb wet foods only, but don't do it too fast. I might give 1/3 of the higher carb and 2/3 the low carb and reduce the shot to 1 unit. Hold it there for awhile and see how he does and continue to move him off the higher carb food and more toward the lower carb foods

Of course you CAN stop the insulin and just do the diet changes, but with a number as high as his is, I think I'd just reduce back to 1 unit IF the preshot is above 200
 
Re: New Here-Low BG...Need Advice

OK-thanks for that advice...that sounds like a good plan to me-and much less scary than going through this all night!

Just finished with the test...had an extremely hard time getting blood this time & Mittens was losing his patience with me..poor guy.

Anyway-his reading this time was 84-1.5 hours after I gave him the high carb food/honey.

Are we in the clear (for now at least)??
 
Re: New Here-Low BG...Need Advice

make sure you leave plenty of food out for him overnight tonight and I would get another test in a little while and another test a few hours after that. Try to get some sleep and set an alarm to wake up to test.

I think you should post in the morning with the BG before you shoot just to make sure its a safe numbers. Please always test before you give insulin.


You did a great job tonight. :-D
 
Re: New Here-Low BG...Need Advice

We're now at +10 hour after the shot with the 84 reading taken at +9.5 hour and after HC given at around +8 where his reading was 55, correct?
 
Re: New Here-Low BG...Need Advice

Thanks-I will do...question-should I leave out the low carb or high carb food overnight? Any specific amount? I'm afraid if I leave out too much he will gorge on it (he loves his food ;-) ) but also hesitant about leaving out too little...how much is enough?

I want to thank you all SO much for your help-whew...its been a long night!

And yes, KPASSA-that is correct, now almost at 10 hours past the shot.
 
Re: New Here-Low BG...Need Advice

At this point in the cycle, in addition to propping up the numbers with food already, I'd leave some low carb food to graze on just in case. Get some sleep if you can before the next pre-shot and post for dosing advice if below 200. I'm not familiar enough with ProZinc to confidently give advice as to what dosage you should go with, but hopefully someone more familiar with it should be up by then to help you out. ;-)
 
Re: New Here-Low BG...Need Advice

Thank you! One last question, when I take his BG again in the morning (8 AM) which is his next scheduled dose, should I take the BG reading before he gets his morning meal, or after? I would think before-but just want to make sure i'm thinking correctly. And hold the AM shot if the BG before he eats is below 200? Is that right?
 
Re: New Here-Low BG...Need Advice

Yep, definitely test before you feed because you don't want it to be food-influenced. If lower than 200, hold off on feeding him before you get a response back as to whether to give a shot or not and what dose to give.
 
Re: New Here-Low BG...Need Advice

The board has calmed down a bit, so I'm off to bed myself. ;-) I hope your dreams are as sweet as your kitty tonight! :lol:
 
Re: New Here-Low BG...Need Advice

Took kitty's bg this AM...it was 75 so of course I didn't give him an insulin shot. When should I do his next bg? Also, I'm starting to question how he could've been a 575 at the vets yesterday and now running "normal/low"...I did change his diet to a low carb food, is it possible to make that much of a difference in BG numbers over 1 day w/1 shot & a diet change? Guess I'm getting the feeling that something isn't quite adding up, but since this is so new to me-I'm not sure what to think... :?:
 
New Here - AMBG 75...Need Advice

I'm glad you learned to home test, and found this site.

I read your posts about 4 hours ago. I would try to test today at 4 hours after his scheduled shot time and then again at about 11 hours after his scheduled shot time. I think you said you shot at 8:00. So, I would test around noon, and then again around 7:00. Please post the numbers. Depending upon the 7:00 test you and we and hopefully someone here who knows more about Prozinc can start to think about what dose if any you should shoot tonight.

Best of luck to you and kitty.

It would probably be best now if you could go to your first post and Edit the Subject Line and change it to say something like New Here - AMBG 75...Need Advice
 
Re: New Here-Low BG...Need Advice

Oh just LOOK at what I found here in this condo! First, WELCOME xtra sweet Mittens and MamaBean! You're getting the hang of all this VERY quickly! WONDERFUL JOB!!!! I have a feeling you and sweet Mittens are about to do the 'OTJ' dance soon....WOOT WOOT! Looks like she just needs a bit of extra support for a bit. EXCITING!!!

BIG HUGS!!!
 
Re: New Here-Low BG...Need Advice

My Hairy's BG prior to starting insulin was over 400. 7 hours after his first shot, his BG was 89. Just before is shot the next morning his BG was 456. And that is on a 1 unit dose BID.
 
Re: New Here-Low BG...Need Advice

lilly001 said:
Took kitty's bg this AM...it was 75 so of course I didn't give him an insulin shot. When should I do his next bg? Also, I'm starting to question how he could've been a 575 at the vets yesterday and now running "normal/low"...I did change his diet to a low carb food, is it possible to make that much of a difference in BG numbers over 1 day w/1 shot & a diet change? Guess I'm getting the feeling that something isn't quite adding up, but since this is so new to me-I'm not sure what to think... :?:
Stress from being at the vet may raise the glucose nearly 200 mg/dL.
A food change from high carb to low carb may drop the glucose as much as 100 mg/dL.
This means as much as 300 mg/dL of that 575 may have been due to stress and high carb food.

Keep monitoring him and see where he goes. If he is over 200 mg/dl at what would be your shot time, you may be okay to give a small dose of insulin, but certainly not 3 units. Maybe consider 0.5 - 1.0 units as a dose. And please read/print the protocol for Hypos and get the supplies for managing it.

Also, he could be a touch more sensitive after going so low so fast.
 
Re: New Here-Low BG...Need Advice

Hi Mittens and your caregiver. Would you give us your first name please?

How is Mittens doing this evening? You certainly had some excitement and excellent helpers to get you through those low numbers last night.
 
Re: New Here-Low BG...Need Advice

My name is Lyndsey-I'll update my signature to reflect that when I get a moment to take some time to figure it out. :smile:
Yes, i am so grateful for all the help ive received here, id truly be lost w/o it!

Mittens' blood sugar is 240 this evening-not sure if I should give him insulin or not. Thoughts? Maybe .5u? His prescribed dose is 3u of prozinc-but that seems a bit much taking into account his current BG reading & after what happened last night.

Also, any suggestions for making the blood sugar sticks less traumatic for him? Right now it's taking 2 people to do this-one to hold him & another to stick, as he tries to run away b/c he's figured out what's coming. I have treats, but they aren't the low carb variety...any suggestions on where I can purchase the low carb ones?
 
Re: New Here-Low BG...Need Advice

I would think you could give a little insulin, but I don't know Prozinc. Maybe you can try posting in the PZI forum for advice.

You can get Freeze Dried Chicken Liver Treats from PetsMart. Or you could just boil a chicken breast with no seasonings and cut it up into little pieces to give him. There are lots of other 100% meat treats that you can give. J.D. like the frozen cooked shrimp and pieces of (unseasoned) steak. You could even give this kind of tuna http://www.bumblebee.com/products/1...olid-white-albacore-very-low-sodium-in-water/ (you don't want to give tuna that has vegatable oil or soy in it.

Try Editing the Subject Line in your first post to say something like New Here - Need Advice on Prozinc dose or something like that.
 
Re: New Here-Low BG...Need Advice

Hi again Lyndsey!

I think considering you're switching to low carb food, and that after last night, Mittens may be more sensitive to insulin, you might want to stick with the .5 and hold that same dose for several days unless he dips below 50 during a cycle.

You can always increase the dose after he's been on it for several days and you've completed the switch to low carb only food IF his numbers say he needs it. Right now, Mittens is bouncing, and it can take up to 72 hours to "clear the bounce"

I'm sure you need a good night's sleep after last night!!

A lot of us use boiled chicken for treats. I bought an 8 pack of thighs at WalMart, boiled two and portioned out the rest and froze them. After boiling/cooling off, just chop into bite sized treats and refrigerate.

Lots of cats also like Freeze Dried chicken for treats. I found some in the dog treat aisle but China turned her nose up at them (luckily, my dog loved them)
 
Re: New Here-Need Advice on Prozinc Dose

Hello and welcome to the board Lyndsey!

Cant wait to see a picture of Mittens.. does he have white paws?

Did you shoot this evening? I am going to ask an experienced PZI member to take a look but I believe we dont have newbies shoot under 200 even with PZI so I think 240 is ok. Definately a reduced dose though.

Testing tips: https://docs.google.com/document/d/13c_CPZVKz27fD_6aVbsguadJKvjSrSAkD7flgPPhEag/pub
Do you need to hold him? I wait till my boys are resting and I go up and rub the ears and poke them where they lie. How does he feel about ear rubs? Practice rubbing his ears and give him a treat - even when not poking. If you are using the lancet tool you want to get him used to the clicky noise too - without actually poking. You want to get him used to the process so when you do poke its no big deal and routine.

Many of us use freeze dried chicken treats which you can get at most pet stores but heres other ideas: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=9172

Wendy
 
Re: New Here-Need Advice on Prozinc Dose

Thank you Wendy! No, I didn't shoot yet-just so scared of his BG dropping on me again. When doing the sticks, I try to wait until he's lying down & start petting him, rubbing his ears, etc-but he's able to figure out what's coming & makes a run for it. So for now, I'm having to have someone hold him down so I can get a successful stick. I feel so cruel-but it's the only way I'm able to get one right now & I want to make sure he's safe.

Btw-yes Mittens does have white paws-he's a tuxie (a very handsome one if i do say so myself ;-) ).I'll have to upload a pic when I have the time to figure out how to do it.
 
Re: New Here-Need Advice on Prozinc Dose

Its not cruel - you are doing the best to keep him safe. I would definately practice ear rub, treat, ear rub, treat. No poke. He should learn fast.

If he is edgy right now you might even want to try approaching him and stroking him but more his other favorite bits first and ears less.. then building up on the ear attention. Take it as slow as he will allow... gradually building up to doing the whole process without the poke.

My Bailey gets fiesty sometimes so I sit on the floor and lie my legs out in front of me. Then i put him between my thighs and cross my calves and hold him with my thighs. Works cos he is a small cat and doesnt fight that much.

Wendy
 
Re: New Here-Need Advice on Prozinc Dose

Posting an avatar picture...so we can see pretty Mittens too!!

Find a picture you have saved to your computer..or if you have them someplace like Photobucket, save the one(s) you want to your computer's photo file.
Go to http://www.shrinkpictures.com/create-avatar/

Click "choose picture". It will bring up your Photos already saved on your computer so you can pick ones you like
Type in "90" in where it asks for size
Click "Resize" and wait a few seconds ....your picture will come up "resized" to download/save to your computer again

Go to the "User Control Panel" (top left side of the page, directly under Board index ‹ FELINE HEALTH: The Main FDMB Forum)
Choose "Profile" tab
Choose "edit avatar"
Click on "Choose File"
Pick the picture you resized/saved and "Open"
"Submit"..and cross your fingers :-D


While you're there, go to "Edit Signature" and you can add your name, your cats name, where you live, what you are feeding, the kind of meter you're using, the insulin you're on, etc...And when you get a spreadsheet going to track Mittens' numbers, you'd post the link to that there too
 
Re: New Here-Need Advice on Prozinc Dose

Hi Lindsey,
You did a fantastic job last night, by the way. I'm glad some great people were here to help you too!

I'm thinking your vet's initial dose was based on the really high number he saw yesterday. But he didn't take into account that it may have been elevated due to stress from being at the clinic. And he may not have thought that Mittens would have a quick response to the diet change. He probably wasn't as high as the 500s once you got him home and shot time arrived.

Regardless, I think starting over at a lower dose is a wise move. Most cats start at 1u, sometimes less, if the weight-based guidelines from the AAHA are the basis for the starting dose.

For now, a no-shoot line of 200 is also good. I think you could give a small dose like .5 or 1u at most provided that you can get a test 3 or 4 hours later to see how Mittens responds. And provided it doesn't mess up your schedule of shots every 12 hours. If you feel more comfortable skipping tonight, that's an option too.
 
Re: New Here-Need Advice on Prozinc Dose

Well, I was able to upload a photo-as you can see it's sideways-I recently got a new computer and cannot for the life of me figure out how to rotate the image. I'll keep toying with it & hopefully i'll eventually get it.

I think i'm going to skip tonight's dose-his next dose is supposed to be at 730AM so I'll recheck him then and administer insulin then if his reading warrants it-definitely will start low & go slow this time!! I'm starting to feel discouraged that I'm not doing a good job-but I just have to tell myself that this is new for us both and each day is a new day...

I'll also try to start tonight on getting him accustomed to having his ears handled & offer positive reinforcement to show him that it's not all bad :smile:

Thanks so much all for your help & words of encouragement!
 
Re: New Here-Need Advice on Prozinc Dose

Awwww....he's beautiful!! Even if he is a little sideways :lol: Tuxedo's are such striking kitties. (if it's saved to your Picture file on your computer, try right clicking on it and choose "rotate clockwise" (or counterclockwise..whichever works)

You're doing GREAT!! You've done the most important things already!!
1. You've joined the FDMB
2. You've started home testing
3. You know when to ask for help
4. You are open minded and willing to learn (this is a very important point)

We've all been where you are and totally understand!

You did great on the signature too...next project, learning how to do a spreadsheet so you can keep track his BG numbers and we can easily take a quick look when you ask for advice (but maybe AFTER a good nights sleep! :-D

Get a good nights sleep, and know that you're doing the absolute best things you can do for Mittens. With a little luck, maybe he'll be one that can go OTJ quickly!!
 
Re: New Here-Need Advice on Prozinc Dose

I'm starting to feel discouraged that I'm not doing a good job-but I just have to tell myself that this is new for us both and each day is a new day...

Wait a minute.... you joined and posted like 20 hours before you said this? Wow, I'm not seeing it, Lindsey. Quite the opposite, you're doing a fantastic job! You had the classic "trial by fire" last night, pulled an all-nighter and dealt with low numbers and sticky syrup and the numbers took some time to get up to where you could finally get some sleep. Some people never have to deal with that sort of episode. I never did. And very, very rarely do people have to do that on their first day on the board. So.... absolutely no room for "discouraged" here, ma'am. You pretty much crammed weeks worth of "learning" into about 8 hours.

Yes, it's completely new for you and for Mittens. Not only is every day a new day, but it gets easier every day too. You're doing a great job.
 
Re: New Here-Need Advice on Prozinc Dose

Thanks for the words of encouragement...tomorrow is a new day so mittens (and I)-will be getting a good nights sleep before trying fresh tomorrow morning & take into account the suggestions of everyone on this site to help things go smoother.
Fingers crossed!!
I'm so glad to have found this forum-I'm sure I would have been ready to throw in the towel w/o you all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top