LinuxJon
Member Since 2018
Hey everyone, this place seems great. Wish I'd thought to find it sooner.
I have a 13-15 yr old deaf white cat named Carlos. He was diagnosed with diabetes over 8 years ago and has been doing pretty great for most of that time. He's been on Lantus, with the dose at between 3-5 units for the last handful of years. I didn't know about home monitoring as an option- we just did a glucose curve with the vet every six or eight months to adjust. He never had a hypo episode. I should mention he also lives with my parents part-time, as I travel for work and my wife is too allergic to care for him properly.
He was diagnosed with very early stage renal issues in December and we started adding daily Sub-Q fluids. I feel like since then, his diabetes has become much, much harder to manage. In January, he had one hypo event that my parents recognized and treated at home. After that, I started to home monitor. He was dipping into the 60's, so I adjusted the dose down to 4 units (from 5) by myself.
Then two weeks ago, he had another hypo event while my parents had him. He was unresponsive and they took him to the vet with a BG tested there at 32. Thankfully, they got him back up and home the same day. They adjusted down to 3 units. When I came to get him a couple of days later, his BG was <20 (min meter reading) but thankfully he wasn't yet having symptoms. I used the normal syrup and food protocol to get him back to a safe number.
Now I have him full-time so I can more closely monitor for the first time. Things seem to be all over the place. If I do 2 units 2x a day, his BG is in the high 200's or even 300's most of the day. When I go to 3 units 2x per day, I had an event the other night where he got into the 60's before bed again. It seems to be totally variant day by day.
My question is- where do I even start? I'm trying to keep track today with a 12-hour curve so I at least have more data to share. But could the sub-q fluids impact his sugar and be changing his curve? The fluids aren't always administered the same time of day.
Any advice is much appreicated!
I have a 13-15 yr old deaf white cat named Carlos. He was diagnosed with diabetes over 8 years ago and has been doing pretty great for most of that time. He's been on Lantus, with the dose at between 3-5 units for the last handful of years. I didn't know about home monitoring as an option- we just did a glucose curve with the vet every six or eight months to adjust. He never had a hypo episode. I should mention he also lives with my parents part-time, as I travel for work and my wife is too allergic to care for him properly.
He was diagnosed with very early stage renal issues in December and we started adding daily Sub-Q fluids. I feel like since then, his diabetes has become much, much harder to manage. In January, he had one hypo event that my parents recognized and treated at home. After that, I started to home monitor. He was dipping into the 60's, so I adjusted the dose down to 4 units (from 5) by myself.
Then two weeks ago, he had another hypo event while my parents had him. He was unresponsive and they took him to the vet with a BG tested there at 32. Thankfully, they got him back up and home the same day. They adjusted down to 3 units. When I came to get him a couple of days later, his BG was <20 (min meter reading) but thankfully he wasn't yet having symptoms. I used the normal syrup and food protocol to get him back to a safe number.
Now I have him full-time so I can more closely monitor for the first time. Things seem to be all over the place. If I do 2 units 2x a day, his BG is in the high 200's or even 300's most of the day. When I go to 3 units 2x per day, I had an event the other night where he got into the 60's before bed again. It seems to be totally variant day by day.
My question is- where do I even start? I'm trying to keep track today with a 12-hour curve so I at least have more data to share. But could the sub-q fluids impact his sugar and be changing his curve? The fluids aren't always administered the same time of day.
Any advice is much appreicated!