New Here - It's Official :(

Status
Not open for further replies.
I just did his AMPS...its 87. I did it twice...the first one came at 79 which I thought for sure was wrong...so I got a new strip and did again...and its 87..he kinda jerked when I poked him the second time and so it bled kinda heavy, if that matters. Being half asleep does not help.

He finished his dinner sometime during the night...but I know I can't dose him. I'm going to feed him...does the amount matter?

I'm not worried that he's not getting enough...he finishes what I give him...I guess I was just used to him eating everything in sight at one time and now he just takes his time and eats over the span of hours.

I just fed him about 1/4 can of the Friskies Special Diet. Don't think I'll be doing the curve today.
 
Hi. I am really new, but that is a nice AMPS number and it seems like your kitty's pancreas is starting to work on its own a bit. I know you are not giving Poe a shot with that low a number, but getting another test in to see if he is rising is probably a good idea since it is under 100 and he has not had insulin in a good while.

As for feeding and the amount, I don't think that matters as long as he eats. I am sure that someone with more experience will be around soon, but in the mean time, I would retest since it has been an hour since you posted the under 100 BG number. Can you retest and post the number?
 
Seems good that his number is coming up a bit yet is still in a somewhat normal area without insulin. If this keeps up, your baby may be going into remission on his own. I am too new to say anything about that, but if he has not had any insulin in that many hours and he ate something and it is till under 100 in green territory, he is making some insulin on his own or he had enough in him from your previous shot to last a long time.

I am not familiar with any insulin except ProZinc which does not build up like Lantus and Levemir, so I don't really know how that works. Just want you to know that someone is here with you in case you need me. I will try to help the best I can.

Is Poe eating this morning? You should probably get another test in another hour or so to see if his BG is rising or falling again. Someone else will be here by then to guide you I anticipate. If you just need to talk though, I am here!
 
Also, can I suggest that you start a brand new thread with the 911 symbol in the corner? That way, when a more experienced member comes on, they will know that someone needs them. They might not see it if they have to come to page 4. Just post what you wrote about the AMPS (copy and paste if you want to) and then his +1 reading and what he had to eat. Ok? Can you do that?
 
hi :)

Thanks for your support...he eats kinda slow...although he's probably eaten half the amount I've given him in the last hour or so. No shot for him this morning...I'm running low on strips and it's only 6:44 am here and I will need to get to the store...so I think I'll do another in 2 hours instead of one, unless I'm told its necessary. His poor ears...although he never complains..

I am so happy that his numbers are this good. He hasn't even been on the insulin for a week yet, and I've skipped quite a few doses already.

Thank you again for being here with me...I'm still trying to absorb all this although I'm getting a better understanding with every test.
 
Simon'sMommy said:
Also, can I suggest that you start a brand new thread with the 911 symbol in the corner? That way, when a more experienced member comes on, they will know that someone needs them. They might not see it if they have to come to page 4. Just post what you wrote about the AMPS (copy and paste if you want to) and then his +1 reading and what he had to eat. Ok? Can you do that?

Started a new thread

Thanks again
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top