New Here - It's Official :(

Status
Not open for further replies.
At this point, give him just a tablespoon or two. You still don't want him to eat too much because we're not yet sure how long this dose might last in his system (since he just started on insulin, we have no previous data to gauge his reaction).
 
I dont know where the post went about the one or 2 tblpsn of food, but I just tested him at 4:00 and he came in at 60
 
I'm going to give him 2 tablespoons of food...then test him again in 30 min I think...if I should wait longer let me know..I'll be checking

Karen
 
Yep, 60 is still a great number. :mrgreen: Go ahead and feed him and he should be fine. Feed him and test again in a half hour if you can or try again in an hour.

Now, onto the dose you're giving him. I was assuming it was 1u, but now it sounds like your vet might have had you microdosing. (If so, great for the vet to know about it!)

Here's a picture of a mirco-dose:


Which line on the syringe are you pulling to? FYI, the syringe in the picture has 1/2 unit markings (the lines on the left), whereas your syringes might not have them.
 
Ihave the BD U-100 Insulin syringe ...it says .03 mL/cc on the side

the first number read is 5 and I pull to 1
 
Okay, so that sounds like you're giving 1u. Going forward, at his next shot time if he's above 200 (you're probably going to end up skipping tonight so it won't be till tomorrow morning), you want to give him half that amount. So, in the picture above, the one that shows .25u, you want to draw the end of the plunger up to that little half-mark on the left. If your syringes don't have half-unit markings on them, you'll have to eyeball it between the 1u (what you're giving currently) and the 0 line (the last right line right before the top of the syringe). You might need to grab a magnifying glass or borrow a pair of eye glasses to help you see it.
 
He's holding steady (all meters have about a 20% variance so a 55 vs. a 60 is pretty close together). You're doing a great job on keeping him from dropping too low and he is surfing beautifully right now. :thumbup

And look at you go with all that testing!
pokingsmiley.gif
Great job!
 
KarensPoe said:
So do I feed him around 5:15 his normal amount and then test?

Yep. Test first, then feed. But don't worry if he doesn't eat it all since you've been feeding him off and on already.
 
Can I feed him dinner now? Do I plan to give him a shot tonight? I need a step by step here please its so appreciated.
 
tested again just now..came in at 70

I gave him about another 1/4 of a can...do I give him a shot tonight?

Thanks

PS No call back from vet yet :(
 
Beautiful number! When is his shot due? If it's right now, you definitely do not want to give him a shot.

I think right now you can breath easy and leave some wet food out for him to graze on.
 
yes, it would be due right around now. He didn't finish his last serving, so I'll leave it for him to munch on.

He's very content now..snoozing..after he ate and groomed.

I can't thank you enough...I'm so afraid..and I live alone..its just him and me...no other pets either.

Should i be testing him anymore tonight or wait until the morning...and if I wait til the morning, do I test before I feed him?

Thanks

Karen
 
Since you're skipping his shot, you can test him whenever you want tonight or not at all. Just consider it as data on how he does without a shot. Have I provided you yet with a link to the handy spreadsheet we all use for keeping track of numbers? Let me know if you need any help getting this set up.

You're doing fine and that's exactly what this Message Board is for: to hold your hand and help you in any way you need us to. We've all been through this and we've all needed our hands held at one point or another.

The plan for tomorrow is:
  • Test (this is called the morning "pre-shot" or AMPS test)
  • If <200, DON'T feed, but post here first for advice. (I probably won't be up yet since I'm West Coast, but someone should see it and be able to help; it's just been unusually quiet the last couple of days.) If no advice given, skip this shot as well.
  • If >200, feed and give .5u with the instructions I mentioned above.

If you give a shot tomorrow morning, try to grab a test two hours after the shot (it's called a +2) and another test or two around 4 to 8 hours after his shot to see how low he's going.
 
You may find it helpful to read my signature link secondary Monitoring Tools while you continue working on home blood glucose testing. It has some additional assessments you might make to evaluate your cat.
 
I wont be able to test him at all after I test him preshot and all that, as I leave early for work, and don't get home til about 3 CST.

I left his food out to snack on...will test him maybe tonight before I go to bed...I'd rather not if I dont have to since I really put him through a bunch already. I did notice too that he wasn't restless...he actually slept, not catnapped, for the first in probably a week.

He even slept in the spot where I kept pricking him for blood..such a precious boy he is

Thank you again...I will be up and about first thing in the morning...

Karen
 
Kpassa, good job in managing this when nobody was around!!!

Am I right with these readings?
5.30am AMBG no test, gave 1 unit
+10 44 (10 hours after shot?)
+10.5 65
+11 60
PMBG 70? Skip


Wendy
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Kpassa, good job in managing this when nobody was around!!!

Am I right with these readings?
5.30am AMBG no test, gave 1 unit
+10 44 (10 hours after shot?)
+10.5 65
+11 60
PMBG 70? Skip


Wendy

Yes...I did skip the PM dose, did not test after the 70. Vet called me around 9 pm last night and apologized as it wasn't conveyed to her that I was calling about his low reading. I told her that I was walked through the low reading by a member of this board and she was very pleased as she used and recommends this board as well.

She said all the same things about the plan for today, and even confirmed that I did not need to give him a shot last night.

Her instructions to me for today:

If his BG is below 200, feed, no shot
if its above 200, feed and 1 unit

I tested him at 5:15 this morning with a 276 reading. Fed him, and then gave him 1 unit at 5:30 am. She wants me to do a +2 test, so I am now waiting as it's only 6:45 am right now.

I'll be keeping this open until I have to leave for work after his 7:30 am test.

Thank you all so very much
Karen
 
Nope nothing to worry about - test for ketones though if you can. He might be bouncing off those lows.

I think we really need you set up on a spreadsheet so we can see whats going on here better, Both you, we and your vet will be able to watch it..

Heres how: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

If you have issues setting it up, let me know and I can ask another member to help.

Also I think 1 unit is too high given you got a 44 yesterday. I would drop to 0.75.
Wendy
 
I don't have the supplies to test for keotones, and I have a call into the vet as well. I'm going to work on the spreadsheet...I have all the numbers and info written down to put into it.

I will test him as soon as I get home, hopefully around 3:00 pm CST, so that will be a 6.5 hour stretch between tests. I can't give him a dose until 5:30 pm if he needs it.

Thanks
Karen
 
The logic with lantus is that you dose every 12 hours so you wouldnt be shooting before 5.30pm anyway... no matter what you see with the numbers.

You can buy the urine ketone test sticks for like $10 at Walmart.

Wendy
 
Ok that makes sense...so it's kinda slow acting which might be another reason his number was 351 2 hours after the dose. I have to get to WalMart today if they would quit putting me on hold and get a meter, strips, lancets, and the ketone strips.

I am hopeful that soon I will get the rhyme and reason in all this testing and metering...but I still panic a bit when he went so low and then high...

Thanks
Karen
 
Lantus takes a few hours to kick in. And food can raise BG levels too . As can being low (body overreacts and shoots out glucose to compensate). so dont worry.

shopping list!:

1. Meter ie Walmart Relion Confirm or Micro. Prime is cheaper but needs more blood.
2. Matching strips
3. Lancets - little sticks to poke the ear to get blood . new members usually start with a larger gauge lancet such as 28g or 29g until the ear learns to bleed. Optional - lancing tool.
4. Cotton balls to stem the blood
5. Neosporin or Polysporin ointment to heal the wound
6. Mini flashlight (optional) - useful to help see the ear veins in dark cats, and to press against
7. Ketone urine test strips ie Ketostix or ketodiastix - Important to check ketones when blood is high
8. Sharps container - to dispose of waste syringes and lancets.
9. Treats for the cat - like freeze dried chicken
10. Karo syrup/corn syrup or honey if you dont have it at home - for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast
11. A couple of cans of fancy feast gravy lovers or other high carb gravy food- for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast
 
ok printed that all out. I've been fortunate that he bleeds pretty easy, although with all the sticks I did the other night, I'm sure I helped that part along ugh

Thanks again...I'm going to read some more about all this...just is overwhelming and a bit hard to comprehend.

Karen
 
Ok cool then get the prime as its reliable and cheap. Some cats are good bleeders, you are lucky. And the ears "learn" to bleed which helps over time.
 
Just spoke with the vet...his high reading makes sense since he had eaten 2 hours earlier...so I imagine when I get home and test, he will be on the low end. I'm getting the ReliOn Confirm hopefully today.

Thanks all again so much
karen
 
Tested when I got home about 3 pm...244...1 tspn of Friskies pate (see next line) to keep him from screaming at me.

5:00 PMBG before dinner...262...half can of Friskies pate (supreme supper...yummm lol) and now I wait for him to finish so I can give him his shot. Shot due in about 10 min.

I started my spreadsheet, but its kind of a mess yet. No consistency really.

Karen
 
The spreadsheet (SS) link is not working correctly.

When you are in your google spreadsheet, you need to click on File, Publish to the Web, make sure the checkbox for 'automaticaly republish when changes are made' is checked and click on the 'Start Publishing' button.

Try those steps and then we'll see if the access to your SS is working.
 
I still can't access it. Which link do you have in your signature? The one that popped up when you said Publish to the web, and is down towards the bottom of the screen in that window, or the URL in the web address bar? You do NOT want to use the URL in the web address bar.

There may be a share option somewhere that needs to be changed. Maybe post over in Tech Support forum to ask for help?
 
ok...will fix that again.

In the meantime, I'm doing a curve for my vet...5:30 AMBG was 91, fed, no dose. He didn't finish breakfast.

9:30 am (4 hour test) came in at 59...have call into vet...still food left from breakfast...I know this isn't dangerously low...but low enough to be concerned. He's fine..no symptoms...nothing unusual.

Not sure what to do since he won't finish his breakfast.

Karen
 
Under the File -> Publish to web, there should be a box that says something along the lines of "Share published link" that contains the published URL to copy into your signature. It should contain "pub" within the address and not the "ccc."

(Sorry, on my iPhone so I can't copy/paste very well or access my own googledocs from here, otherwise I'd be more specific. :lol: )

And I see you've been doing a fantastic job! No shot since how long ago now? :mrgreen:
 
If no insulin and no other conditions, he isn't going to hypo. Skip until the regular time and only shoot if he's high enough.

It looks like 1 unit is too much if 1 or 2 shots takes him that low. I would not shoot 1 unit again. We suggest new users not give insulin if the pre-shot test is under 200 mg/dL. If he is over 200 at the next shot time, you might consider 0.5 units or 0.25 units.
 
So you got a 59 even though you didnt shoot since last night? Nothing to worry about - 59 is normal numbers and without insulin, he shouldnt have a hypo. Keep measuring though every few hours, we want to see what he does now. Can you put 0 in the dose column for this morning?

Honestly, I am not sure he even needs insulin with what I think the numbers have been recently.. so want to see what he does today.

Wendy
 
I spoke with the vet..I guess the ReliOn meter is a bit off from the Alphatrack I been borrowing from her, so even though it read at 59, it was really a bit higher.

So...she thinks I need to stop dosing him...stop testing..until Monday am for his regular 5:30 am test/food/shot (?). She has had another kitty that did so well just on the food change and the insulin for about 2 weeks, that the kitty no longer needed it. She's thinking Poe might be another example of this.

His last dose (1 unit) was his 5:30 pm last night, 5-24-13. His +12 reading was the one at 59, which is probably higher, so he is in good range.

I will be home, except maybe to run to store, all weekend. I'm prepared for any emergencies (God forbid). His appetite is leveling out alot...although I did find out the particular "flavor" I gave him of the Friskies this morning did not appeal to him (it was a new one).

On Monday, she wants me to do the curve. Also said that if he gets over 350 to dose him, so just out of my own peace of mind, I may test him AMBG and PMBG.

He may be OTJ soon...and that would be awesome !

I hope my spread sheet works now...I've taken the steps as directed...never used google docs before.

Thanks
 
59 is a good number. Sounds like a good plan but I would definately not stop testing (? why would she say this) - you need to get a few more tests in to see how he is doing - maybe 2 more today and a couple tomorrow so you can see how he is trending - see how his pancreas is working. If he goes superhigh tonite or tomorrow then you will know and be able to shoot (but lets discuss first)

On Monday morning test and dont shoot if he is still low obviously. Call the vet then and discuss.

Spreadsheet works great!

Paws crossed for OTJ

Wendy
 
I am going to test for sure...probably for the PMBG. I haven't normally tested after the last one of the night. Then I will test AMBG also.

All my fingers, toes, and Poe's are crossed for OTJ
 
I just did a PMBG about an hour earlier than usual...about 4:10 pm instead of 5:00 pm...came in at 121. Fed him his dinner...he sure don't eat like he was...he eats a bit...leaves...comes back later for a bit more..sometimes takes hours now for him to finish it.

I'll probably test him either +4 or +6 just to see how it's holding out, especially since he eats a little bit at a time.

Karen
 
Actually, try to grab another test an hour after he eats and then again at 2 hours after he eats, if possible. Since he hasn't had any insulin now for quite a while, what you're seeing might be that his body is producing insulin on its own. A "Food Test" should show whether his numbers go up from eating (a sign he might still need insulin) or go down after eating (a sign that his pancreas is working, at least a little bit).

And now that his numbers are in a more normal range, his body is able to efficiently process food so he's no longer needing to eat more. It's great to hear he's grazing so effectively. :thumbup
 
I missed this post...I'm past the 2 hours I think...will try to get one shortly...trying to eat myself lol

Thanks
 
Drat - he is getting a little high.

Lets see how he is tomorrow. If he keeps this up he will be back on the insulin. Maybe on a smaller dose though. to quote BJ
it looks like 1 unit is too much if 1 or 2 shots takes him that low. I would not shoot 1 unit again. We suggest new users not give insulin if the pre-shot test is under 200 mg/dL. If he is over 200 at the next shot time, you might consider 0.5 units or 0.25 units.

Are you checking for ketones?
 
I'm going to test again in about an hour just to be sure...I got distracted and might have misread that number and now I cant get it back on the meter
 
Sounds good.

Next time you are at the pharmacy you should pick up a pack of urine ketone strips. They are cheap and you test the urine with them for ketones.ketones can happen when a cats blood is high and its a serious and expensive condition to treat. Fortunately Poe is low right now but if he sneaks up it will be a good idea to spot check for those.

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top