Robyn & Mika
Member
Hello everyone and thanks for a great forum, I have learned alot reading all the blogs!! I have a 12 year siamese that was diagnosed on 7/20/11. We started him on 3 unit of Lantus insulin on 7/21/11, twice a day. Switched his already wet food to Fancy Feast (varieties under 6% carbs.) His first BG numbers were in the high 400's. The three units of insulin didn't touch them. After 10 days at 3 units, the vet increased insulin to 5 units twice a day, BG still over 400. We were on 5 units twice a day for 10 days, and vet increased the units to 7 twice a day. I did home testing on Saturday (second time), and saw numbers from 371 to 275. Vet just increased the insulin to 8 units last night and wants me to home test again after 5 -7 days. Is this not a ton of insulin?? I read the blogs where cat owners have their cats on 1 - 1.5 units of insulin and are still on dry food and can wean their cats of the insulin fairly quickly. Am I just being impatient? I changed his food immediately and have been very regimented with the insulin. Is there anything more I can do to help get my cat off the insulin? The vet said he needs more insulin because he weighs 17.3 pounds?? I am starting to wonder if I will ever get him off the insulin. Help, any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.