New Here + Advice for Oreo

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paige & Oreo

Member Since 2016
Hello!

Was directed over here from my thread on the main forum here.

Oreo has been a bit all over since we diagnosed him earlier this week. Have him on 0.5 U, which hasn't really brought him down past 340. I did a PMPS this evening and he's at 122. Skipping tonight's shot, but could use some advice on what to do tomorrow. Vet is closed Sundays- thinking I'll do and AMPS and go from there?
 
Welcome Paige and Oreo,

It sounds like you have had a rocky ride. Can you post here in the morning and get some advice on your number? (What time is that, eastern time or ?). I would not shoot under 200. Since Oreo has been 24 hours since a shot, he might be fairly high in the morning(300-400), but I'd still be very cautious with the dose. Do you think you can eyeball 0.25?
 
I can do that - I'm on central time and can post around 7:30.

I can do my best with the .25, little tricky since I'm already eyeballing the .5 dose
 
Welcome Paige and Oreo,

It sounds like you have had a rocky ride. Can you post here in the morning and get some advice on your number? (What time is that, eastern time or ?). I would not shoot under 200. Since Oreo has been 24 hours since a shot, he might be fairly high in the morning(300-400), but I'd still be very cautious with the dose. Do you think you can eyeball 0.25?
Sue, Paige is using an AT meter so I suggested 230+ as her no shot number for now.
 
Sounds good. Thanks for catching the AT meter, Kris.

Paige, if you can get some numbers today, it should give you some good info. Try for a number or two in the 5-7 hours after the shot, maybe 8/9 also.
 
Hi Paige! I have an Oreo at home too!

We'll keep an eye our for your numbers. As Sue said that mid cycle data would be helpful. :)
 
Hello!

So, the testing this morning was a bit traumatic, and I didn't feel comfortable getting additional test today. Worried about causing so much trauma that it will make it impossible to get samples down the road. Still working on my skills to get it done quickly, hoping this will get a little easier for all involved as we go.

I did get an PMPS just now at 340, so going ahead with his evening dose. I might be able to get a mid-cycle dose this week, depending on how things go. If not, I'm planning to do a full curve for him per vet's instructions next weekend.

I'm wondering if since we are working on getting his weight but to normal that could be making things a little bouncy?
 
Are you giving treats when testing? A lot of people have special treats for test time. That way Oreo knows good stuff is coming!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top