New here. 5 months in and still not regulated.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katy and Charlie

Member Since 2023
Hello everybody! My name is Katy, 28F, and I'm here to get some help with my baby boy Charlie. The last few days have been a roller coaster of emotions for me. I desperately need help to get Charlie regulated.

Charlie is a 9-year-old orange short-haired kitty. We've had him since he was a teen so pretty much his whole life. In August 2023 he got sick. He was very lethargic and throwing up so we got him to the vet ASAP. Sadly, he was diagnosed with diabetes and we began insulin shots. He was 15 lbs but had probably been heavier in the past. For the beginning, I don't have a lot of information because I wasn't doing at-home testing, only testing at the vet. We started with Vetsulin, giving 3 units two times a day. Every time we went back to the vet he was still high. Usually somewhere from 400 to 600. We tried 4 units twice a day, then 5 units twice a day, then 4 units three times a day. The vet recommended using a Libre sensor so we could get a better idea of what was happening. It was so nice to be able to check with blood sugar all the time so easily, but I feel we didn't really get anywhere with it. We could see that after the shots his blood sugar would slowly drop down to 100-200 but wouldn't stay down long, it instantly started rising again. So the vet had me switch to Glargine-type insulin. We started with 4 units two times a day, but at the next checkup, he was 300. So we were on the right track but still not where we needed to be. We bumped it up to 5 units twice a day. At this point, I finally got myself a home test meter and started monitoring it. During this time he ranged from 250 to 370. At this time, he starts developing neuropathy. He is walking more flat-footed and is unable to jump on the couch or the bed.

Then we arrive on Friday 1/26/24. I wake up to find a large amount of throw-up on the floor. Charlie stopped eating, was very lethargic, and wouldn't leave his water bowl. I tested him at home before going to the vet and he was at 364. At the vet, they tested using a home-type meter and got 390. They ran a full blood panel which showed his blood glucose was actually 570. This is the first time I learned the home meter wasn't as accurate as I thought. All those times we were 200 to 300, it was probably much higher than that. The vet said he believed the diabetes had progressed to ketoacidosis at this time and decided to keep Charlie for the day on an IV and monitor his blood sugar. We also increased to 6 units three times a day. When I went to pick him up at the end of the day, he had not gotten any better. Here are the results from the day at the vet.... these are using the home meter so keep in mind it was probably higher than that.

9:00AM 390, + 6 units insulin
10:15AM 328
12:15PM 298
2:15PM 640, + 6 units insulin
2:45PM 608
4:15PM 559
4:55PM 607
8:15PM Unable to get his ears to bleed, + 6 units insulin

The vet was really dumbfounded. He said he hadn't seen a case like this in over a decade. We have been starting to wonder if his body is resisting the insulin for some reason. The vet said we could possibly get an ultrasound to check for tumors or something that could be causing the insulin resistance. He sent us home and said if he got worse to take him to the emergency vet which is an hour away. That is also our only option for the ultrasounds as well is going an hour away. The car is so traumatizing for him it scares me.

So we went home that night and talked over all our options. Charlie was still in such rough shape, we honestly thought we were going to lose him. We considered euthanasia because he was definitely suffering. We wanted to give him some time with the new dose of insulin to see if he would bounce back. Saturday morning he got up and started eating on his own. Here are Saturday's results...

8:00AM 83, + 6 unit insulin
10:00AM 106
2:00PM Unable to test, + 6 units insulin
7:20PM 35
10:30PM 69, Did not give the last dose of insulin cause I was scared we were getting too low.

During this time, he is really bouncing back. Eating and drinking normally again. I was so happy.

Sunday's results....
9:22AM 505, + 6 units insulin
12:10PM 493, + 6 units insulin
5:45PM 279
6:00PM+ 6 units insulin

Monday's results....
6:15AM + 6 units insulin
7:00AM 105
12:30PM Unable to test, + 6 units insulin
6:00PM 109, + 6 units insulin

Then this morning at 7:10AM he is at 442. After yesterday's numbers, I was so hopeful. Then woke up to this and feel so defeated. Nothing changed from yesterday so I just don't understand the huge jump. When I put unable to test.... I try and try but sometimes have a hard time getting his ear to bleed. After so many pokes I feel bad and give up.

During this time I've been feeding him Blue Buffalo Blissful Belly, in the beginning, he had issues with diarrhea, and that food has seemed to help. I also use Hills Prescription MD dry cat food. In the morning I give him a mixture of the blissful belly and MD dry food. Then at night, he gets a can of blissful belly wet food, plus some more dry food.

When giving him his insulin I am always super cautious in making sure he is actually getting it. I always feel the area afterward to make sure it's not wet, so I know I am getting it in.

I don't have children so this kitty is my child. I love him so damn much, I don't want to lose him. I also don't want to put him through any unnecessary stress. I just need some guidance. Let me know if there is any other information you need from me. It's been 5 months but I still feel so new to this and like I don't know as much as I should. Thanks!
 
Hi there, welcome to the group!!

I can sympathize greatly as the universe decided my wife and I won't procreate. So we have 7 cats instead! They are my world.

You have found the right place to get Charlie regulated. People here have decades of combined experience and expertise with feline diabetes! When testing with a meter at home, readings will be lower than the meter the vet uses, especially at higher BG values. But there is really no difference to Charlie's health whether it is a home test showing 390 or a vet test showing 570. Both are far beyond what they should be, and far higher than what a non-diabetic cat would have for a BG value.

Couple notes on diet -- eliminating ALL dry food is highly recommended. Hills Prescription is not great for diabetic cats, not only is it dry kibble it is NOT low carb.

Feeding only wet/canned/raw low-carb food is very very important for a diabetic cat. 6 units is a lot and while there is a chance he is insulin-resistant, it is also quite possible that if the diet is adjusted, that will be WAY too much insulin. By feeding the Hills you are likely offsetting the insulin. HOWEVER changing diet is very tricky if you are already giving insulin as like I mention -- you can suddenly have a situation where you are giving a higher dose than is needed, or even safe.


In order for the experts here to be able to help you and Charlie, please set up a spreadsheet so they can review his numbers and offer guidance and expert advice.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/



P.S. you can drag and drop a picture into a post (upload feature is broken). Let's see a picture of the orange troublemaker! :bighug:
 
See this thread for the same question on low carb food: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-low-cost-catfood-question.286157/

Whatever brand(s) your cat liked to eat that is low carb, affordable to you, and can be found at a local store if ordering online is not an option is the "best" food. Lots of people feed Fancy Feast. Others choose the more expensive and harder to find Rawz brand.

I wouldn't stop the dry food cold turkey. Doing so on such a large dose of insulin can result in a hypo.

83 is a normal healthy blood glucose level. FDMB members recommend no insulin if the cat tests under 150.

Are you still using Vetsulin or are you using the Lantus/glaring now? Are you using u100 insulin syringes with Lantus?
 
Are you saying you gave 6 units with a BG level of83?

A spreadsheet would really help us understand what is going on so we can give good advice.

Larry and Kitties..... yes, I gave 6 units when he was 83. Due to me using a home meter, I'm sure it was much higher than that, but how much higher I don't know. I find that a hard part of navigating his treatment when the home test isn't accurate. But two hours later he was at 106 so it still rose after the 6 units.

As I said in my post, I'm new here and I know that I have a lot to learn. I am going to work on making a spreadsheet.
 
Hi there, welcome to the group!!

I can sympathize greatly as the universe decided my wife and I won't procreate. So we have 7 cats instead! They are my world.

You have found the right place to get Charlie regulated. People here have decades of combined experience and expertise with feline diabetes! When testing with a meter at home, readings will be lower than the meter the vet uses, especially at higher BG values. But there is really no difference to Charlie's health whether it is a home test showing 390 or a vet test showing 570. Both are far beyond what they should be, and far higher than what a non-diabetic cat would have for a BG value.

Couple notes on diet -- eliminating ALL dry food is highly recommended. Hills Prescription is not great for diabetic cats, not only is it dry kibble it is NOT low carb.

Feeding only wet/canned/raw low-carb food is very very important for a diabetic cat. 6 units is a lot and while there is a chance he is insulin-resistant, it is also quite possible that if the diet is adjusted, that will be WAY too much insulin. By feeding the Hills you are likely offsetting the insulin. HOWEVER changing diet is very tricky if you are already giving insulin as like I mention -- you can suddenly have a situation where you are giving a higher dose than is needed, or even safe.


In order for the experts here to be able to help you and Charlie, please set up a spreadsheet so they can review his numbers and offer guidance and expert advice.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/



P.S. you can drag and drop a picture into a post (upload feature is broken). Let's see a picture of the orange troublemaker! :bighug:


Hendrick Cuddleclaw... Thanks so much for the quick detailed reply. I love meeting another cat parent like me. I only have two cats at this time, Charlie and his little girlfriend Annie.

I will work on putting together a spreadsheet, that is a great idea. Here is a picture of my sweet Charlie Bean, and another with Charlie and Annie.

I've read on here about wet food being the definite way to go. I've been worried about the cost of switching to completely wet food. Especially having two cats, they eat together, they both have to get wet food. But it's a much easier option than taking him to an emergency vet and running all sorts of tests. Plus, as we've discussed, these kitties are our babies. So I'll do whatever I need to get him feeling better. After seeing your message and how the Hills Prescription may be offsetting the insulin... I will switch to wet food right away. I will keep testing and monitoring to make sure we aren't giving him too much insulin as I transition. It kind of makes sense... his numbers were lower and in range on Saturday. That was the day after spending the day in the vet so he was eating more, but still not as much. So most of what he was eating was wet food.

Is there a wet food you recommend? Thanks again for the response!!
 

Attachments

  • cats.jpg
    cats.jpg
    66.6 KB · Views: 133
  • beanis.jpg
    beanis.jpg
    58 KB · Views: 136
Are you home? Since you are feeding dry food he is getting too much insulin. Are you home? Test again in 30 minutes. How many hours since you gave insulin? Lantus kicks in by +2 usually.
 
See this thread for the same question on low carb food: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-low-cost-catfood-question.286157/

Whatever brand(s) your cat liked to eat that is low carb, affordable to you, and can be found at a local store if ordering online is not an option is the "best" food. Lots of people feed Fancy Feast. Others choose the more expensive and harder to find Rawz brand.

I wouldn't stop the dry food cold turkey. Doing so on such a large dose of insulin can result in a hypo.

83 is a normal healthy blood glucose level. FDMB members recommend no insulin if the cat tests under 150.

Are you still using Vetsulin or are you using the Lantus/glaring now? Are you using u100 insulin syringes with Lantus?


Thanks for linking that thread, I'll look into that. I'll using work on slowly stopping the dry food, I don't want him to go hypo!

How do I handle the home test not being accurate? If it says 83 and that's healthy... isn't it actually higher than that? I went through so much of his treatment not realizing the home test were lower than actual glucose levels so I am having a hard time with that part.

We are still using Lantus/glargine. It is a pen type so not using syringes, just pen needles.


Thanks for your help!
 
Are you home? Since you are feeding dry food he is getting too much insulin. Are you home? Test again in 30 minutes. How many hours since you gave insulin? Lantus kicks in by +2 usually.


I am not home today. I am at work sadly. But my husband is home with him. He had dry food at 6:30AM then at 7:15AM he was 442. I'll see if I can get my husband to test him again.
His poor little ears are so bruised... :(
 
What brand meter are you using?

Are you keeping your vet updated with your cat's numbers and your concerns? Do you feel that your vet is knowledgeable on treating feline diabetes? You can ask the vet to consult with another vet, maybe an internal medicine specialist.

@Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA) any tips and suggestions for a newbie dosing Lantus 3 times a day per the vet and feeding dry?
 
That’s actually good. It means he’s bouncing from the 83. Time means nothing to us because we are from all over the world here and different time zones. We speak in hours after insulin. So +2 for example would be 2 hours after insulin.

BUT if giving insulin 3 times a day you will have 3 nadirs. I can’t advise how to handle that.
 
Last edited:
What brand meter are you using?

Are you keeping your vet updated with your cat's numbers and your concerns? Do you feel that your vet is knowledgeable on treating feline diabetes? You can ask the vet to consult with another vet, maybe an internal medicine specialist.

@Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA) any tips and suggestions for a newbie dosing Lantus 3 times a day per the vet and feeding dry?


The brand of the meter is AUVON. Got it off Amazon, had fairly good reviews. If you have a recommendation on another meter that may be more accurate, I'd get it right away.
I haven't kept the vet totally up to date. I've gone in about once a month sometimes more often to talk and recheck his levels. I feel he is knowledgeable and helpful. But he didn't tell me there would be any issues with feeding dry food, he gave me the hills prescription dry food. I could definitely find someone more knowledgeable. The problem is they are over an hour away. Charlie screams the whole drive to the vet and its only 10 minutes away. I've been avoiding going to the specialist without trying all my other options first. I hope that's not horrible of me.
 
It’s not horrible and we can help but we need a spreadsheet. Are you giving insulin 3 times a day? Neither of our dosing methods use that way to control fd.
 
:bighug: No, you're not a bad bean (FDMB lingo for pet owner / Human being). Do what is best for you and your cat. I've heard of people spraying Bach's Rescue Remedy in the carrier before putting the cat in. It's supposed to help calm the cat down. I've never tried it. Draping a towel over the carrier also works for many cats.

I wonder if the vet can just consult with a specialist as needed for your cat's case? You likely wouldn't need to see the specialist in person.

When you get your spreadsheet done, definitely send the link to the vet so he can keep up to date on your cat's levels if he chooses to. I keep my vet updated daily via his secretary but only because my zoo has various issues the vet likes to keep tabs on :p Even the rats' issues, although the vet can't help with that other than bug the Exotics team to give me a call back.

I've never heard of that brand of meter. Human meters are pretty much all the same IMO. Pick one that has affordable test strips that you can buy at a local store if you forget to order more online. Or choose Amazon's subscription thing so you don't have to remember when to place an order. I personally use the AccuChek Aviva Plus because AccuChek sent me a new meter a few years ago as a replacement to the old Aviva that I used over 10 years ago with my previous diabetic.
 
It’s not horrible and we can help but we need a spreadsheet. Are you giving insulin 3 times a day? Neither of our dosing methods use that way to control fd.

I am at work today but will work on making a spreadsheet. I apologize, I should have read more about the forum before posting here. It's so in-depth which is helpful but can be overwhelming!

I am giving insulin three times a day. Previously we were going 5 units twice a day but it wasn't getting him low enough and that's when he had to spend the day on an IV at the vet. That day, the vet switched to 6 units three times a day. I know it's a lot but we just haven't been able to get him lowered. From other comments, I'm starting to believe (and hope) that it may just be the need for wet food rather than dry. The vet has been quite helpful but I'm not sure he is the most knowledgeable. He's told me he hasn't seen such a hard-to-treat cat. Usually, they give a few units twice a day and it works great but Charlie just hasn't been able to stay in a healthy range.

I will work on the spreadsheet cause I understand there isn't a whole lot you can help with without that information.
 
We are still using Lantus/glargine. It is a pen type so not using syringes, just pen needles.
If you are using Lantus I suggest you get the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings because we adjust the doses by 0.25 units at a time.
You won't need a script from your vet if you order from Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-...inges/dp/B009LTE0DO?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help

This link will also tell you how to create a spreadsheet and how it works
If you need help just ask and we can have a member set it up for you

By the way we don't use times when testing because we are all in different time zones . For example if you test 2 hours after giving insulin you would tell us @+2 ( 2 hours after insulin ) @+3 ( 3 hours after giving insulin) and so on
If you test after 2 hours and 30 minutes it would be @2.5
2 hours and 45 minutes would be 2.75 ,that's how you would enter it on your spreadsheet
 
Last edited:
Hello everybody! My name is Katy, 28F, and I'm here to get some help with my baby boy Charlie. The last few days have been a roller coaster of emotions for me. I desperately need help to get Charlie regulated.

Charlie is a 9-year-old orange short-haired kitty. We've had him since he was a teen so pretty much his whole life. In August 2023 he got sick. He was very lethargic and throwing up so we got him to the vet ASAP. Sadly, he was diagnosed with diabetes and we began insulin shots. He was 15 lbs but had probably been heavier in the past. For the beginning, I don't have a lot of information because I wasn't doing at-home testing, only testing at the vet. We started with Vetsulin, giving 3 units two times a day. Every time we went back to the vet he was still high. Usually somewhere from 400 to 600. We tried 4 units twice a day, then 5 units twice a day, then 4 units three times a day. The vet recommended using a Libre sensor so we could get a better idea of what was happening. It was so nice to be able to check with blood sugar all the time so easily, but I feel we didn't really get anywhere with it. We could see that after the shots his blood sugar would slowly drop down to 100-200 but wouldn't stay down long, it instantly started rising again. So the vet had me switch to Glargine-type insulin. We started with 4 units two times a day, but at the next checkup, he was 300. So we were on the right track but still not where we needed to be. We bumped it up to 5 units twice a day. At this point, I finally got myself a home test meter and started monitoring it. During this time he ranged from 250 to 370. At this time, he starts developing neuropathy. He is walking more flat-footed and is unable to jump on the couch or the bed.

Then we arrive on Friday 1/26/24. I wake up to find a large amount of throw-up on the floor. Charlie stopped eating, was very lethargic, and wouldn't leave his water bowl. I tested him at home before going to the vet and he was at 364. At the vet, they tested using a home-type meter and got 390. They ran a full blood panel which showed his blood glucose was actually 570. This is the first time I learned the home meter wasn't as accurate as I thought. All those times we were 200 to 300, it was probably much higher than that. The vet said he believed the diabetes had progressed to ketoacidosis at this time and decided to keep Charlie for the day on an IV and monitor his blood sugar. We also increased to 6 units three times a day. When I went to pick him up at the end of the day, he had not gotten any better. Here are the results from the day at the vet.... these are using the home meter so keep in mind it was probably higher than that.

9:00AM 390, + 6 units insulin
10:15AM 328
12:15PM 298
2:15PM 640, + 6 units insulin
2:45PM 608
4:15PM 559
4:55PM 607
8:15PM Unable to get his ears to bleed, + 6 units insulin

The vet was really dumbfounded. He said he hadn't seen a case like this in over a decade. We have been starting to wonder if his body is resisting the insulin for some reason. The vet said we could possibly get an ultrasound to check for tumors or something that could be causing the insulin resistance. He sent us home and said if he got worse to take him to the emergency vet which is an hour away. That is also our only option for the ultrasounds as well is going an hour away. The car is so traumatizing for him it scares me.

So we went home that night and talked over all our options. Charlie was still in such rough shape, we honestly thought we were going to lose him. We considered euthanasia because he was definitely suffering. We wanted to give him some time with the new dose of insulin to see if he would bounce back. Saturday morning he got up and started eating on his own. Here are Saturday's results...

8:00AM 83, + 6 unit insulin
10:00AM 106
2:00PM Unable to test, + 6 units insulin
7:20PM 35
10:30PM 69, Did not give the last dose of insulin cause I was scared we were getting too low.

During this time, he is really bouncing back. Eating and drinking normally again. I was so happy.

Sunday's results....
9:22AM 505, + 6 units insulin
12:10PM 493, + 6 units insulin
5:45PM 279
6:00PM+ 6 units insulin

Monday's results....
6:15AM + 6 units insulin
7:00AM 105
12:30PM Unable to test, + 6 units insulin
6:00PM 109, + 6 units insulin

Then this morning at 7:10AM he is at 442. After yesterday's numbers, I was so hopeful. Then woke up to this and feel so defeated. Nothing changed from yesterday so I just don't understand the huge jump. When I put unable to test.... I try and try but sometimes have a hard time getting his ear to bleed. After so many pokes I feel bad and give up.

During this time I've been feeding him Blue Buffalo Blissful Belly, in the beginning, he had issues with diarrhea, and that food has seemed to help. I also use Hills Prescription MD dry cat food. In the morning I give him a mixture of the blissful belly and MD dry food. Then at night, he gets a can of blissful belly wet food, plus some more dry food.

When giving him his insulin I am always super cautious in making sure he is actually getting it. I always feel the area afterward to make sure it's not wet, so I know I am getting it in.

I don't have children so this kitty is my child. I love him so damn much, I don't want to lose him. I also don't want to put him through any unnecessary stress. I just need some guidance. Let me know if there is any other information you need from me. It's been 5 months but I still feel so new to this and like I don't know as much as I should. Thanks![/QUOTQUOTE

I also see from one of your post that you said
I am giving insulin three times a day. Previously we weregoing 5 units twice a day but it wasn't getting him low enough and that's when he had to spend the day on an IV at the vet. That day, the vet switched to 6 units three times a day. I know it's a lot but we just haven't been able to get him lowered. From other comments, I'm starting to believe (and hope) that it may just be the need for wet food ratherthan dry.

Let me tag some experienced member for you

@Wendy&Neko
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Marje and Gracie
 
Last edited:
During this time I've been feeding him Blue Buffalo Blissful Belly, in the beginning, he had issues with diarrhea, and that food has seemed to help. I also use Hills Prescription MD dry cat food. In the morning I give him a mixture of the blissful belly and MD dry food. Then at night, he gets a can of blissful belly wet food, plus some more dry food.
Th e Hills M/D dry is around 19% carbs
Looking at the Blue Blissful Belly it looks like the carbs are too high for a diabetic kitty looks like its 20% carbs
https://catfooddb.com/product/blue buffalo/True Solutions Blissful Belly Digestive Care Formula - Adult Cat

Questionable Ingredients
  • potato starch
  • brown rice
  • carrageenan
  • guar gum
 
Last edited:
Saturday's test results tell me that the insulin dose was too high. You don't want a cat to go under 90 when you are feeding dry food, and numbers below tell you that you need to reduce his dose immediately. 6 units 3 times a day (18 units per day) is too much insulin.

Your kitty going sky high numbers after seeing a number under 100 is what we call a bounce. It's perfectly normal and very annoying to us. Here is the description:
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

I would strongly recommend going back to two shots a day. Lantus typically lasts longer than 8 hours so you'll get some overlap in action with 3. Most importantly though, it is really hard on the caregiver to have to give and monitor 3 shots per day.

I would also strongly recommend getting rid of the high carb dry food, in a slow process. We had one member whose kitty was on 6 units twice a day, and she thought he wasn't getting to the dry food high up she was feeding other kitties. Turns out the old man was more mobile than she thought. She removed all dry food from the house, and 2.5 very scary days later, he was off of insulin. With a lot of near hypos along the way and very little sleep.

A lot of people in the US use the Relion meters from Walmart. They have the cheapest test strips and the test strips are what you go through the most. Human meters are perfectly fine to use. They and the pet meters are fairly close in numbers when you get to normal number range, but differ by more when when the numbers get higher. Our dosing methods were developed using human meters. Almost all of us use human meters due to the cost of the pet meters. Back in the day when I started, no one used pet meters, even the vets used human meters. Since then the companies have started heavily marketing to the vets.
 
If you are using Lantus I suggest you get the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings because we adjust the doses by 0.25 units at a time.
You won't need a script from your vet if you order from Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-...inges/dp/B009LTE0DO?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help

This link will also tell you how to create a spreadsheet and how it works
If you need help just ask and we can have a member set it up for you

By the way we don't use times when testing because we are all in different time zones . For example if you test 2 hours after giving insulin you would tell us @+2 ( 2 hours after insulin ) @+3 ( 3 hours after giving insulin) and so on
If you test after 2 hours and 30 minutes it would be @2.5
2 hours and 45 minutes would be 2.75 ,that's how you would enter it on your spreadsheet


I just ordered those syringes. I like that idea because it gives me more control. Just using the pen has made me a little nervous.

Thanks a bunch for all the info. I will work on the signature and spreadsheet when I have time so you guys can better help me.
 
Th e Hills M/D dry is around 19% carbs
Looking at the Blue Blissful Belly it looks like the carbs are too high for a diabetic kitty looks like its 20% carbs
https://catfooddb.com/product/blue buffalo/True Solutions Blissful Belly Digestive Care Formula - Adult Cat

Questionable Ingredients
  • potato starch
  • brown rice
  • carrageenan
  • guar gum

After reading other comments, I am going to slowly ween him off the dry food. I just ordered a case of the blissful belly so he needs to stay on that for a second.... but I'll look into a different low-carb wet food for the future. I've never seen that cat food website before, that will be super helpful! What is the ideal % of carbs in wet food?
 
After reading other comments, I am going to slowly ween him off the dry food. I just ordered a case of the blissful belly so he needs to stay on that for a second.... but I'll look into a different low-carb wet food for the future. I've never seen that cat food website before, that will be super helpful! What is the ideal % of carbs in wet food?
Here is the chart we use for carbs
Most feed 5% and under
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
A lot of members feed Fancy Feast Classic Pates or Friskies, but they are high in phosphorus. Weruva is a good cat food low carb, low phosphorus which is good for the kidneys a little more expensive than fancy feast and friskies

if you tap on this link and look at post #32 I listed some Weruva pates for another member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-11-8-and-i-am-tired.283363/#post-3124085

I also like the Relion human meters from Walmart
If you have one by you at least you can run in and pick up more test strips if you are running low
Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
 
Last edited:
Saturday's test results tell me that the insulin dose was too high. You don't want a cat to go under 90 when you are feeding dry food, and numbers below tell you that you need to reduce his dose immediately. 6 units 3 times a day (18 units per day) is too much insulin.

Your kitty going sky high numbers after seeing a number under 100 is what we call a bounce. It's perfectly normal and very annoying to us. Here is the description:
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

I would strongly recommend going back to two shots a day. Lantus typically lasts longer than 8 hours so you'll get some overlap in action with 3. Most importantly though, it is really hard on the caregiver to have to give and monitor 3 shots per day.

I would also strongly recommend getting rid of the high carb dry food, in a slow process. We had one member whose kitty was on 6 units twice a day, and she thought he wasn't getting to the dry food high up she was feeding other kitties. Turns out the old man was more mobile than she thought. She removed all dry food from the house, and 2.5 very scary days later, he was off of insulin. With a lot of near hypos along the way and very little sleep.

A lot of people in the US use the Relion meters from Walmart. They have the cheapest test strips and the test strips are what you go through the most. Human meters are perfectly fine to use. They and the pet meters are fairly close in numbers when you get to normal number range, but differ by more when when the numbers get higher. Our dosing methods were developed using human meters. Almost all of us use human meters due to the cost of the pet meters. Back in the day when I started, no one used pet meters, even the vets used human meters. Since then the companies have started heavily marketing to the vets.


I knew there was still so much I didn't know. The bouncing makes sense. I think he's been bouncing a lot, unfortunately, and it's had me believing that the insulin works at first, but then stops working, making me believe he is insulin resistant. Do you think I should stick with the 6 units but change to twice a day? You're right, the three times a day has been tough on me. I'm leaving work for almost an hour every day to get him to eat mid-day and get another shot. Two times a day would be ideal for me but I am desperate to try anything at this point. I think the vet isn't as knowledgeable as I wish he was. He is trying to help but you're right, its too much insulin.

Many people have said to lay off the dry food so I think that is our next step. I understand it will have to be slowly so that we don't cause him to go hypo. It would be a dream come true to be like the story you said, remove dry food and have it magically get better.

Any tips on his poor ears? They are so bruised from testing so much the last few days. I've read you can do it on the paw but I worry about him having a small wound and digging around in the litter box.
 
Any tips on his poor ears? They are so bruised from testing so much the last few days. I've read you can do it on the paw but I worry about him having a small wound and digging around in the litter box.
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 10 or 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand not the lancing device
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with
Here is a video one of our members made testing her kitty
She's using a pet meter that has to be coded ,with a human meter you don't have to code it.
So ignore that
I have always used a human meter
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar


If his ears look beat up poor baby a lot of members put pure coconut oil on them
I have read that many members use pure coconut oil, I have copied this from one of the members posts
just make sure the only ingredient is coconut oil (mine is solid at room temp and I would take an itty bitty dab and rub on his ears)
It seemed to help with the healing
You might be able to get it at a health food store or just Google pure coconut oil
 
At this time, he starts developing neuropathy. He is walking more flat-footed and is unable to jump on the couch or the bed.
Tyler had neuropathy
This is what I used and also a lot of other member

https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6
14.49 for 100 capsules
Just open it and put it in the wet food with some water, it's tasteless
As soon as we get his numbers regulated the neuropathy should be gone
You can start it now if you want to
I would say after 2 months Tyler was back to jumping on the couch. bed and running around again.
Every couple of weeks I saw an improvement
 
unfortunately, vets have to be versed in so, so many different things across many different animals that for any vet to be an actual expert on Feline Diabetes is almost unheard of. Most people come here a bit shocked at how much more information the people here have, that their vet doesn't. But the truth is most vets get very little book learning on FD, maybe a chapter in a book, or not even a whole chapter. And that information that was published years ago is outdated now to boot!

There is no single place in the entire world for you to get Charlie help that is superior to the FDMB. Without question you have come to the right place.

I can already tell that you are going to dive right in and soak up everything you can, and do whatever you can to help your boy. That's what I did, and let's face it how could I live with myself if I didn't???

Thanks for the pics Charlie and Annie are adorable. Yeah, we have 7 cats so changing to a low-carb, canned/raw diet was a huuuuuuuuuuuge challenge because we had to do it for all of them. We used to free-feed big bowls of kibble, auto-feeders, etc. They just grazed away. And getting them off that stuff was TOUGH!

But today I am proud to say there is not a single biscuit of dry kibble in this house.






Dammit...where's that tissue box. Got me all weepy over here talking about how much I love my boy and will do almost anything for him. :oops: :oops: :rolleyes: :smuggrin: :bighug:
 
Tyler had neuropathy
This is what I used and also a lot of other member

https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6
14.49 for 100 capsules
Just open it and put it in the wet food with some water, it's tasteless
As soon as we get his numbers regulated the neuropathy should be gone
You can start it now if you want to
I would say after 2 months Tyler was back to jumping on the couch. bed and running around again.
Every couple of weeks I saw an improvement


So I read about giving him vitamin B when I started noticing the neuropathy. So I bought this off of Chewy.... https://www.chewy.com/rx-vitamins-rx-b12-liquid-digestive/dp/192789
However, its cyanocobalamin rather than methylcobalamin... do you know if that matters? Its been three weeks using this stuff and I want to say he's been walking better but it may be wishful thinking.
 
unfortunately, vets have to be versed in so, so many different things across many different animals that for any vet to be an actual expert on Feline Diabetes is almost unheard of. Most people come here a bit shocked at how much more information the people here have, that their vet doesn't. But the truth is most vets get very little book learning on FD, maybe a chapter in a book, or not even a whole chapter. And that information that was published years ago is outdated now to boot!

There is no single place in the entire world for you to get Charlie help that is superior to the FDMB. Without question you have come to the right place.

I can already tell that you are going to dive right in and soak up everything you can, and do whatever you can to help your boy. That's what I did, and let's face it how could I live with myself if I didn't???

Thanks for the pics Charlie and Annie are adorable. Yeah, we have 7 cats so changing to a low-carb, canned/raw diet was a huuuuuuuuuuuge challenge because we had to do it for all of them. We used to free-feed big bowls of kibble, auto-feeders, etc. They just grazed away. And getting them off that stuff was TOUGH!

But today I am proud to say there is not a single biscuit of dry kibble in this house.






Dammit...where's that tissue box. Got me all weepy over here talking about how much I love my boy and will do almost anything for him. :oops: :oops: :rolleyes: :smuggrin: :bighug:


I am so glad to hear you say this about the vet. I've been thinking it's my fault I haven't found a vet who knows more about FD. But I like the guy and he cares about Charlie and I know he's trying. You're right, there is a crazy amount of information here and I am so glad I found this forum.

Last weekend, when we thought we were going to lose Charlie. It was one of the hardest times of my life. These critters become such a huge part of our lives. I cried an insane amount but after posting here, I'm feeling hopeful about the future. It makes me hopeful to hear from people who have successfully managed FD. Thanks for all your kind words today!
 
. Due to me using a home meter, I'm sure it was much higher than that, but how much higher I don't know.
I have been using huan meter for over 20 years. They read a little lower than pet meters but really not enough difference to change dosing. I have had sever high-dose (acromegaly) cts. One was up to 50 units twice daily.
 
So I read about giving him vitamin B when I started noticing the neuropathy. So I bought this off of Chewy.... https://www.chewy.com/rx-vitamins-rx-b12-liquid-digestive/dp/192789
However, its cyanocobalamin rather than methylcobalamin... do you know if that matters? Its been three weeks using this stuff and I want to say he's been walking better but it may be wishful thinking.


It has to be methylcobalamin to help treat the neuropathy. Zobaline is a popular brand for diabetic cats, https://ilifelink.com/product/zobaline-for-diabetic-cats-3-mg-x-60-tablets/ I'm pretty sure you can buy it from other web sites like Amazon.

Cyanocobalamin is for low B12 levels (vet diagnoses via a blood test). I give the injectable version to my cat because he also has IBD and low B12 levels from that.

ADW is a popular place to buy insulin syringes and other supplies from, https://www.adwdiabetes.com/ No prescription needed. You can check to see if they have your meter test strips there. Or just compare prices to what's on Amazon.

Are you pricking the furry, outside of the ear or the inside of the ear? Are you using a lancet device or freehanding the lancet? Try a higher setting on the device if you're using that and press the device firmly against the ear. Holding the rice sock on the underside of the ear helps provide a firm-ish surface to press against.
 
Do you think I should stick with the 6 units but change to twice a day? You're right, the three times a day has been tough on me. I'm leaving work for almost an hour every day to get him to eat mid-day and get another shot. Two times a day would be ideal for me but I am desperate to try anything at this point. I think the vet isn't as knowledgeable as I wish he was. He is trying to help but you're right, its too much insulin.
@Wendy&Neko
 
@katyv223
The Zobaline is expensive for 60 pills, 30.00 some other places want 33.00
I used to use the Zobaline when I joined, then a member told me about the Vitacost brand . The only difference between the 2 is that the Zobaline has 200 MCG of folic acid. If you want you can buy any brand of folic acid , if you can only find 400 MCG then cut them in half and crush them up .

A lot of members used the vitacost brand and didn't bother to add the folic acid and it still worked. I didn't bother adding the folic acid
Great job setting up your signature and SS

I see on your spreadsheet where it asks about TR or SLGS you have a ? Mark
Dosing Method (SLGS or TR): ???

That would mean what dosing method you want to follow . since you are feeding dry food for now you need to follow the SLGS method
This link will explain what they mean



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/




You can add SLGS to your signature and at the top of your spreadsheet.
By the way Charlie Bean and Annie are adorable :cat:

You can read all the yellow stickys about lantus here
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
 
Last edited:
What is the ideal % of carbs in wet food?
We consider low carb to be 10% and under. Though people here may average 4-6%, what % low carb works best or your cat can vary. Some need a bit higher low carb food.
Do you think I should stick with the 6 units but change to twice a day?
You were giving 10 units a day (5 units twice a day), then switched to 18 units a day (3 times 6 units). We know 18 units a day is too much given his current diet, and you are planning on switching to lower carb food.

Before I suggest going to 12 units a day (2 times 6 units), I need to know if the vet said anything about ketones or diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) any of the times he was sick in the hospital and lethargic/no eating. Are you home testing for ketones? If a cat has ketones, it can lead to DKA. The way to fight DKA is also plenty of calories, fluids, a good dose of insulin, and fighting any systemic inflammation or infection if he has it. You can test for ketones either with a blood meter (expensive strips) or test his urine. Tips to catch and test a urine sample
 
Hi that's strange when I ordered syringes from ADW my vet had to send over a script, Even on ADW's site for syringes it says

We may require the order of a physician for this item.

Odd. Maybe the prescription requirement is for non-US people? I've always ordered insulin syringes from ADW in the past for Squishy and just ordered and received a box 2 weeks ago for Leroy. I have never been asked for a prescription.
 
Odd. Maybe the prescription requirement is for non-US people? I've always ordered insulin syringes from ADW in the past for Squishy and just ordered and received a box 2 weeks ago for Leroy. I have never been asked for a prescription.

is it possible you put your vets info into ADW at some point in the past? (account settings -- Doctor's information). I know when I bought syringes from them I had to plug in that info so they could contact my vet. I am in NY.
 
It has to be methylcobalamin to help treat the neuropathy. Zobaline is a popular brand for diabetic cats, https://ilifelink.com/product/zobaline-for-diabetic-cats-3-mg-x-60-tablets/ I'm pretty sure you can buy it from other web sites like Amazon.

Cyanocobalamin is for low B12 levels (vet diagnoses via a blood test). I give the injectable version to my cat because he also has IBD and low B12 levels from that.

ADW is a popular place to buy insulin syringes and other supplies from, https://www.adwdiabetes.com/ No prescription needed. You can check to see if they have your meter test strips there. Or just compare prices to what's on Amazon.

Are you pricking the furry, outside of the ear or the inside of the ear? Are you using a lancet device or freehanding the lancet? Try a higher setting on the device if you're using that and press the device firmly against the ear. Holding the rice sock on the underside of the ear helps provide a firm-ish surface to press against.


Good to know. I have some of the methylcobalamin ordered and on the way now! I'll start using that as soon as it gets here.

As for his ears, yesterday someone posted a picture that showed "the sweet spot". I think I have been poking him too low and aiming for that bigger vein. I tried going a little higher and using the rice sock. Both last night and this morning I got him on the first prick!
 
@katyv223
The Zobaline is expensive for 60 pills, 30.00 some other places want 33.00
I used to use the Zobaline when I joined, then a member told me about the Vitacost brand . The only difference between the 2 is that the Zobaline has 200 MCG of folic acid. If you want you can buy any brand of folic acid , if you can only find 400 MCG then cut them in half and crush them up .

A lot of members used the vitacost brand and didn't bother to add the folic acid and it still worked. I didn't bother adding the folic acid
Great job setting up your signature and SS

I see on your spreadsheet where it asks about TR or SLGS you have a ? Mark
Dosing Method (SLGS or TR): ???

That would mean what dosing method you want to follow . since you are feeding dry food for now you need to follow the SLGS method
This link will explain what they mean



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/




You can add SLGS to your signature and at the top of your spreadsheet.
By the way Charlie Bean and Annie are adorable :cat:

You can read all the yellow stickys about lantus here
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/


I placed an order for the Vitacost brand. Great price and it worked for you and many others so I feel good about that.

I am going to try working more on the spreadsheet today. I only have a computer at work... and should be actually working while I'm here. ;) So I'll work on that when we aren't busy here.

I did put a ?? because I was a little confused about that. I read the page that describes the difference and was still a little confused since we've already started treatment and have been since August. I'll read it over again and add SLGS to my signature and spreadsheet. I have so much reading and learning to do!
 
We consider low carb to be 10% and under. Though people here may average 4-6%, what % low carb works best or your cat can vary. Some need a bit higher low carb food.

You were giving 10 units a day (5 units twice a day), then switched to 18 units a day (3 times 6 units). We know 18 units a day is too much given his current diet, and you are planning on switching to lower carb food.

Before I suggest going to 12 units a day (2 times 6 units), I need to know if the vet said anything about ketones or diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) any of the times he was sick in the hospital and lethargic/no eating. Are you home testing for ketones? If a cat has ketones, it can lead to DKA. The way to fight DKA is also plenty of calories, fluids, a good dose of insulin, and fighting any systemic inflammation or infection if he has it. You can test for ketones either with a blood meter (expensive strips) or test his urine. Tips to catch and test a urine sample


When he spent the day at the vet on 1/26/24, the vet said he believed it was acute ketoacidosis. They kept him that day on an IV, and we gave him an urgent care high-calorie wet food by syringe cause he wasn't eating by himself then, and that's when we bumped to the 18 units (3 times 6 units). But at the end of the day when we left and Charlie hadn't improved... he didn't say much about it. Just if he gets worse take him to the emergency. I have a copy of the full blood panel they got that day. I'll run home during my lunch and upload a picture of it for you.

I am not testing for ketones. The meter I am using says ketone on it when it displays the results and I am not sure what that means. Again, I'm using an Auvon meter from Amazon. This test was this morning at +12, before his morning shot. I attached a picture.
 

Attachments

  • charlietest.jpg
    charlietest.jpg
    26 KB · Views: 113
is it possible you put your vets info into ADW at some point in the past? (account settings -- Doctor's information). I know when I bought syringes from them I had to plug in that info so they could contact my vet. I am in NY.

Nope. I never gave ADW any doctor's information. Strange that they check for a prescription for some customers but not others.

Leroy has huge Aby ears so it's easy to see the vein:) I know I posted a picture of his ears here on FDMB shortly after I got him and commented that he had the perfect ears for testing :D You don't need to hit the vein directly, just the space between the vein and edge if the ear. Warming the ear really well helps too.
 
if you're referring to the difference between SLGS and TR, the main difference is TR is much more aggressive and more home testing is required. It is also much more likely to result in a well-regulated cat or even remission.

that is interesting that the meter has the word ketone on it. I am trying to read up on that meter to understand why. If a meter can do both glucose AND ketones, you have to use different strips for each.
 
I am not testing for ketones. The meter I am using says ketone on it when it displays the results and I am not sure what that means. Again, I'm using an Auvon meter from Amazon. This test was this morning at +12, before his morning shot. I attached a picture.

Ok I figured it out. The AUVON, just like many blood glucose meters, will display the word KETONE or KETONES if the BG number is 300 or above. This is just to sort of alert you to the fact that with high BGs, ketones can develop. Not that they are detected.

You can get keto-stix at Amazon to dip in a urine clump or catch some cat urine in a ladle to test. Or some put plastic wrap under the litter to catch a puddle.
 
Last edited:
Syringes: In the US, each state regulates whether you need a prescription for syringes. Some states require a prescription.

Ketones: you need different strips to test for either ketones or blood glucose. There are different reagents that the blood reacts with in order to give you a ketone vs blood glucose reading.

As I was scrolling though your thread, I didn't notice if anyone had given you a link to some of the basic information you'll need -- in particular, our spreadsheet template. The link I provided will have information on setting up your spreadsheet. We use a particular format. If you click on the link in any of our signatures, you'll see our spreadsheet.

Please keep asking questions. We're here to help.
 
I believe that in the US it's a state by state decision as to whether you need a prescription for syringes. The table in this website summarizes it by state.
he vet said he believed it was acute ketoacidosis.
OK, that makes me concerned about reducing the dose too much. How much can you monitor him Charlie the next few days? A cat recently out of DKA needs more monitoring until you can get him to a good insulin dose that stops the ketones. The recipe for DKA is not enough insulin + inappetance (not enough food) + infection or systemic stresses.

I'm debating between smaller dose three times a day and a larger dose but twice a day. However, it will be very important for you to be monitoring him for ketones. This post has some information on ketones and testing for them. There are also blood ketones meters if that is easier than capturing the pee. Ketones, Ketoacidosis, and Diabetic Cats: A Primer on Ketones
 
OK, that makes me concerned about reducing the dose too much. How much can you monitor him Charlie the next few days? A cat recently out of DKA needs more monitoring until you can get him to a good insulin dose that stops the ketones. The recipe for DKA is not enough insulin + inappetance (not enough food) + infection or systemic stresses.

I'm debating between smaller dose three times a day and a larger dose but twice a day. However, it will be very important for you to be monitoring him for ketones. This post has some information on ketones and testing for them. There are also blood ketones meters if that is easier than capturing the pee. Ketones, Ketoacidosis, and Diabetic Cats: A Primer on Ketones

I've attached blood work from the initial diagnosis on 8/17/23 and then from 1/26/24 when he spent the day there. He did say he thought it was acute ketoacidosis, but it doesn't look like ketones were ever checked. So I am not super confident in that. It looks like there are test strips in stock at Walmart, so on my way home I can grab some. Would it be normal for him to bounce back so quickly if it really was ketoacidosis? The vet said that it was ketoacidosis on Friday, but by Sunday, Charlie was eating on his own and acting better. Today I'd say he's acting like normal. Eats just fine and has energy.

I work a full-time job. I missed work on the 26th when he was really sick. I missed almost four days a week before that due to being sick myself. I wish I could be there more for Charlie but I've already missed a bit of work. So I am really only able to monitor him in the morning, during my lunch break, then after work. I know you guys really need to see the spreadsheet. I'm hoping for a slow afternoon here so I can work on that.

He was at 362 @ +12, before his morning dose. I tried to test during my lunch break but he kept fighting and smearing it, so I gave up. I'll try again when I have my husband's help tonight. I gave him another 6 units @ +6. I'm going to keep doing the 6 units three times a day unless someone here advises me otherwise.
 

Attachments

  • 8.17.23.jpg
    8.17.23.jpg
    51.3 KB · Views: 170
  • 1.26.24-1.jpg
    1.26.24-1.jpg
    38 KB · Views: 118
  • 1.26.24-2.jpg
    1.26.24-2.jpg
    42.6 KB · Views: 132
6 units three times a day is too much. I would go to either 5 units, or 5.5 units if you want to stick to 3 times a day dosing. And those doses should be 8 hours apart, not 6.
 
6 units three times a day is too much. I would go to either 5 units, or 5.5 units if you want to stick to 3 times a day dosing. And those doses should be 8 hours apart, not 6.

Every 8 hours makes more sense if we keep going three times a day. But that is where it gets tough on my schedule. I don't really want to keep doing it three times a day... I'm just following what the vet said for now. I am starting to work on the spreadsheet and don't really understand how to use it if I'm doing shots three times a day.
 
Odd. Maybe the prescription requirement is for non-US people? I've always ordered insulin syringes from ADW in the past for Squishy and just ordered and received a box 2 weeks ago for Leroy. I have never been asked for a prescription.
That is weird I'm from the US and they needed my vet to send over a script.. Maybe because I live in New Jersey
Thank God I don't need them anymore , Tyler has been in remission 3 years now ( knock on wood) :cat:
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top