New Here - 1/26 Pumpkin AMPS 298 +2 251 +4 174 +6 223 +8

Status
Not open for further replies.

pumpkins mom

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone. I would like to introduce myself to the forum. My name is Ann and my cat Pumpkin is 11 yrs old and recently became diabetic. We tried Humalin N and switched him over to Lantus 1/13 and finally did a curve yesterday. I listed some of the numbers in the subject line but they did not all fit. Pumpkin's spreadsheet shows the entire curve. I would appreciate any comments or suggestions you can give me on getting Pumpkin regulated. Thank you so much.
 
Re: New Here - 1/26 Pumpkin AMPS 298 +2 251 +4 174 +6 223 +

Welcome to Lantus Land!! Great job on getting a curve! Spreadsheet looks good. Sometimes I like to give little snapshots of the previous cycle in my posts. You can do that by clicking on the "small" font size and posting your numbers in between the bracketed text. That way you can get all your numbers in. It will come out something like this:

AMPS 298
+2 251
+4 174
+6 223
etc etc etc


I'm not seasoned enough to give dosing advice. However, it appears you've been at 1.5u for 16 cycles now. According to protocol, you should be ready for an increase. Let's see what the senior members have to say....
 
Re: New Here - 1/26 Pumpkin AMPS 298 +2 251 +4 174 +6 223 +

Hello Ann and baby Pumpkin, Welcome onboard ..hope you get the best help in regulating Pumpkin in this forum. and have a good day :YMHUG:
 
Re: New Here - 1/26 Pumpkin AMPS 298 +2 251 +4 174 +6 223 +

Welcome to Lantus Land!

I's like to encourage you to read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the board. There is a huge amount of information in those posts so please, feel free to ask questions. Lantus is very different than Humulin N so it's important that you learn to approach dosing based on the nadir, not the pre-shot numbers.

I can't tell from your spreadsheet if you're home during the week. With Lantus, it's helpful if you can get at least one test per cycle in addition to your pre-shot tests. I suspect that Pumpkin needs more insulin but I wouldn't feel comfortable making that recommendation without a few more days where you have some additional spot checks.
 
Re: New Here - 1/26 Pumpkin AMPS 298 +2 251 +4 174 +6 223 +

Hi Ann :smile: So happy you've joined. Pumpkin sure is a cutie and has such a devoted, loving Mom.
 
Re: New Here - 1/26 Pumpkin AMPS 298 +2 251 +4 174 +6 223 +

Hi Ann & Pumpkin and welcome,

Good job with getting your spreadsheet up and running. It looks already like Pumpkin's numbers are improving on Lantus. Read as much as you can in the introductory "stickies", starting with the "New to the Group" sticky. Lots of helpful information there. And please ask as many questions as you need. We are all here to help and support.

Welcome again!

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top