New … Hello

Status
Not open for further replies.

CMKM

Member Since 2021
First time poster. First time diabetic cat. Muggles, our almost 15-year old tabby, was diagnosed diabetes 10 days ago after months of increased urination which worsened further over the last month. I don’t blame the vet for not seeing it. We didn’t bring up the urination during her January annual checkup, and her blood work was normal.

She’s asthmatic. Until her diagnosis, she was receiving steroid injections every three to four weeks to control it. That’s stopped now, but we need to find a new way to treat it.

We started her on the Lantus pen, very low dose, on Thursday. After a few days of naively believing she was getting her insulin, I finally got some into her this morning (Note to self: Reset the pen dosage after priming).

This is a new experience for us, but Mugs is worth it. She’s the best cat.
 
Hi there,

Welcome to FDMB! I see you've also posted on the Lantus forum: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-28-muggles-amps-n-a.245362/ . New members should start here so we can get you situated.

In the meantime though, I'm a bit concerned that your cat might be getting too much insulin to start. How much does Muggles weigh? Do you have a blood glucose meter to test her levels before giving shots? What kind of food are you feeding her? Do you have honey or Karo syrup on hand?

Please keep a watchful eye on Muggles for any symptoms of hypoglycemia:
  • staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
  • ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
  • disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
  • twitching
  • stupor
  • convulsions or seizures
  • coma
Here is a sticky on how to handle her if she is showing any of the above: How to Treat Hypos

Tagging @Critter Mom, @tiffmaxee , @JanetNJ , @Chris & China (GA) for help.
 
We do not recommend using the pen for injections. The pens dispense 1.0u of Lantus. When it comes time for a dose adjustment, you have no way to fine tune a dose and we recommend dose adjustments be made in 0.25u increments. You will want to ask your vet for a prescription for syringes (U-100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings). You can get Relion syringes at Walmart or ADW sells them on-line.

In order to get you started, please look at this post on helping us to help you. There are instructions on how to set-up your signature so we don't plague you with the same questions repeatedly as well as how to set up a spreadsheet. The latter is a way for you to track Muggles progress and will allow us to follow along and offer feedback.

It might be helpful for you to read the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus board to broaden your understanding of how Lantus works. Once you've gotten the basics of home testing, diet, spreadsheet, etc. mastered you may want to post on the Lantus board.
 
I have read both threads, and have a couple of questions. You said "once daily, 2 click dose." Lantus doesn't work on a once daily basis for most cats. It is designed to be a once daily insulin for humans, but cats have a higher metabolism and most don't do well with once daily dosing.

Second, I am not familiar with the Lantus pens, but I have to assume that a "2 click dose" means two units. Which is not a "very low dose." Can you clarify?

Third, are you testing her at home?
 
The vet hasn’t recommended glucose testing. How they explained it, they’re starting us on a very low dose to see how she reacts. The telling will be in the effects: decreased urination, gaining weight — she’s at 9.5 now, down from 10 — fewer refills of the water bowl which she’s been draining. The symptoms of diabetes should improve. We’ll return every few weeks to test and tweak the dose until she’s within a good range. They said they aren’t too concerned about an overdose yet given the low dose and her high starting glucose (469) when she was diagnosed.

We have corn syrup and honey ready if she shows obvious signs of hypoglycemia. We really aren’t sure how she’ll react to this medication. What’s “restless”? Do we normally expect increased activity up to a point after which it should be a concern? Should there be no noticeable reaction? Does it depend on the cat? No idea.

She’s stopped meowing down the hall and is now napping with occasional breaks from this strenuous activity for food and water. This is closer to her usual activity level. I’m wondering, if her body wasn’t effectively converting her glucose to energy prior to the insulin, could insulin result in greater activity directly after administration?

We will need to consider her food at some point. I didn’t realize until today that moist was preferable. Unlike any other cat I’ve ever had, she prefers dry over moist. She’s also selective about her dry but becoming less so in her senior years. She’s the most selective cat I’ve ever known. I’m sure there must be a food out there she likes.
 
Again, if "2 clicks" means 2 units, that is not a low starting dose. And I'm sure the vet didn't recommend home testing. A lot don't. Either because they don't understand the effects of insulin on a cat's body or they think the owners won't want to do it. But it is the only way to make sure that is safe to give insulin.
 
I agree with Rhonda. Most cats on this board start off with 1 unit and we work our way up in .25 unit increments. This is to keep the cat safe.

A lot of your questions about how your cat is behaving could be answered if you did testing. My vet also did not recommend testing, only to use Ketodiastix to check her urine for glucose and ketones. It was only after joining this forum that I realized how vital it is that I check my cat's glucose levels, especially before shots.

Another thing that is central to the ethos of this board is moving your cat from dry food to wet food. Most dry food is very high in carbohydrates and it will work against the insulin. If you are considering a diet change however, only do it once you begin testing, as your cat's glucose levels might drop dramatically. Here is a site for you to read all about the importance of a wet food diet for cats: https://catinfo.org/

Please read the contents of the helping us to help you link Sienne posted for you above.
 
I have read both threads, and have a couple of questions. You said "once daily, 2 click dose." Lantus doesn't work on a once daily basis for most cats. It is designed to be a once daily insulin for humans, but cats have a higher metabolism and most don't do well with once daily dosing.

Second, I am not familiar with the Lantus pens, but I have to assume that a "2 click dose" means two units. Which is not a "very low dose." Can you clarify?

Third, are you testing her at home?
No, we haven’t bee
Just wanted to add this isn't a hard rule - mods can help with a starting dose as current dose and BG reading are considered. Additionally, for lantus dosing methods, TR uses a formula with kitty's weight (my cat would start at 1.5u if started today) and SLGS has different starting doses depending on if kitty was on wet food pre diagnosis.
Appreciate that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top