AbyResq
Member Since 2016
Hi - Just introducing ourselves. I've been reading some of the articles and browsing past posts. I have human family members with T1 and T2 diabetes so the concepts and mechanics are not unfamiliar to me. However, the stress of being responsible for making decisions for a cat with diabetes is new to me.
I run a small abyssinian rescue and I've just taken in an aby with diabetes. He was diagnosed after being surrendered and clearly had diabetes for a while. He's lost a a significant amount of muscle mass from his spine. Ravenous, polydipsia and polyuria. His owner surrendered him with a note saying he'd been peeing too much so she was restricting his water intake - horrific!
His blood sugar on his labs was 426. Sugar in the urine too. Negative for thyroid.
He was initially surrendered and sheltered at a vet practice where they started him on 1 unit of Vetsulin BID. They put him on Hill's D/M. Before I left with him his dose had been increased to 2 units of Vetsulin BID.
He was a long distance transport into my group. I continued Vetsulin for a few days until I could get him into my vet for better advice (didn't like the first vet at all). His AMPS on 2 units of vetsulin read "Hi" on my human glucometer.
I switched him to the classic varieties of Fancy Feast Sunday night, luckily this is what I already feed to the rest of my cats. He loves it so that was super easy. I suspect he's so hungry he'd eat almost anything right now.
We went to my vet last night. We switched him to Prozinc. Starting dose of 1 unit BID. My vet said to give it at least 3 cycles before raising it to 2 units. Last night was his first shot of Prozinc. His AMPS this morning was 407.
His teeth are horrible! Multiple FORLS and broken teeth. I know this is complicating my ability to control his blood sugar. He received a shot of convenia last night to help combat some of the infection that is inevitably there. My vet wants to see if we can bring his numbers down a bit before putting him under for the dental. This feels like a chicken and egg dilemma to me.
Through foster cats and my own crew I have experience with many feline diseases. I was hoping I could skip this one but here I am ready to learn. That's my long winded intro!
Kristen and the foster who has yet to be renamed.
I run a small abyssinian rescue and I've just taken in an aby with diabetes. He was diagnosed after being surrendered and clearly had diabetes for a while. He's lost a a significant amount of muscle mass from his spine. Ravenous, polydipsia and polyuria. His owner surrendered him with a note saying he'd been peeing too much so she was restricting his water intake - horrific!
His blood sugar on his labs was 426. Sugar in the urine too. Negative for thyroid.
He was initially surrendered and sheltered at a vet practice where they started him on 1 unit of Vetsulin BID. They put him on Hill's D/M. Before I left with him his dose had been increased to 2 units of Vetsulin BID.
He was a long distance transport into my group. I continued Vetsulin for a few days until I could get him into my vet for better advice (didn't like the first vet at all). His AMPS on 2 units of vetsulin read "Hi" on my human glucometer.
I switched him to the classic varieties of Fancy Feast Sunday night, luckily this is what I already feed to the rest of my cats. He loves it so that was super easy. I suspect he's so hungry he'd eat almost anything right now.
We went to my vet last night. We switched him to Prozinc. Starting dose of 1 unit BID. My vet said to give it at least 3 cycles before raising it to 2 units. Last night was his first shot of Prozinc. His AMPS this morning was 407.
His teeth are horrible! Multiple FORLS and broken teeth. I know this is complicating my ability to control his blood sugar. He received a shot of convenia last night to help combat some of the infection that is inevitably there. My vet wants to see if we can bring his numbers down a bit before putting him under for the dental. This feels like a chicken and egg dilemma to me.
Through foster cats and my own crew I have experience with many feline diseases. I was hoping I could skip this one but here I am ready to learn. That's my long winded intro!
Kristen and the foster who has yet to be renamed.