New forum, new rules?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Since this is neither TR nor Relaxed, what is the planned format for posting condos? TR and Relaxed had different rules for posting condos so what's the rule for this forum?

Maybe this was already covered in an earlier post, but I'm still learning how to navigate through everything and haven't figured out how to search yet.
 
FWIW, the "search" function on this board is easier to work with than on the old board, IMO. Just type what you are looking for, and then a couple of checkboxes to narrow down or expand the breadth of your search.
 
See the Start Low, Go Slow protocol for Lantus/Levemir.

Posts were often updated on a single thread, so you always went to the bottom to see what was new.
 
I don't know that there are "rules." I do think it's easier to spot potential problems if the convention of
date Cat's name AMPS - #, +time - #, etc.
is followed for posting things other than general questions such as this thread. There are several of us to routinely scan the board to see if anyone needs help. Having the subject line shorthand saves us from having to open and read every condo that's been posted. Since this is now an even larger group, any time saving feature would be appreciated.

BJ - I think the question was referring to conventions for posting on the old Relaxed group not what dosing strategy people were following.

ETA: I don't know if Jill intends to change the New to the Group sticky. At least for the moment, the conventions for posting are delineated in that note and recommend the subject line that I included above.
 
Last edited:
Like Sienne, I scan the board front page to see if anyone needs help or has questions. Obviously, I don't have a diabetic cat anymore but I'm interested in helping people who are still in the Sugar Dance when I can. The subject line is really important to me.

Sometimes looking at the + tests tells us that someone needs help and if they are new, they might not even realize it. For example, if someone posts +tests that show their cat just dropped 100 points in an hour, they might not know that they should feed to slow down the drop, but anyone experienced would know it and suggest it. Or if a new member posts a preshot of 250 and a +2 of 150 - again, anyone experienced would know they need to feed their cat and monitor closely.

I really appreciate having a new post per day because it does 3 things - it keeps everyone on the front page so no one gets missed, it keeps a cat's info consolidated and not scattered in multiple posts for each question per day, and it keeps post shorter so I don't have to wade through days-old posts trying to find the new information.

I also really like it when people who have a question indicate it somehow in their subject line - either with a "?" or the topic "pancreatitis?" or whatever the issue is. That gets the folks who know about the topic to come and post.

My 2 cents worth . . . :D
 
Posts were often updated on a single thread, so you always went to the bottom to see what was new.

This was one thing I really liked and I also liked the fact that it was optional (some people posted a new condo every day if they felt like it while others posted a new condo once a week or once a month). When everyone is creating a new post per day, especially because there are so many more people now on this board, it makes it that much harder to see who really needs help amidst all the new condos popping up. From an advice-giving perspective, it's also a pain because then you have to open a week's worth of new windows to figure out what happened 7 days prior that the poster is vaguely referencing in that day's post. It's especially headache-inducing if you're on a mobile device and can only view one day's condo at a time. The new board software is to make it easier for our mobile devices so it makes sense we should also do that with the forums. :)
 
Sienna you are correct as to what I was asking. I guess maybe we like what we are used to doing. I like the condo a day and used to get frustrated when I would see posts that went on and on when trying to help on the health forum.
 
I like a topic a thread so I don't have to look in a million places for information. But, I also don't like threads that get to be longer than 2-3 pages. With the new board, it allows 100 comments per page so that won't be such a problem any more. Maybe we could be democratic and do a poll? Does this board allow polling?
 
if you go to your preferences and click watch all threads you have posted to or if you just click watch thread on something you want to follow, then the alert feature will bring you to the latest post on that condo which i find very time saving.
it would be good if at some point we can get the 911 icon back for emergencies with so many people posting. don't know if that is possible or not.
 
The new condo each day was much easier for us to follow, and still would be. We are not frequent mobile device users. I also learned the convention for posting from the new to the group sticky from Jill.

Anne
 
Well, I think everyone is saying that they like only one condo a day, w/ tests updated in the subject. I think long posts only happen w/ new members who aren't used to the daily convention or there is an urgent situation where it makes sense to keep everything together.

It doesn't mean you have to post if you don't have anything to say, but you also can't tell people not to post unless there is something urgent going on, just to keep the list shorter.

I agree, it would be great if we could get the subject icons back. It was a great help to seeing if someone had a problem. I'd also like to see the location and "member since" info back. I doubt if we could get everyone to put it in their signature and it's a big help to know what time zone someone is in and how long they have been a member.
 
Last edited:
It's not about NOT posting condos. It's that in the Relaxed forum people posted NEW condos usually when there was something NEW to add, otherwise, most people just bumped up their previous condos with the current day's WCR. And if there was something not directly related to needing dosing advice, people would post threads with that topic separately (not with their cat's name and numbers).
 
Hey everybody! Good ideas.

I have to be honest... we're so darn busy setting this site up and trying to incorporate (and find) things you've asked for (and we're still looking) that rules posting suggestions (there are no rules) for this group are on the back burner. I just finished working on ONE sticky and it's taken me most of the night... and that's only the first thing on my list. Other moderators are working on other projects. Please remember, this is new to us, too.

You've all been doing a great job as is. Is it really necessary to have this conversation now? The moderators haven't even had a chance to discuss what's best for this forum let alone make any recommendations, suggestions, or decisions.

You've all been doing a wonderful job helping each other.
Please don't let an untimely conversation like this derail the progress and new friendships we've all been making...
 
I didn't mean to make an untimely post. I was just trying to figure out how condos now work since that is a daily part of life in the forums. If we really are a new group, then I would think that is something worth discussing. I guess it matters only to those of us used to the posting methods of the Relaxed forum.
 
The biggest problem I see is people being referred to as Relaxed People and TR people.
When I was but a wee lad, and went to Marine Corps boot camp, on day one the psycho driil instructor screamed at about 75 of us "There is no black, there is no white, yellow or brown in this room. You're all GREEN!"

As long as you keep referring to each other as "us" and "them", this isn't going to work.

And the cats suffer.
 
Not true, but you're entitled to your opinion, Juliet.
At one time, I was one if the louder voices against TR and strongly advocated the creation of the Relaxed forum. Three years later, after spending a year or two hanging out in TR I was able to admit to myself the "I" was the problem. Not the forum, the protocol or the people who post there. Me.

Personally, I don't believe the Relaxed forum idea was a success. I don't believe it "worked". My opinion.

But the fact is that now there is one forum for users of Lantus and Levemir to post in. Period.

It isn't Relaxed. It isn't TR. It's L & L.

The primary concern of every person who posts here should be the welfare of the CATS. Not who is in charge, or if a moderator is a regular poster on this or any forum. Honestly, the three really active members of the Mod group have a lot more to do and work on fixing than we have to post anywhere.

And the last thing any of us has time to do is play the part of peacekeeper or hall monitor in discussions like this one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top