Hello,
Snoopy was diagnosed on the evening of June 3. After a bit of reading I immediately put away his dry food. I've been experimenting with low carb canned and raw unblended food. I've been just chopping it up into pieces small enough not to turn him away. He has been very cooperative and eating whatever I put down. He's so great. I've got a neighbor coming over today to help with doing our first BG reading and insulin shot. I have Lantus cartridges. The vet has prescribed 4 units, which I think is too much, but she does encourage home monitoring. He is a big cat who is down to 16.8 pounds, but he is still a little over weight. I've asked the vet to guess at an ideal weight for him, but I'm guessing it's maybe a few pounds less than what he's at now. Maybe 12-14, which is 5.5 to 6.4 kg. According to the protocol that would put him at around 1.5 units. Does that sound good? His BG was 651 at the vet on Friday. Guess I'll just see what it is tonight and go with 1.5 unless it's still super high like that. I've got his spreadsheet ready to go.
Is anyone else feeding with Raw unblended food? I've been feeding a cornish game hen chopped up, plus chicken heart and liver. I also gave him an egg. I've got fish oil and Taurine supplements. I plan to get Vitamin E and B series. I haven't figured out the amounts for the supplements yet. I'll have to look back at the Raw recipes to figure out a good amount and recall which I need to worry about too much of and which not. Any experience with feeding mice or other whole foods would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance for any insights.
Snoopy was diagnosed on the evening of June 3. After a bit of reading I immediately put away his dry food. I've been experimenting with low carb canned and raw unblended food. I've been just chopping it up into pieces small enough not to turn him away. He has been very cooperative and eating whatever I put down. He's so great. I've got a neighbor coming over today to help with doing our first BG reading and insulin shot. I have Lantus cartridges. The vet has prescribed 4 units, which I think is too much, but she does encourage home monitoring. He is a big cat who is down to 16.8 pounds, but he is still a little over weight. I've asked the vet to guess at an ideal weight for him, but I'm guessing it's maybe a few pounds less than what he's at now. Maybe 12-14, which is 5.5 to 6.4 kg. According to the protocol that would put him at around 1.5 units. Does that sound good? His BG was 651 at the vet on Friday. Guess I'll just see what it is tonight and go with 1.5 unless it's still super high like that. I've got his spreadsheet ready to go.
Is anyone else feeding with Raw unblended food? I've been feeding a cornish game hen chopped up, plus chicken heart and liver. I also gave him an egg. I've got fish oil and Taurine supplements. I plan to get Vitamin E and B series. I haven't figured out the amounts for the supplements yet. I'll have to look back at the Raw recipes to figure out a good amount and recall which I need to worry about too much of and which not. Any experience with feeding mice or other whole foods would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance for any insights.