New DX, RAW unblended diet

Status
Not open for further replies.

SnoopKat

Member Since 2011
Hello,

Snoopy was diagnosed on the evening of June 3. After a bit of reading I immediately put away his dry food. I've been experimenting with low carb canned and raw unblended food. I've been just chopping it up into pieces small enough not to turn him away. He has been very cooperative and eating whatever I put down. He's so great. I've got a neighbor coming over today to help with doing our first BG reading and insulin shot. I have Lantus cartridges. The vet has prescribed 4 units, which I think is too much, but she does encourage home monitoring. He is a big cat who is down to 16.8 pounds, but he is still a little over weight. I've asked the vet to guess at an ideal weight for him, but I'm guessing it's maybe a few pounds less than what he's at now. Maybe 12-14, which is 5.5 to 6.4 kg. According to the protocol that would put him at around 1.5 units. Does that sound good? His BG was 651 at the vet on Friday. Guess I'll just see what it is tonight and go with 1.5 unless it's still super high like that. I've got his spreadsheet ready to go.

Is anyone else feeding with Raw unblended food? I've been feeding a cornish game hen chopped up, plus chicken heart and liver. I also gave him an egg. I've got fish oil and Taurine supplements. I plan to get Vitamin E and B series. I haven't figured out the amounts for the supplements yet. I'll have to look back at the Raw recipes to figure out a good amount and recall which I need to worry about too much of and which not. Any experience with feeding mice or other whole foods would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any insights.
 
Welcome! Glad to see you've take a proactive stance and are quickly getting into what's best for you kitty.
I'm not a lantus user but I know for our PZI we start with 1 unit, despite vets usually saying 2 or more units.
Without vet stress and the change of diet, you will probably be amazed at how much lower the BG numbers are.
The first few days of testing can be rough, more on you than the cat. Remember that warm ears bleed best.
And practice deep breathing.
 
Let's see what that first home test says today. It's possible the diet change and lack of vet stress has lowered his BG. I would say the starting dose should definitely be no more than 1u-1.5u.

With Lantus, you should gather at least three tests a day (although more data is better if you can get it). You'll need the AM Pre-Shot, the PM Pre-Shot, and a test about 6 hours into either cycle. The 6 hour test is going to tell you what his insulin needs are.

You're off to a great start!
 
SnoopKat said:
Is anyone else feeding with Raw unblended food? I've been feeding a cornish game hen chopped up, plus chicken heart and liver. I also gave him an egg. I've got fish oil and Taurine supplements. I plan to get Vitamin E and B series. I haven't figured out the amounts for the supplements yet. I'll have to look back at the Raw recipes to figure out a good amount and recall which I need to worry about too much of and which not. Any experience with feeding mice or other whole foods would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any insights.

Good for you for switching your kitty to a raw diet! Besides the great link that Sue gave you, here is another really good one - be sure to look at both pages:

http://feline-nutrition.org/nutrition/easy-raw-feeding-for-the-busy-person
 
Brief Update. Snoopy's BG was 304, I administered 1.5 U and I guess we're on our way.

Thanks all.
 
Make sure you are testing 6 hours after the shot...that's not a super high PS so I would have recommended starting at 1u. But you should be able to see pretty easily if 1.5u is too much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top