ShadowsMom
Member Since 2014
Hello FDMB’ers. I’m here on behalf of my 20 year old Shadow who was very recently given his diabetes Dx. Labwork performed on 06/04/2014 showed that he was spilling glucose into his urine and follow up BG testing at home the next day showed that he averaged around 250. Our doc ordered a fructosamine add-on to his labs and his level was at 287 (ref: 191-349). She believed him to be prediabetic at at point. Shadow also exhibited an elevated (69 ref: 12-59) ALP and fPL of 5.4 (>5.4 is consistent with pancreatitis). This lead to the possibility of Triadidtis. Tack on his stage 3 CRF (managed and stable for 3.5 years) and hyperthyroidism (stable) and we have ourselves a very complicated cat patient! Our vet suggested that we schedule some follow ups with specialists for an abdominal ultrasound and nutrition consult. We have appointments for both of these on 06/24. I shifted his diet slightly and began feeding Wellness Core Chicken, Turkey and Liver with a touch of pumpkin to help with antibiotic induced diarrhea (lost a tooth to neck lesions and because he isn’t a candidate for dental anesthesia, Clavamox was the best alternative). I break up his food into 4 smaller meals a day - usually at 9am, 2pm, 9pm and midnight and he’s syringe fed to ensure that he receives a full ration of food. He consistently threw BG 200- 250 in mornings for a week so I skipped 3 days of testing. It was last Saturday night, just after our vet office closed, that Shadow decided he wanted to fully commit to the wonderful world of diabetes.
A BG test at 9 pm that evening (previous meal was at 2pm that day) showed 465. Commenced with the freak out and hurried him off to the E-vet. Their meter read 486, so at 10:40 that evening, he received 1 unit of Lantus from their vet and we were sent home with a Lantus Rx and instructions to do spot checks every 2-4 hours over the weekend and to contact our own vet on Monday for further details. I was to continue feeding him on the usual schedule, but decided that since I was going to be awake with worry for the next several days anyway, I would give him food on the 8’s and 2’s. Their insulin protocol is to check AMPS and PMPS, and give .5 unit if BG 250-299 and 1 unit if it was >300. A reading under 250 means no insulin is given and to check levels at the next 12 hour injection interval.
Our regular vet is currently on vacation and the sub has us following the above mentioned protocol. Once she’s back I would, however, like to discuss the possibility of moving Shadow over to the Lantus TR protocol since I have both the time and ability to perform regular checks. I’m hoping that because we’ve caught his condition so early, that he’s a good candidate for remission. Granted, he may have some some other issues going on and we will be juggling things for a while, particularly if the nutritionist recommends a home made diet, but I’d welcome some suggestions on when to begin transitioning to TR. It will be after I consult my vet and provide her with the backing research, but should I wait until he’s on his new diet? If so, how long? Any help would be appreciated.
A BG test at 9 pm that evening (previous meal was at 2pm that day) showed 465. Commenced with the freak out and hurried him off to the E-vet. Their meter read 486, so at 10:40 that evening, he received 1 unit of Lantus from their vet and we were sent home with a Lantus Rx and instructions to do spot checks every 2-4 hours over the weekend and to contact our own vet on Monday for further details. I was to continue feeding him on the usual schedule, but decided that since I was going to be awake with worry for the next several days anyway, I would give him food on the 8’s and 2’s. Their insulin protocol is to check AMPS and PMPS, and give .5 unit if BG 250-299 and 1 unit if it was >300. A reading under 250 means no insulin is given and to check levels at the next 12 hour injection interval.
Our regular vet is currently on vacation and the sub has us following the above mentioned protocol. Once she’s back I would, however, like to discuss the possibility of moving Shadow over to the Lantus TR protocol since I have both the time and ability to perform regular checks. I’m hoping that because we’ve caught his condition so early, that he’s a good candidate for remission. Granted, he may have some some other issues going on and we will be juggling things for a while, particularly if the nutritionist recommends a home made diet, but I’d welcome some suggestions on when to begin transitioning to TR. It will be after I consult my vet and provide her with the backing research, but should I wait until he’s on his new diet? If so, how long? Any help would be appreciated.