New dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Breanna H

Member Since 2019
Hello again all!
I am once again in need of dosing advice. I had plans on doing a curve this weekend but his numbers I feel have been pretty wonky and wanted to get an opinion before then. I will repost on Saturday night after I do the curve. (It will be the first weekend I'll be able to do one since switching to .75u). Is my dose too low? Too high? I was away this past weekend (Thursday night to Monday morning) and I assumed he was having some higher numbers because my sister was left in charge of him and sometimes she can be a little "agressive" with him, but she's all I've got. He also did have some Dr. Elsey's clean protein hard food this weekend rather than his usual wet because he was being picky for her. However, now that I'm home, I thought we would get back more to normal but tonight he was 401! He hasn't been that high, even the night of his diagnosis! He is also back to peeing more it seems as he has been tracking caked litter everywhere and acting famished. Bugger tried to steal a chicken breast off the counter right before I fed him tonight. Any suggestions? Should I continue the .75u of my ProZinc until I'm able to do a curve? Lower/higher?
 
Last edited:
I'm actually wondering if the spikes in his sugar is from a grass that I've grown and Tigger has been chowing down on like crazy the past few days. My dad bought some grain online and I know most cat grass is fine, but this has a different texture and I'm not sure what kind it is. Maybe it could be from this?
 
Unlikely. See the comments in this post for more info.http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/is-oat-grass-okay-for-diabetic-cats.157287/

Prozinc dosing changes are based on the difference between the pre-shot test and the mid-cycle nadir. You are looking for about a 50% drop.

You don't have many of those mid-cycle tests, so no way to tell how low the current dose is taking him. So it's impossible to know if a different dose would be better for Tigger. Holding the same dose for too long can lead to insulin resistance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top