new dosing advice for this am

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol & Murphy (GA)

Member Since 2015
I have been resolved to increasing Murphy's dosage to 3 units - his preshots are usually in the low 500s
this morning, it was 309 I rechecked 306 stalled 20 mins 329
I am hesitant to give his whole 2.5 units this morning
any advice ? - I am working on his dry food diet - substituting 1/4 of his royal canin glycobalance for Young Again (it's giving him a few GI issues though)
 
Oh Carol, they sure like to throw us curves don't they! I can't advise dosing (can't figure it out myself!), but know that I know exactly how you're feeling. Good luck today!
 
Again, good luck Sharon I didn't hear from anyone so I ended up giving Murphy a fat 2 this morning - probably an underdose but I felt like 2.5 would bring him down too far - we'll see in a few hours
 
I think you did the right thing. Hope he comes down to good numbers, but if not, better too high than too low! Fingers and paws crossed. Keep us posted
 
Hi, Carol, hopefully someone more experienced with weigh in to offer dosing advise, I need it often myself. If no one responds fast enough go with your gut instincts.
 
Sorry Carol! I'm usually around til 6:30 but today I headed out early due to rain...still barely made it to work on time! Sheesh.

I think your dose was spot on. You'll be around to monitor?
 
Yes, I'll be around until his +4 test, then gone for a while in mid afternoon hopefully he's ok I have to be out of town for 3 days in 2 weeks, and the pet sitter can't test - I'm really nervous about this
 
Yes, I can imagine you being nervous about no testing while you are gone. Maybe start a new thread and title it something like "Vacation Dosing Advice" and I am sure there will be lots of good tips. I remembering reading on a thread about just that, a maybe a reduction in dose while you are gone.
 
Carol, I think it is always good to go with your gut. I am guessing that 2.5u would have been ok especially since you are able to monitor but we will see what the f2.0 gives you. Great that you rechecked his first number but probably didn't need to stall (I know seeing a lower than usual number is kind of scary). Great to see a lower AMPS for Murphy...he was so close to a yellow!
 
If someone can venture a guess as to what happened to Murphy's BG today, I'd be grateful. Did he go low during the night, and now today was a bounce? After such high hopes I had early this morning, this is one of his worse days yet.
 
It sure looks like it Carol. after that nice lower blue last night. I am sure someone more knowledgeable will weigh in soon. Hang tight, this is sugar dance....
 
Could be a bounce. I know whenever Colin would drop into yellows(which is low for Colin) I'd get all excited, and he'd go high for the next day or two. :banghead: Good luck and keep dancing...
 
I don't know, Carol. It could have been a bouncy cycle after his blue last night. Or maybe 2.5 would have kept him lower today. One thing to remember is to look at the whole picture - one number is just one number, one cycle is just one cycle. For now, you are gathering data - looking at what various doses do and seeing if we can discern any patterns.

He went into the blues; he'll do it again. I wonder about upping the dose a smidge - 3 units for those blacks and 2.5 for pinks. Yes, he will probably bounce, but even the blue last night wasn't too low. The theory is that once their body gets used to the lower ranges, they quit bouncing. But as you can see from Bubba, sometimes they don't read the rule book. One of the sayings here, that is disgusting true, is that they bounce until they stop. I think the record is 2 years with a Lantus kitty. Most don't take nearly that long.
 
I just got a baby scale and he is down to 8.3 lbs (from 11.3 lbs on the vet scale several weeks ago - I don't know how many calories I am supposed to feed him - a vet told me about 200/225 calories but I obviously need to feed him more - while he is uncontrolled - but how many more and how will that affect his insulin and blood sugars?
 
Is he hungry all the time? When Merlin dropped below his target weight, I would feed him when he wanted but I would feed him only after I tested. That way most of his tests were not food influenced. I even do that today. So say if your AMPS is at 6am, then I would feed again at 9am (3 hrs of no food). Then I would feed again at noon (again, no food for 3 hours), etc.
 
He is hungry all the time - your method sounds good - I'm confused with how much to feed him though - whenever he is hungry? I was trying to count his calories. Young Again talks about free feeding with always a good supply of food, but it has such a high calorie count (600/cup) I'm afraid Murphy would eat that and more .
 
What is Murphy's target weight? If its more than the 8.3 lbs, then give a bit more food. Just increase slowly especially since he has such a tender tummy. Colin is always hungry too, but he's holding his target weight of 13 lbs on 3cans FF/day split into 4 feedings. One AM, one PM, one before I go to bed and one during the day just before his nadir when, in my theory, his body can use it better. It seems to be working he weighed 12.9 at the vet yesterday. I try to weigh him once a week. And he's held the weight for over a month now. Before he was sick he weighed 18, at Dx 10.6. Have you heard of slippery elm bark? @William's Mom told me about it. I haven't tried it yet, Colin's doing better, but I'm going to try it on myself. All this stress has my stomach in knots!
 
His target weight is 11 lbs so he's now significantly under If only he could tolerate canned I'm going to put a thread on the health forum tomorrow
 
He is hungry all the time - your method sounds good - I'm confused with how much to feed him though - whenever he is hungry? I was trying to count his calories. Young Again talks about free feeding with always a good supply of food, but it has such a high calorie count (600/cup) I'm afraid Murphy would eat that and more .
Hi Carol, keep in mind with the YA, he won't be eating a cup of it. When I was giving it to Bubba (as a transition off dry food) the free feeding didn't work with him, he would eat the whole bowl if I left him too, so I had to measure out for him. The owner of the company told me a cat 15 lbs should eat about 1/3 a day. I believe I figured it out to be about 49 calories per 1 tbsp. of it. Hope that helps.
 
Is he hungry all the time? When Merlin dropped below his target weight, I would feed him when he wanted but I would feed him only after I tested. That way most of his tests were not food influenced. I even do that today. So say if your AMPS is at 6am, then I would feed again at 9am (3 hrs of no food). Then I would feed again at noon (again, no food for 3 hours), etc.
How much food would you give at those intervals. Bubba is always hungry too and he could gain 1-2 lbs in my opinion. Your suggestion might work well for him.
 
Usually abouat 2-3 tablespoons. He usually doesn't eat much just enough to quench his hunger pains. He rather eat every 3 hours (and sometimes every 2 hours). Usually, I feed him after I test a couple of times during the day. So he typically gets a mini-meal later in the afternoon in which I don't usually test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top