New diagnosis - So many questions, idk where to start

Status
Not open for further replies.
So - it is rising - at the PM +8 it is 139. So, guess we'll wait and test in 4 hrs (2:30am) when it's time for his insulin. Guess that's a big concern of mine - do we give the shot either way since it's his first day of insulin? but, we're not supposed to if it's under 200, right? So, test, if it's 200 or under - wait 20 min and check, again - how many times do we do that before we feed and make a decision about the shot?

Thanks, so much, for the reassurance!

Libby
 
Right. If under 200, wait 20 min (without feeding) & test again. Repeat as long as you need to or you.can't wait any longer to feed. If it takes more than a couple tries you can skip the dose (if you don't like the 2:30 shot time you can just pick a time to shoot after skipping, as long as you're 12+ hours past the last shot).
 
What nice numbers last night! And not so bad today too! (Even with the higher AMPS.)

When Poopy first dipped into the green, I panicked. Was I too close to hypo? And then when his PS shot up, I was really worried. Turns out, that's pretty normal. As it was explained to me, and makes a whole lot of sense, when a kitty is used to running high BG numbers and then hits low, their body thinks it's too low, comparatively, and the liver dumps sugars into the body to "save" the kitty from the dropping numbers (hence the higher PS following the green curve).

I know kitty hears the music and we learn the steps...but what strange steps to be learning! LOL
 
Hi Libby and Doug,
Looks like you have gotten right into the swing of things and are doing a terrific job!

I just looked at the SS and saw tonite's PMPS (485), and wanted to let you know that it shouldn't be considered surprising. His number is likely that high because of how low he went during the middle of his cycle this afternoon. It's just something that "happens", and eventually it will stop. Good call on continuing with the same 1u dose.

Don't worry about it now, but maybe tomorrow, start a new thread? Once they get to be 2 pages long, it gets difficult to follow, especially if you have a lot of reading to catch up on like I did! You can continue to keep posting on Health if that's where you are most comfortable, or you can post in the PZI forum. Many of the folks who have been helping so far post there on a regular basis, so you'll "know" most of the crowd. :smile:


One thing I saw on your SS that I would like to point out as an encouraging thing to see:
~+10 playing with pompom ball - haven't seen that in a while
. When you see "improvements" like this, where kitties start to revert back to pre-diabetes behavior.....that's a great sign that he is feeling much better.
Great job so far!
 
Thanks, again, for checking in on us. It's been a nervous few days for me; I look forward to feeling as comfortable about all of this as Doug and Hershey seem to be!

@ Teresa - Good dance analogy, too bad I'm not a great dancer even when I CAN hear the music! :lol: And, your explanation makes sense; I already shared it twice today.

@ Lisa and @Dmartini4 - Thanks for the encouragement and for the warm welcome. Everyone has been so nice here; I really can't imagine doing this without support.

@ Carl - Yes, I was thinking it was time to start a new thread. I wanted to keep his first two days together, but I see what you mean about the two pages. I was kind of disappointed with the 485, especially when he obviously was feeling kind of out of it. Wish there was more I could do at times like that. The vet kind of poo-poo'd me about wanting to start as low as 1 unit, and only wanted us to check him every 4 hrs. But, with those two green values 75 & 77, I'm really glad I didn't give in to a higher dose. And, both of those came at +6, so we would've missed them only testing every 4 hrs. Tomorrow, the testing will be farther apart since we'll be gone to church. And, we're thinking Monday/Tuesday we'll go to just testing before the shot and at the +6. And, Wednesday go to the before shot and random times. Does that sound about right?

I was thinking of posting to the PZI group, but didn't feel like I knew enough to leave the Health forum. I'm still doing a lot of reading on other threads, though, checking out SS and reading profiles. Speaking of profiles, is there a template y'all are using? If so, where can I find it?

Hershey has been such a trooper - not at all like what the vet told us to expect - much more like the cats we saw in the videos we found online. (Oh, YAY!) And, he LOVES those freeze-dried treats!

Sweet Dreams, Everybody!

Libby
 
Libby & Hershey!
What a good catch up read! Have been buzy most of this week end and Hershey is one I am kinda following so I was very glad to see all is going well and as expected right now.... No ketone problems, eating as he should, no super high high high numbers, and definately no hypos!
Gooood job to the parents of this boy! :-D
 
Thanks, Lisa, for the profile information.

And, thanks, ohbell, for keeping up with us. I started a new thread this morning "Q: Hershey AMPS got 4 diff BG - what might be the cause? " The last ~22 hours have really kept us guessing with Hershey's numbers being all over the place and have left Doug and me pretty tired physically and emotionally! Thanks for the encouragement, too! It's the support we've received here (and extra caffeine!) that's kept us going today. :smile:

Libby
 
You guys are doing awesome!
It is so hard in the begining, I know I was a mess for many months before I found this site
You are very welcome to come join our PZI group. It is a small group,
but very supportive and we can help with the dosing as we are more familiar
with the insulin PZI..
and dont worry, you can post both places too if that makes you more comfortable
 
Thanks, I was wondering about posting both places, but hated to use the resources double-posting. I had been thinking of posting to the PZI group after Hershey's numbers have been so much higher today. I know we're just getting started, and I'm probably hoping for too much, but I was just wondering if there's anything we're not doing that we should be doing...or doing that we shouldn't be doing...I was kind of getting used to seeing those yellow's and blue's (and even the occasional green!) and then today to see so many pink numbers. I know he won't level out overnight, but I want to make sure we're doing all we can, you know?

Thanks, again, EVERYBODY!! Y'all rock!!!!!

Libby
 
If you post in more than 1 place, make 1 post a link to the other post so that all responses will be in 1 spot and easy to find.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top