New diagnosis need help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, Isil. And another Welcome to Lantus Land. Since she is still new to Lantus, it was good to skip the shot. What you are seeing is the result, but remember it is better to be too high for a few days than too low for even an hour. When we skip shots the shed is drained a little and has to be built up over the next few cycles.

You shoot at 12:00, correct? If I am doing the time conversion right it should be just about 10:30pm there, so you shoot in an hour and a half? What was her number at the last test?
 
tifil&isil said:
Hello,
Thanks for the welcome.. ;-)
I will prepare my spreadsheet as soon as possible...
I still don't know what to do when I have low PMPS or AMPS's. today my preshot was 146, I couldn't dare to shot 1iu. Now her numbers are pretty high :(

when you have a preshot that is lower than usual, please post to ask for advice.
libby has also put together some general guidelines for dealing with a lower preshot number here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=39309#p416945.

hope that helps...
 
Ann & Tess said:
Hi, Isil. And another Welcome to Lantus Land. Since she is still new to Lantus, it was good to skip the shot. What you are seeing is the result, but remember it is better to be too high for a few days than too low for even an hour. When we skip shots the shed is drained a little and has to be built up over the next few cycles.

You shoot at 12:00, correct? If I am doing the time conversion right it should be just about 10:30pm there, so you shoot in an hour and a half? What was her number at the last test?

hi,
yesterday evening I took her to the vet and lantus wasn^t with us (my appointment was at 10 am, so we had to be back by 12, but the vet had an emergency so he couldn't see tıfıl until 11:30. we were back at 12:50, I gave the shot at 1:00pm). The same day I wrote here and while getting answers I gave the shot at 1:00 am. The next day (today) I again did the same thing and gave her shot at 1:00 pm. so what should I do today? should I turn back to her usual time (12:00) it's 11:10 now and her BG is 290... what do you propose?
 
Moving the shot time by more than 15 minutes is like changing the dose, an early shot acts as an increase and a late shot acts as a decrease. Again, the shed need to readjust.

If you need to get back to the 12:00 time, I would only do it by 15 minutes each time.
 
Ann & Tess said:
Moving the shot time by more than 15 minutes is like changing the dose, an early shot acts as an increase and a late shot acts as a decrease. Again, the shed need to readjust.

If you need to get back to the 12:00 time, I would only do it by 15 minutes each time.

ok, so I will shot 15 minutes early (12:45)
today I had to give 0.5 because the preshot number was 146. is the cycle normal, I mean ;
AMPS 209 1.0 iu
+1 165
+2 139
+3 106
+5 103
+8 114
+10 110
+11 129
PMPS 146

why does the coming up takes so long? When I see a number such as 146! I become horrified!! :o :shock:
And I hesitate to give 1. but from the result I can see that the numbers become too high after.
 
Isil:

She has beautiful numbers!! Glucometers can have up to a 20% variance and so she is doing what we call "surfing". Very, very nice. She really has had a very flat curve today which is the goal with lantus. She may have a late nadir but nadirs can move around so don't get too stuck on one specific time being her nadir. I gave up trying to figure out Gracie's a long time ago :lol: :lol:

I know that 146 is scary now but it won't be long, with the help of this group, before you will be shooting that number and lower with the appropriate dose. Even though you shot a half dose of .5u today, please be sure you do a +1 and +2 because you *may* still see some movement of her numbers tonight. See where she is headed and post if you need help.

We each start a new condo each day and stay with that condo for both am and pm cycles. Because of the time difference, it will be a little odd for you but it would help us if, tomorrow, you can start a new condo. So tomorrow, your subject line would be:

6/20 Tifil AMPS XXX

XXX being whatever reading you got. As you do each test, go back and open the FIRST entry of the day, click on "edit" and add the next test to the subject line and then hit "submit" so it might look like:

6/20 Tifil AMPS XXX +2 XXX +4 XXX

For the evening, we go back to the first post of the day, open, click "edit", and start over with the PMPS (don't forget to hit "submit") so it would look like:
6/20 Tifil PMPS XXX

Let us know if you have questions. Hope you have a restful night!! Nice shooting!
 
As Marjorie said that is a really nice curve. So you shot a .5u at PMPS of 146, you didn't skip? Sorry, I misread that post. Did you get a +11 number? Please post it so the dosing advisors gan give you some input.
 
I'm sorry....I totally misunderstood. I thought you shot a 146 at .5u....I guess you did but due to the time difference, I got a little confused; duh...sorry.

Don't worry about the 327; it could be from her not getting a full dose or it could be from her bouncing from those lovely blue numbers yesterday....or whenever that was :lol: When they've had higher numbers, even numbers below 200 can make them bounce up as Jill explained in your condo. Looks like you'll be able to shoot her full dose of 1u.
 
:smile:
Ok so I musn't be so upset to see the horrible 300's :lol: :lol:
I am going to give 1iu, so this means; if we reduce the shot in amps we don't increase pmps with the 0.5 we stole from amps :) (strange sentence :)
 
Marje, is right. It is a long process to get the numbers to stabilize. The 1u is probably good tonight.

If you could work o setting up the spread sheet it would help us keep track of what is going on . The big time difference can get confusing, but I put Istanbul in on my World Clock app. :lol:

Ok so I musn't be so upset to see the horrible 300's
I am going to give 1iu, so this means; if we reduce the shot in amps we don't increase pmps with the 0.5 we stole from amps :) (strange sentence :)

Bounces happen all the time. Tess is on a very low dose and she still bounced to 363 this morning after a very low number yesterday. We don't like it and we may get upset, but we know it will pass and eventually start to accept it.

And, no, you don't make up a missed or reduced shot in the next dose.
 
I am going to give 1iu, so this means; if we reduce the shot in amps we don't increase pmps with the 0.5 we stole from amps

No worries..your sentence is perfectly clear and the answer is "no". When you give a reduced dose for one shot because the preshot is below your comfort level, then the next shot would go back up to the normal dose usually. But you would never add the the .5 you "stole" from amps onto the next shot. We try to be as consistent as possible with the dosing; only varying it if they earn a reduction per the protocol OR if you need to shoot a lower dose (or skip a shot) because of a low preshot. You're doing awesome.

If you want to see some interesting numbers on the "bouncing", look at Gracie's or Tess's spreadsheets. Tess has been at this 1-1/2 years and Gracie 9 months and they are both still bouncing. :evil: :evil:
 
Ann & Tess said:
Marje, is right. It is a long process to get the numbers to stabilize. The 1u is probably good tonight.

If you could work o setting up the spread sheet it would help us keep track of what is going on . The big time difference can get confusing, but I put Istanbul in on my World Clock app. :lol:


:-D :-D :-D
Thank you for adding İstanbul in on your World Clock application :)
I know I am so so far away from you people but I feal like you all are next to me, thank you thank you so so much ...
 
something happened while I was shoting. I stuck the needle in and injected the insulin, but when I pulled the needle out I saw that there was a purple bump where I injected. It seemed to me that I got in or bumped in to a vein or something.. is this a problem or emergency? :( is something wrong???????
 
Hi Isil,

How is Tifil acting?

I wonder if you might have hit a vein, and the purple bump is a bruise? Is there still a bump there?

I have not experienced this personally, so I'm not sure what else it could be other than a bruise.
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Hi Isil,

How is Tifil acting?

I wonder if you might have hit a vein, and the purple bump is a bruise? Is there still a bump there?

I have not experienced this personally, so I'm not sure what else it could be other than a bruise.


Hi,
I am not sure what happened while injecting, when I pulled the needle out there was no blood but the place where the needle came out was red. And for the purple bump, not sure if it was already there. her tummy was shaved for taking xray, maybe the purple color is the fur coming out. But I feel a bump there. Maybe it's just nonsense, don't know :( Tıfıl is sleeping now but she is fine. I will test her after 15 minutes at +1. will see if somethings going wrong :(
 
If she is acting normally, I wouldn't worry too much yet. Let's see what happens at +1.

I forgot my manners.. :oops: ..I haven't posted in your condo before, welcome to LL! I'll have to add Turkey to my world clock so I know what time it is there. I'm glad you found us!
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
If she is acting normally, I wouldn't worry too much yet. Let's see what happens at +1.

I forgot my manners.. :oops: ..I haven't posted in your condo before, welcome to LL! I'll have to add Turkey to my world clock so I know what time it is there. I'm glad you found us!

Thank you very much for your warm welcome ang many many thanks for adding Turkey to your world clock :smile:
preshot was 290, now she is 317... I think that it is one of my obsessive reasoning as usual :lol: :lol: :lol:
I will test her again at +2....
I've noticed that her coat got so fluffy and soft after I started giving fish oil to her..I hope this supplement won't effect her BG levels.
 
That is a normal +1 number, it usually is higher than the PS number. As long as she continues to act normally, and you don't see any further reaction at the injection site, I would not worry about it.

I think others give fish oil here, I don't though. Maybe others will chime in about their experience with it. As long as it doesn't have starch or sugar added, I wouldn't think it would affect BG.
 
Isil: I've been giving Gracie two fish oil capsules a day and have not noticed that it affects her BG at all.

Paws crossed you did not do a fur shot. Have you given any thought to shooting her in the scruff instead of the tummy? And do you mean side of belly or flank instead of tummy? You are shooting under the skin but not into muscle right? Here is a diagram of locations for the shot:

Injection Sites
 
Hi Isil and Tifil, I'm a little late in welcoming you to Lantus Land, but I just wanted to stop in and say hi. You are doing so well. It isn't easy to begin the Feline Diabetes "dance" and to have so much new information to crowd into your head.

Just a hint about shooting insulin (you probably know this, but it never hurts to repeat it): Before you stick the needle in, pinch Tifil's skin and pull up a "tent" of skin with your forefinger and thumb. Then shoot into the "tented up" skin just below where your thumb is. This insures that the shot goes under the skin (subcutaneous shot) and not into a vein or a nerve.
(It is very unlikely that the purple bump you are seeing is going to harm your kitty. Try not to worry.)

I've added Istanbul to my "World Clock" app also. I hope that both you and Tifil are asleep right now! It's 4 A.M. in Istanbul.

Ella & Rusty
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Isil: I've been giving Gracie two fish oil capsules a day and have not noticed that it affects her BG at all.

Paws crossed you did not do a fur shot. Have you given any thought to shooting her in the scruff instead of the tummy? And do you mean side of belly or flank instead of tummy? You are shooting under the skin but not into muscle right? Here is a diagram of locations for the shot:

Injection Sites

I meant the side of belly, I have been shoting there. I am making the tent and shoting in the triangle :) The tummy is shaved fot the xray, so it is very easy to shot from a hairless place (for a beginner :) she has very long fur, it is very hard to see her skin and I am afraid to do a fur shot, that's why I am waiting to be experienced for shooting in the scruff....Now she is 92 at +10 ..ı will creat a new conbo
 
Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi Isil and Tifil, I'm a little late in welcoming you to Lantus Land, but I just wanted to stop in and say hi. You are doing so well. It isn't easy to begin the Feline Diabetes "dance" and to have so much new information to crowd into your head.

Just a hint about shooting insulin (you probably know this, but it never hurts to repeat it): Before you stick the needle in, pinch Tifil's skin and pull up a "tent" of skin with your forefinger and thumb. Then shoot into the "tented up" skin just below where your thumb is. This insures that the shot goes under the skin (subcutaneous shot) and not into a vein or a nerve.
(It is very unlikely that the purple bump you are seeing is going to harm your kitty. Try not to worry.)

I've added Istanbul to my "World Clock" app also. I hope that both you and Tifil are asleep right now! It's 4 A.M. in Istanbul.

Ella & Rusty

Hello,
Thank you for adding İstanbul and thank you for your beautiful welcome...I will creat a new conbo now.. big hugs and kisses.... nailbite_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top