Carina and Shelly
Member Since 2026
Shelly was diagnosed with steroid-induced diabetes on 8/5. Her vet changed her steroid to Budesonide at that time. Because her BG was so high she did not feel comfortable waiting to see if the steroid change would put her into remission, though she expressed significant worry about Shelly going into remission and having a Hypo episode. 8/8 we started her on 1u Lantus 2x/day.
8/14 we started a Libre3 curve. The device lasted for four days. Two days ago we sent the data to her vet and we are waiting to hear back. She was starting to form a distinct curve but the highs are high (350+) and her lowest nadir was 121. It's been a rollercoaster of emotion. We are working on getting an FD spreadsheet started and will start testing her regularly tomorrow with an AlphaTrak3. We plan to use the SLGS method, though we are very concerned about knowing what to do when her BG is in the lower range. I have read on here that it is recommended for beginners to seek support before giving insulin at anything lower than 150 and I like knowing we can get support here.
8/14 we started a Libre3 curve. The device lasted for four days. Two days ago we sent the data to her vet and we are waiting to hear back. She was starting to form a distinct curve but the highs are high (350+) and her lowest nadir was 121. It's been a rollercoaster of emotion. We are working on getting an FD spreadsheet started and will start testing her regularly tomorrow with an AlphaTrak3. We plan to use the SLGS method, though we are very concerned about knowing what to do when her BG is in the lower range. I have read on here that it is recommended for beginners to seek support before giving insulin at anything lower than 150 and I like knowing we can get support here.