New Diagnosis, I'm massacring my kitty's ears and need bg curve advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
Marje can you glance back at last few comments...she was rising at +4. Apparently w/no food since before shot. It is nearly +4.5 now. She has no HC in house but does have Karo, and some dry. With rise maybe she nadirs early?....not too much further to go regardless
 
Bj, my mistake...you are right. The 55 was in reference to her last test at +4. .....not the pmps, my bad. But last one already coming up is good
 
I'd feed another 1-2 teaspoons of food with a few drops of Karo on it.
We need to get past the nadir and have 3 rising numbers.


Try a bit of play; that can provoke some eating (hunt catch kill eat)
Or just put a drop or two of the Karo in her mouth.


AlphaTrak numbers so far:
PMPS of 63 at 9 pm (roughly 41 on a human meter)
+3 of 59 at 12:00 midnight (roughly 38 on a human meter) - too low.
+4 of 86 at 1:00 am (roughly 55 on a human meter)
+4.5 of 72 at 1:30 am(about 47 on a human meter)
 
Martha you are doing great. We are with you. Can you clarify what she has been fed, and when in relation to the shot and tests. We will probably have you give her another teaspoon or two of lc canned w/ a drop or 2 of Karo shortly. Let's see what the next BG is and decide.
 
Last edited:
FYI: these are low numbers, and you manage them like a human diabetic would with food. But even kitties in dangerous hypo numbers may not have outward signs or symptoms until it becomes quite serious. That is why we test. She is low, not dangerously, but we don't want her going lower. And she will have earned another dose reduction.
 
she ate a can of fancy feast around 7:30. (3oz) Since shot at 9pm, she's only eaten two TBLs of Fancy Feast before I put kayo in it. She will not eat more. She's stretching and sleeping right now.
 
If you have to, warm the food in micro or put tuna juice on it, she needs some bites/carbs. Be sure to add the drop or 2 of karo. Just get her to eat a couple teaspoons
 
OK.
You may need to just rub a couple drops of the Karo into her mouth. Usually, low numbers will provoke some hunger.
 
Our posts were crossing, sorry. At what point did she eat the 2T food (+4?). Was it before or after the 86 test? And you said no karo? Reason is, if the 86 was before the food, then she was rising on her own -vs- the food raising the number. If we can get a couple consecutive rising tests and/ or be sure she is past nadir you are fine. But if the number only bumped up due to food, you may need to continue feeding a little at a time to keep the numbers up as the food will wear off. It's all helpful information so we can help you better.
 
Last edited:
One other thing that may have already been said, but I'm too tired to remember everything

Since she dropped below 68 on the AlphaTrak meter, that means she's earned a reduction in dose, so if her dose has been 1.5, you'd want to drop it back to 1.25
 
Hey Chris! Yes, I mentioned she earned a reduction. Her numbers were in 50's yesterday on AT, clearly she was started on too high a dose. Her PMPS was below that. Martha, please start posting for advice before you shoot. It seems shes getting dosed too much on too low numbers.
 
Last edited:
Please give a couple drops of the Karo

AlphaTrak numbers so far:
PMPS of 63 at 9 pm (roughly 41 on a human meter)
+3 of 59 at 12 midnight (roughly 38 on a human meter) - too low.
+4 of 86 at 1am (roughly 55 on a human meter)
+4.5 of 72 (about 47 on a human meter)
+5 of 70 (about 45.5 on a human meter)
 
Last edited:
I feel horrible- I reduced per vet instructions, but not nearly enough. Vet only available to talk about numbers on Tues and Thurs. I told her that would be a problem. I'm so pissed (at myself) I'm getting dressed with crate to be ready to get to ER if necessary. 15 min drive. She will not take anything. She still seems fine, but may have 2 hrs to go on nadir?
 
If you're feeling OK, you can continue with the test, give Karo drops on gums, wait, repeat.
If you have any doubts that you can keep going until +7 at a minimum (4 am), then go to the vet. It'll be pricey.


AlphaTrak numbers so far:
PMPS of 63 about 9 pm (roughly 41 on a human meter)
+3 of 59 about 12 midnight (roughly 38 on a human meter) - too low.
+4 of 86 about 1am (roughly 55 on a human meter)
+4.5 of 72 about 1:30 am (about 47 on a human meter)
+5 of 70 about 2:00 am (about 45.5 on a human meter)
 
Last edited:
We are with you. Just keep monitoring and try to feed a little. The numbers are low but not scary low, and are remaining fairly level. Do you have any ICE CREAM?.... That's a good little sugar boost. It will wear off quicker than with food added, but we don't have too much further to go for nadir. You don't want to overfeed in case we need her to eat more. Bread soaked in milk is another option (w/ drop of Karo, pancake syrup, etc)
 
Last edited:
And time for another test.
Hang in there. Just another couple hours to pass the likely nadir.


Note: Glucometers are allowed to read within +/- 20% of what a lab would get. So long as 2 numbers are within 20% of each other, they may be considered the same. This means that the numbers you are getting are pretty much the same and what we call "surfing".
 
Its scary this happening when you are so new and don't know what it all means. We have all been there...the reason the board is so great is because someone IS there for you at midnite (not just Tue/Thurs) Our cats don't cooperate w/ ofc hours or our plans...they have minds of their own

**For future reference you want to always Test, Feed, THEN Shoot...so there will be food on board at onset
 
Last edited:
Just took at look at Lolly's curve from yesterday, and it appears nadir was around +5, but she stayed fairly flat through about +8.
 
2tsp food was after the +3 of 59 at 12:00 midnight, before +4 of 86 at 1:00 am Will not take food since. I just got her to swallow about a tsp of kayo. She is still acting normally, except very annoyed with me.
 
You are doing Great!

You are clear she earned another reduction and dose gets further reduced from here, right?
 
Last edited:
Oh yes!! And everything goes by you guys from now on. Obviously I don't have this down as well as I thought I did. Sorry for my peevish outburst. Off for another test.
 
It could be Karo... Not sure how much or long ago..but you also may be closer to nadir. You need consecutive rising #'s.... You saw how earlier it went up then back down again. It may be OK to wait 1/2 hour or a bit more before the next. Bj are you still up??.... I am fading a bit. But Martha we won't leave u
 
AlphaTrak numbers so far:
PMPS of 63 at 9 pm (roughly 41 on a human meter)
+3 of 59 at 12 midnight (roughly 38 on a human meter) - too low.
+4 of 86 at 1am (roughly 55 on a human meter)
+4.5 of 72 at 1:30 am (about 47 on a human meter)
+5 of 70 at 2:00 am (about 45.5 on a human meter)
+5.5 of 95 at 2:30 am (about 62 on a human meter) - could be the Karo somewhat
 
Martha- I took a minute to read back through your thread. That increase from 1 to 2U makes no sense to me. And when we increase it is by only .25U at a time..never a whole U. You can easily pass your kitties optimum dose otherwise.
It is SO important you understand how low that 55 was yesterday- that is like a 35 on human meter...WAY too low...and not to be taken lightly. At that point you would want to intervene with food and Karo (small amnts at a time) and monitor closely like tonight. You did lower the dose tonight which was good, but it was still just too much.
You asked about syringes and we use the ones with 1/2 unit markings...is that what you have? It does help to measure more easily.
 
Bj. Can we make a plan in case we fall asleep....do you feel after +6 if it is same or higher she is OK? Should Martha try for 1 more test regardless in 45 mins or so? I am not clear on how much food or Karo Lolly has gotten. I don't think much food. One thing she could do since kitty is not eating much is leave some dry out.... What are your thoughts on that, or any other suggestions we can leave her?
 
Martha- she's surfing still. When was last food or Karo, and how much. Also, do you have food you said you leave out for her she has access to? Let me see who else is here and make sure you are OK.... Hang tight BRB
 
Martha- I took a minute to read back through your thread. That increase from 1 to 2U makes no sense to me. And when we increase it is by only .25U at a time..never a whole U. You can easily pass your kitties optimum dose otherwise.
It is SO important you understand how low that 55 was yesterday- that is like a 35 on human meter...WAY too low...and not to be taken lightly. At that point you would want to intervene with food and Karo (small amnts at a time) and monitor closely like tonight. You did lower the dose tonight which was good, but it was still just too much.
You asked about syringes and we use the ones with 1/2 unit markings...is that what you have? It does help to measure more easily.
The Vet increased it, based on a 430 reading she got in the office. I had no idea that I should've increased more slowly- vet told me to go up. Dr. K gave me a handout saying when to go up and when to go down. I feel like I asked so many questions- went to two vets -- but I missed the most important question, what the normal bg are for a cat, what is hypo territory. I could have killed my cat.
 
She basically won't eat, hasn't eaten anything since 2tsp food after the +3 of 59 at 12:00 midnight. I got some Kayro into her around +5, two hours ago.



AlphaTrak numbers so far:
PMPS of 63 at 9 pm (roughly 41 on a human meter)
+3 of 59 at 12 midnight (roughly 38 on a human meter) - too low.
+4 of 86 at 1am (roughly 55 on a human meter)
+4.5 of 72 at 1:30 am (about 47 on a human meter)
+5 of 70 at 2:00 am (about 45.5 on a human meter)
+5.5 of 95 at 2:30 am (about 62 on a human meter) - could be the Karo somewhat
 
I just sent a PM to another member i saw online to see if they can come around.... I think bj fell asleep and I am close... But we have a rule around here and won't leave you alone until you are safe. I would rather talk about some of the other points tomorrow when fresher and my brain is working better. But let's make sure you and Lolly are safe tonight most importantly. You did a great job, BTW!
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top