Orangepants mr.Kitty
Member Since 2021
Hey all, just want to start with a huge thank you for this awesome resource. The amazing detailed guides and all the relatable stories have helped calm me down the last few days. I keep googleing different topics and seem to keep finding myself back on this board.
To try to keep story short, he had a rough few weeks and on friday 3/26 Mr.Kitty (he has a million names) was diagnosed, i went in for my "diabetes training". i rushed to begin his insulin shots that night, Canninsulin, 0.5 units per kg. Hes 5.7kg so was told 3 and 3 units a day. Gave him his friday night shot, and his sat morning and night shots. Unable to figure out how to draw blood on sat but decided to just do as vet ordered. Sunday i finally got reading (human meter) right before the PM shot. He pulled a 4.1mmol/l (75mg/dl). Still wasn't confident to skip a shot i gave him his 3units, and the he pulled a +3 of 2.2 (40) and a +6 of 2.3 (42). I gave him some treats and licked up some honey. He seemed fine all night and awoke this morning (monday) to a am preshot test of 5.2 (94). Skipped shot, regular feeding and got a +5 of 4.9 (88) a +7 of 5.6 (101) and pm preshot of 5.3 (95). He snacked on wet food all day, So so far i skipped his pm shot as well and starting to question if he ever had diabetes in the first place... I know its not enough info to jump to that conclusion but starting to feel real dumb for not getting readings before starting the insulin. I made the change to wet food a week ago to get more hydration and switched to zero carb wet food 3 days ago. Maybe the food change was enough? Should i keep him off insulin till i see higher numbers? Should i keep up with a token dose? No ketone test yet, should i? Lots of changes for us, hope we are doing things right.
To try to keep story short, he had a rough few weeks and on friday 3/26 Mr.Kitty (he has a million names) was diagnosed, i went in for my "diabetes training". i rushed to begin his insulin shots that night, Canninsulin, 0.5 units per kg. Hes 5.7kg so was told 3 and 3 units a day. Gave him his friday night shot, and his sat morning and night shots. Unable to figure out how to draw blood on sat but decided to just do as vet ordered. Sunday i finally got reading (human meter) right before the PM shot. He pulled a 4.1mmol/l (75mg/dl). Still wasn't confident to skip a shot i gave him his 3units, and the he pulled a +3 of 2.2 (40) and a +6 of 2.3 (42). I gave him some treats and licked up some honey. He seemed fine all night and awoke this morning (monday) to a am preshot test of 5.2 (94). Skipped shot, regular feeding and got a +5 of 4.9 (88) a +7 of 5.6 (101) and pm preshot of 5.3 (95). He snacked on wet food all day, So so far i skipped his pm shot as well and starting to question if he ever had diabetes in the first place... I know its not enough info to jump to that conclusion but starting to feel real dumb for not getting readings before starting the insulin. I made the change to wet food a week ago to get more hydration and switched to zero carb wet food 3 days ago. Maybe the food change was enough? Should i keep him off insulin till i see higher numbers? Should i keep up with a token dose? No ketone test yet, should i? Lots of changes for us, hope we are doing things right.