New diagnosed diabetic cat - loss of all cuddles .

With her BG off the wall she needs a high dose to try reduce it ?and if it’s not working, need to go higher ?
You should not continue to raise the dose on a whim because her BG is high , you are not testing you are going to end up with hyperglycemia or worse, please wait till Suzanne or another member on dosing plugs in, but I doubt you will get dosing advice without knowing, even yourself your cats glucose level
@Marje and Gracie
 
Here is the difficulty in us recommending a starting dose for PZ without seeing any data at all. I understand you haven’t been testing due to your vets’ incorrect info.

Most cats do what we call “bouncing” which means if the BG drops low or fast, the liver releases counterregulatory hormones to bring it up so if the vet tests when she’s bouncing from a low, they will continue to raise the dose.

When stating you could start her at the Caninsulin dose or a little less, I mistakenly thought you had home testing data but since you don’t, it is safer to start her at 1u twice a day as long as you start home testing her at every time before you shoot and then randomly a few times in the cycle so we can see what she’s actually doing.

Once we have a few cycles of data to make sure she’s not dropping low, we can fast track the dose up.

A Libre CGM will also help you during this time and give you a chance to learn to home test.

If you need help with the spreadsheet, I can do it for you if you send me a private message by clicking my user name under my kitty’s photo and then “send direct message”.
 
If I gave her as much food as she wanted then she would eat far too much and her glucose would spike as her body cannot absorb it. This would cause damage and risk of death ?
No. If you feed low carb wet food her BG will not spike due to food consumption. That is incorrect. However, if you continue to feed dry, high carb food, her blood glucose will increase from that food and she will be very hard to regulate.
She goes nuts with the meeowing for food from about midday onwards. So desperate she even eats grass in the garden. She wont touch the lovely cat grass I have growing in a tub inside . When I eat my meal she aggressively tries to get some by swiping at it.
You absolutely need to feed her more. If she doesn’t have enough food, you risk high ketones. With ProZinc, I recommend food at shot time (the main meal) and food at +2 (two hours after the shot) and food at +4 (four hours after the shot) and perhaps even more food at +6 in your case because she is underweight. This will not harm her; this will help her. It will first of all help to prevent steep drops in blood glucose (BG) and it will help her to feel better and not be starving all the time (which honestly is just horrible.) It isn’t misbehavior, her body is starving if she is in very high BG because she cannot make use of the food she’s taking in.
 
Last edited:
Please keep us posted weather you want a member to help you create the spreadsheet, and if you saw the Vet and what was the results, good luck
 
Here is the difficulty in us recommending a starting dose for PZ without seeing any data at all. I understand you haven’t been testing due to your vets’ incorrect info.

Most cats do what we call “bouncing” which means if the BG drops low or fast, the liver releases counterregulatory hormones to bring it up so if the vet tests when she’s bouncing from a low, they will continue to raise the dose.

When stating you could start her at the Caninsulin dose or a little less, I mistakenly thought you had home testing data but since you don’t, it is safer to start her at 1u twice a day as long as you start home testing her at every time before you shoot and then randomly a few times in the cycle so we can see what she’s actually doing.

Once we have a few cycles of data to make sure she’s not dropping low, we can fast track the dose up.

A Libre CGM will also help you during this time and give you a chance to learn to home test.

If you need help with the spreadsheet, I can do it for you if you send me a private message by clicking my user name under my kitty’s photo and then “send direct message”.
Thanks all the info. As my cats weight has now stabilised, at least for the past week, aftr chatting with vet yesterday we are going to stay on current dose caninsulin for a few days to see if water intake also starts reducing . It’s still very high at 400 to 600 ml a day which indicates high BG. It seems finally the caninsulin has started to work aftr a month of staedliky increasing the dose , albeit BG not reduced enough yet to point at which normal water intake will occur. If after a few days water intake does not reduce then caninsulin dose will go up from 3 to 3.5 twice daily. My cat was so hungry yesterday she swiped a babycorn off my plate. Not ideal, and I hope it won’t cause an6 blockages . She is so hungry she will eat anything .
 
Please keep us posted weather you want a member to help you create the spreadsheet, and if you saw the Vet and what was the results, good luck
Thanks corky .

Have posted a few mins ago re vet vis5 yesterday . Am feelin* much easier today . Will keep you all posted .
 
Thanks all the info. As my cats weight has now stabilised, at least for the past week, aftr chatting with vet yesterday we are going to stay on current dose caninsulin for a few days to see if water intake also starts reducing . It’s still very high at 400 to 600 ml a day which indicates high BG. It seems finally the caninsulin has started to work aftr a month of staedliky increasing the dose , albeit BG not reduced enough yet to point at which normal water intake will occur. If after a few days water intake does not reduce then caninsulin dose will go up from 3 to 3.5 twice daily. My cat was so hungry yesterday she swiped a babycorn off my plate. Not ideal, and I hope it won’t cause an6 blockages . She is so hungry she will eat anything .
Well, that is extremely disappointing news. Your cat will never become regulated on Caninsulin. As you raise the dose, you will simply increase the risk on a hypoglycemic event. Caninsulin is never going to last more than a few hours in your cat. It is a dog insulin. It’s actually malpractice for your vet to continue prescribing Caninsulin when the prescribing guidelines in the UK permit a prescription for ProZinc to be dispensed since it is approved for use in cats. I help many people with their ProZinc kitties, and I hope after this experiment with Caninsulin that you will give it a try. You will really be able to help your cat with (1) home testing; (2) ProZinc. If you would go ahead and start learning how to test your cat at home now and to keep track of the BG numbers, you would be able to see for yourself how the Caninsulin does not work in your cat. Relying on hunger and water consumption is antiquated. Those were the only ways of trying to guess at how a diabetic cat was doing back before there was any such thing as a glucose monitor for home use (pre-1980s.)
 
I feel badly for saying the above. I am not known around this Board for being harsh. I said what I said because I do feel very concerned for your cat and, honestly, concern for you as well because I know she means a lot to you as you indicated in your first post. I don’t want you to lose her prematurely. Please don’t wait too long with this experiment your veterinarian is conducting on your cat. She’s not young and this is extremely hard upon her little body.
 
Last edited:
I feel badly for saying the above. I am not known around this Board for being harsh. I said what I said because I do feel very concerned for your cat and, honestly, concern for you as well because I know she means a lot to you as you indicated in your first post. I don’t want you to lose her prematurely. Please don’t wait too long with this experiment your cat is conducting on your cat. She’s not young and this is extremely hard upon her little body.
I agree 100%
 
Hello new member Dudes! I joined this site in 2014 with my then diabetic kitty and the knowledgeable folks here helped me save him from hypo! The vets do not know
our kitties like we do and with the help of the knowledgeable FD caregivers here with LOTS of experience, you can help your kitty feel so much better. I'm rooting for
you and your kitty and will be thinking of you daily.
 
Big off the wall by observation of thirst , hunger and meeowing
Yes.
If your cat is drinking like crazy that means the diabetes is not being managed/controlled.

I use Lantus for my cat’s insulin. I go up in the insulin amounts if his numbers are high. A cat’s BG should be 70-150.
If you can keep it around there it is being managed. Once the diabetes is managed your cat will act less starved & become more like his old loving self.
 
Last edited:
A NOTE TO ANYONE READING THIS THREAD.

Please note that on an Alpha Trak meter (or any pet meter) we do not want the blood glucose to drop any lower than 68. On a human meter, we do not want the blood glucose to go below 50.
Sorry. I change it to 70 -150. I did not mean to put it so low.
 
Back
Top