New diag. diet change/constipation

Status
Not open for further replies.

kross

Member Since 2012
Hi, don't know if I'm being a bit too paranoid but worried about the furry guy. He's a recently diagnosed cat and while at first he seemed to be doing ok, the last couple of days have been a bit difficult. He doesn't seem interested in eating the wet food, even the ones that he used to really enjoy before the diet change (we're almost 2 weeks into the diet change). He also hasn't pooped in over 48 hours. His insulin dose did increase from 1 unit/12hours to 2 units on Wed evening (today is Sat.) and the temperature has been much higher than usual here (90 degrees which is really warm up here) with no AC or anything. Is this a normal part of the diet adjustment? Should I be in to see a vet and if so how urgent is it? Thank you for any replies!
 
No poop in 48 hours is definitely a call for a vet visit. It may be that he is blocked and that can be very serious. It may be that all he is needs is a vet enema. Heat can definitely stress cats but constipation is likely to be another issue.

Please give us some more info. What insulin and what dose?
 
He's on Lantus I believe (sorry, not at home right now) and just went up from one unit twice a day to two units twice a day. He is still eating a little bit but he just eats a bit of the food and then walks away. Doesn't seem to be close to the amount that he should be eating...
 
I'd have him checked out and get the constipation figured out. Many people here use Miralax to help that issue. Then read the stickies (starred topics at the top) on the Lantus forum page.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9

There is a successful protocol with dosing information etc. Lantus is dosed based on nadir numbers (midcycle) and increased by .25 or .5 units at a time. If you want to post some of your recent numbers in this format and ask in your subject line for specific Lantus advice, you may get some answers. (I haven't used your insulin so can't help)

amps # (morning preshot number) number of units given
+6 (six hours after the shot)
pmps # (evening preshot number) number of units given

So it might look like this - I'm using made up numbers.

amps 365 2 units
+6 250
pmps 370 2 units

As soon as you can, please set up a spreadsheet so people can see your history at a glance. Here are the directions: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

If you need help, just ask.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top