New diabetic cat Canada

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by alexanne, Mar 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alexanne

alexanne Member

I am somewhat confused - I am new to this - My 14yr. old has been diagnosed with diabetes 2 weeks ago. I have been given the DM food by the vet and unfortunately she will not eat any tinned food. She has had dry all her life with occasional sardines. I am trying various tricks to try to get her to take the tinned stuff. I'll have to persevere being new at this - trial and error. I should add that I am in Canada so the US products although I can access them I have to change USD to CAD plus shuipping.

I have been given lots of advise from my friends and it has become a bit confusing - especially since those friends are in the States. Don't know if there are Canadians here and would like to find them - please contact me if you are Canadian. In the meantime I am taking it step by step - I give Caninsulin 1 U twice a day. I have not started testing myself but intend to do that. I have two cats - male Vegas - also 14 years old - who does not have diabetes. He has other problems and I will post on that board related to things other than diabetes. Love to hear from other people and their experiences - particularly food which is not from the vet - varieties and getting her to take tinned.

Also on testing and monitors etc. Bearing in mind that I am in Canada and not the US. Look forward to hearing from others with diabetic cats and their feeding, insulin and monitoring.

2. Hope + (((Baby)))GA

Hope + (((Baby)))GA Well-Known Member

Re: New feline diabetic pet in

What part of Canada are you in? We have a list of members but it helps to know the area.

3. Karen & Pearl

Karen & Pearl Member