New (continued) Monica & Mia

Status
Not open for further replies.
In the U.S. those foods are labeled as for “supplementary feeding” and it means they are not nutritionally complete and should not be used as the main diet because they are lacking essential nutrients.
@Suzanne & Darcy But would it be possible to have let's say 1 can a day of supplementary food and 1 of complete food? Or not that often? More like once a week for example?
 
It's the same here, they're not nutritionally complete

Monica have you had a look at this SD
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...l9hUtHy6Gs9oRBqlz4nPGKxtySA/edit?usp=drivesdk

A lot of the food is available in mainland Europe ( even though it says UK) , I of course font know what the supply in Malta will be like, hope it's useful.
@Gill & George Oh, thank you! ☺️ Will look through it and see which brands are available here I have found 1 brand so far Mia has been getting, but I thought it would be good to have a couple of alternatives to choose from
 
@Suzanne & Darcy @JL and Chip @Bron and Sheba (GA) Her preshot is 13.4, 2 hours ago it was 11.4. Should I increase dose to 0.25u? Or still stick with 0.1u?

She had such nice green numbers earlier today:(

We gave her a new wet food today, but it should be low carb. But that is the only change I can see for her today. Could it still have affected her numbers?
 
Last edited:
Putting it through the calculator it does appear to be LC, 4%. It does have some rice in it, I found with George that foods with rice spiked his blood sugar, he was quite sensitive to it.

It could be that or it could be s coincidence.

Make a note on the SS, against the time you gave it, and how much, we can see if it has the same effect again.


I wouldn't panic, let's just see what happens with tonight's cycle, sometimes, we can see a little high before they drop lower so let's see what her +2 is.
 
Is there any chance she got into some contraband?

George got into some toast and blueberry jam once, :facepalm:. Diabetic cats have s reputation of getting into things they shouldn't:cat:
 
I see :cool:
That's quite a sharp drop at +2 I might check her at +3.

She may be heading for green early in the cycle.

If you haven't already I would give her a snack to try and slow her down and encourage s slower drop into green.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy But would it be possible to have let's say 1 can a day of supplementary food and 1 of complete food? Or not that often? More like once a week for example?
I would use it like a snack or a food topper. But if it always makes her BG jump up, I would not. It’s so frustrating at times trying to find food they like and don’t raise BG.
 
Last edited:
I would use it like a snack or a food topper. But if it always makes her BG jump up, I would not. It’s so frustrating at times trying to find food they like and don’t raise BG.
@Suzanne & Darcy same thing happened here, I haven't received an email notification about these last couple of posts for some reason :(

Won't be using that shrimp/jelly complimentary food anymore since it made her BG jump. Was just curious to know how complementary foods might be given if I find one that she likes and that doesn't make her BG jump :)
 
Congratulations on the reduction. Since it's so early in the cycle, and the Lantis is just beginning it's onset, I would give her a tiny bit of honey or syrup with some food to try to bump her up.
 
Congratulations on the reduction. Since it's so early in the cycle, and the Lantis is just beginning it's onset, I would give her a tiny bit of honey or syrup with some food to try to bump her up.

@Dyana I have started a new thread here

Have given her honey and some treats and will test again in 30min. Do you mean I should reduce the dose from 0.1u to even lower? Or are you referring to the reduction I did from 0.25 to 0.1?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top