New condo: Tom the Cat, back from the Falls. AMPS 345, 1u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ilkka and Tom

Member Since 2010
Hi all,

Tom's not been looking great lately, and I have been trying to ignore what it probably meant, using the unbelievable chaos and busyness of our lives to not deal with it. My bad. My wife (Barbara) is not even here -- there is some reconstruction at our house in Texas, crews, everything covered in plastic, and she's been in Virginia taking care of other business.

Anyway, yesterday I couldn't postpone the inevitable, and as I was out of test strips, I took Tom to a vet, not our regular vet, and bg was 426. He is now on 1u of Levemir, and I will start the ss up soon. Gave him 1u of Lev at last night to a 446, overslept, AMPS at +16 was 345. So we are back in the saddle.

The amazing thing to me is that he knew exactly what I was doing when I brought out the new vial and syringes... he approved. (I have a whole theory of bean-to-kitty telepathy as a core part of insulin therapy, will share it some other time, if appropriate.) Someone asked me in email whether I needed a newbie kit. Of course I do. It was comical. I was so rattled I inserted test strips in the wrong way, twice, then had a little tiff because it wouldn't read. In the meantime Tom was unhappy with an ear hole the size of an earring prep that I managed to invent with the lancet, my hands shaking while I stared dumbfounded at the E for "Error" in the meter window. Sigh. Then with the syringe, once I figured out which was the business end, I couldn't believe how small a 1u is (BD .3cc, no half unit markings). How easy it would have been to give him 10u, just because I couldn't get my head around the idea that I had been dosing that little sliver and smaller for all that time.

Oh well. Sorry to be back, but you know what I mean -- glad you guys are here. A wave from Tom to all his old friends.

Ilkka
 
Re: New condo: Tom the Cat, back from the Falls. AMPS 345, 1

I'm sorry you and Tom are back. He is a gorgeous kitty by the way. Just reading his profile.

We haven't made it to the falls... yet ;)
 
Re: New condo: Tom the Cat, back from the Falls. AMPS 345, 1

it can't be fun to be back...
but i have to say...your post had me laughing.

hoping it's a short vacation from the falls for Tom...

celi & binks
 
Re: New condo: Tom the Cat, back from the Falls. AMPS 345, 1

I would welcome a lesson in bean-to-cat telepathy, but what I really want is cat-to-bean transmissions. If he would just tell me what he wants, I'd give it to him!

I assume the vet did blood and urine work? After reading your profile, couldn't help but wonder whether there's an underlying condition that has driven him out of remission.

Here's hoping Tom will find his way back to the Falls quickly! In the meantime, welcome back.
 
Re: New condo: Tom the Cat, back from the Falls. AMPS 345, 1

sorry you're back. :sad: Kathy asked a good question, I assume you had the vet give him a once-over to see why he's back from the Falls, right? Could be stress from the remodel, but I would be there is something more (teeth, urinary infection?).

You'll get back in the swing of things quickly.
 
Re: New condo: Tom the Cat, back from the Falls. AMPS 345, 1

Hi, Ilkka and Tom... droppin through to throw at the Welcome Mat too... we are also back from The Falls & wishing you a short stay ;-)
 
Re: New condo: Tom the Cat, back from the Falls. AMPS 345, 1

Sorry you're back but welcome. Like Kathy and Libby, I hope all of the obvious reasons for the elevated BGs have been ruled out.
 
Re: New condo: Tom the Cat, back from the Falls. AMPS 345, 1

Hi guys. Sorry you had to leave the Falls. Here's hoping that things get sorted out really quickly and you can head back real soon. In the mean time welcome back.
 
Re: New condo: Tom the Cat, back from the Falls. AMPS 345, 1

Sorry to see you back for this reason, but welcome back! I hope your stay is short and Tom gets back to the falls quickly.
 
Re: New condo: Tom the Cat, back from the Falls. AMPS 345, 1

Sorry you and Tom are back but we appreciate the humor!!! Hope your stay is quick and you can get him OTJ again.
 
Re: New condo: Tom the Cat, back from the Falls. AMPS 345, 1

Libby and Lucy said:
sorry you're back. :sad: Kathy asked a good question, I assume you had the vet give him a once-over to see why he's back from the Falls, right? Could be stress from the remodel, but I would be there is something more (teeth, urinary infection?).

You'll get back in the swing of things quickly.

Hi Libby, Kathy and everyone.

No I did not have bloodwork done -- good of you to point out that he needs it. Now I can go to Tom's regular vet. See, you guys are already making a difference. I might have asked for it on the spot Saturday, but I was in shock about the bg -- and immediately focused on getting a Levemir prescription from a somewhat reluctant veterinarian who was not familiar with the insulin and had her assistant googling Novo Nordisk and cats while I waited. I got the prescription and hightailed it to Walgreens. I didn't even get to my patented YouTubeable talk about designer insulins.

Anyway, now that you mention it, Tom has a history of urinary infections, which actually have not recurred since his diabetes. I think it may be because polyuria, which is a diabetic symptom, helped keep the lower urinary tract open -- and with the remission, the re-infections, considering his inclination, became more likely. I will have bloodwork done tomorrow (well, today, looking at the clock) as soon as I get past the Monday morning stuff.

Thank you for the kind welcome... btw, PMPS 351, I increased the dose to 1.2u.

Ilkka
 
Re: New condo: Tom the Cat, back from the Falls. AMPS 345, 1

Nicole & Baby said:
Hi, Ilkka and Tom... droppin through to throw at the Welcome Mat too... we are also back from The Falls & wishing you a short stay ;-)

Hi Nicole - thank you (and to other well-wishers).. sorry to hear that you & Baby too are back from Iguazu. Once you hear those waters, postcards don't do the trick.

Ilkka
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top