New Compounded PZI? From Vet today

Status
Not open for further replies.

greenae

Member Since 2013
My vet gave me a different PZI today, it uses U-100 syringes. Does anyone know if I will see a change? I have been getting good numbers, and have Bubbles down to 0.5u q 12h. I hope this insulin works as well for us?
Today's numbers are on her SS. First time I caught a 66, at 5.5 hours. :smile:
 
I used compounded pzi on Bob, although mine was u40. Were you using compounded before today?
 
I know that my Vet uses a pharm he likes. I have been using a PZI that works with U 40 syringes. I only know this is different because now I need U 100. My Vet is disturbed that he had to change because now it costs more for his patients. Has to do with the FDA, he said.
 
So the old stuff WAS compounded? Bovine-based? Does this new vial say "bovine"?

If so, and if they came from the same pharm/lab, I wouldn't think you will see a difference as far as how well it works. Just make sure to hide or ditch the U40 syringes so you don't use the wrong ones.
 
I am sorry, I am not sure if the PZI I have been using since 09-04 was compounded. My Vet gave me the first month free in a bottle he filled for me at his office (Never look a gift horse in the mouth? :cool: ), because he said his pharm company was changing the way they compounded, and going to the U-100. So I am hoping its the same, just a different concentration? But then, that does make it a lil different. I still am using the insulin he gave me;
I probably have another weeks worth, especially if her numbers stay down. Her PMPS was 126.
And I haven't even looked closely at the new bottle yet.( Bad cat nurse!) I will check it in the am.
Thank you, Carl :smile:
 
It may be possible to get a diluent so you can either put it into a U-40 concentration or other concentration that would help you measure as small as you needed.
 
09-29-13 AMPS=128

Yes, I will talk to my Vet. I am finding it difficult to measure such small doses with these syringes. Am I really sure I am giving 0.25 or 0.5u? Her numbers are staying low, her 14 day average based on BG testing is 123. So I will keep giving these small doses, even though I feel I am "on a wing and a prayer," as far as accuracy goes.
I checked the bottle; it just says Protamine Zinc Insulin in phenol, formulated by Stokes Pharmacy for Veterinary Use. My Vet said he would prescribe Lantus for me if I really want it, but he says it is more expensive and has a shorter shelf life. The PZI I got yesterday was $110.00 for 5ml.
 
With that small of a dose, I don't thing Lantus is what you need, nor can it be diluted according to the manufacturer.

What you'd need to dilute PZI at home:
Proper diluent
Insulin
Sterile mixing bottles

An example of the process to make a U-50 concentration, which might work for you at those low doses:
Use a syringe to draw up 0.5 units of U-100 PZI insulin.
Put in sterile mixing vial.
Use a syringe to draw up 0.5 units volume of diluent.
Add to mixing vial.
Roll gently to mix thoroughly.
Store as directed.

To use, draw out the amount of the mix needed.
If you've reduced the concentration to 50 units/mL,
- the 1.0 unit mark * the 0.5 concentration would be 0.50 units
- the 0.5 unit mark * the 0.5 concentration would be 0.25 units
 
Thank u! That would certainly make it easier to deliver a precise dose. Have to see if my Vet can get the diluent for me. I tried 0.25u this am and her +3=60! Gave her a snack and I'll keep an eye on her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top