Info NEW!!! Chronic Somogyi Rebound: Myths and Facts

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by Marje and Gracie, Aug 30, 2023.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    The term to describe a specific pattern of hyperglycemia, chronic Somogyi rebound, first appeared in 1938 and was named after Michael Somogyi. It was based on a very small sample of humans where urine glucose was measured. The “research” (loosely termed) appeared in a local St. Louis medical publication - not a major medical journal. The results have never been replicated and have been contested in recent years. Even though chronic Somogyi rebound has not been better documented even in humans, doctors often advise patients to decrease the dose to alleviate the issue.

    Consequently, the entire idea of Somogyi in humans is controversial. An article in Wiki provides a relevant summary as it relates to humans. The conclusion states:

    Raskin (1984) stated, “The failure of the Somogyi phenomenon to occur puts insulin-dependent diabetic patients at increased risk to potential lethal consequences of nocturnal hypoglycemia.”

    Most recently, a discussion by medical professionals, Reyhanoglu and Rehman, 2023, regarding Somogyi in humans states:

    With cats, there has been little research and only recently has it been done with the longer duration insulins like Lantus or Levemir. However, veterinarians often advise clients their cat is in chronic Somogyi rebound when the cat is just bouncing off a low number or a fast drop in the blood glucose (BG). These veterinarians then recommend the dose be lowered.

    In the FDMB, we have repeatedly found that lowering the dose, when the cat has not actually earned a reduction per the regulation method being followed, results in the cat staying in high BG numbers, wasting time while going back up the dosing ladder, and increasing the potential for glucose toxicity.

    Roomp and Rand (2015 and 2017) concluded, after a study of glucose curves in 55 cats:

    Further, as long as the caregiver (CG) is systematically increasing (and reducing, when required) the dose according to the method of regulation being used, giving too much insulin is avoided.

    In summary, chronic Somogyi rebound, as previously stated is a term used to describe hyperglycemia in the morning after hypoglycemia the night before. Often this was attributed to a chronic overdose of insulin and the recommendation was for the insulin dose to be decreased. As this document has shown, current evidence indicates chronic Somogyi rebound does not exist.

    Many new members ask what the difference is, then, between chronic Somogyi rebound and what we call “bouncing” in the FDMB.

    Bouncing, as we use the term in the FDMB, is the increase in the BG due to a fast drop of the BG (this does not have to be a fast drop from high to low numbers) or a drop to a lower BG than the cat’s body is accustomed. This also does not have to be a drop to a hypoglycemic BG. Many cats will bounce, initially, when the BG drops, for example, from 300 to 150 over the course of a cycle. The cat’s body has become accustomed to higher BGs and the BG of 150, in this example, causes the liver to release counterregulatory hormones and glucagon to raise the BG back to what it deems a “safer” BG.

    If a CG is unsure of what constitutes bouncing or any other pattern of low BGs followed by high BGs or vice versa, please ask on the appropriate forum so experienced members may accurately interpret the BGs and spreadsheet.

    An excellent discussion within FDMB is within this thread, specifically Post 28:


    REFERENCES CITED

    Raskin, P. The Somogyi phenomenon. Sacred cow or bull? Arch Intern Med. 1984 Apr; 144(4): 781-7.

    Link: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/6370162/

    Reyhanoglu G, Rehman, A. Somogyi Phenomenon. StatPearls Publishing 2023 Jan.

    Link: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK551525/

    Roomp K, Rand J. Rebound hyperglycemia in diabetic cats. J Feline Med Surg. 2016 Aug; 18(8): 587-96. doi: 10.1177/1098612X15588967.Epub 2015 Jun 4.

    Link: https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/full/10.1177/1098612x15588967

    Rand J, Roomp K. The myth of Somogyi and how I adjust insulin. World Small Animal Veterinary Association Congress proceedings 2017.

    Link: https://www.vin.com/apputil/content...&catId=113455&id=8506497&ind=344&objTypeID=17
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page