Hello,
My name is Lise
My cat Cello (13 yo siamese, neutered male) was diagnosed with FD about a month ago. I was unable to treat him at the time because I was leaving for a month. His only symptom was excessive drinking and urination and urinating outside the litter box. His BG was 28, and the vet told me she didn't think I had the lifestyle to treat him because I am often gone for >12 hours of the day and travel a lot and that he would probably be fine for a while and then get sick and I'd have to make a choice, she did say diet could help and gave me purina DM to give him. I switched his food while I was away (he was getting dry food then as well) and he still peed a lot but stopped urinating outside of the box. I did a lot of reading when I got home and switched him to a completely high protein, low carb diet . In 72 hours of doing this he is drinking and urinating *almost* normally and his BG dropped to 20. I took him to the vet to learn how to get the shot, talk about home testing and Tight regulation and try to get the right insulin. This did not go well. The vets around here don't endorse home testing and she would only give me caninsulin, IF this doesn't work they will offer me Lantus. I have some acquaintances who are vets and I'm currently trying to get my hands on PZI insulin. The vet recommended that I give him 1 U a day for a week then bring him in for a curve at the vets on Friday.
On saturday and sunday I gave him 1 U insulin each morning. He took it well and behaved normally. I got a BG monitor on Sunday, and Sunday at midnight did my first test showed he was at a BG of 23.
This morning I decided to do a curve and so far here are the results........ trying not to freak out yet since he is currently low!
Time........Glucose level.....note
7:30am......21.2 (378)......1 U Caninsulin
9:30am......11.8 (212)
11:30am......2.1 (37.8)......Trying to stay calm, he is acting normal, eating and is on
the right diet.........
so how am I doing? I do want to try tight regulation but I guess I'll have to see how the rest of his response goes.......
My name is Lise
My cat Cello (13 yo siamese, neutered male) was diagnosed with FD about a month ago. I was unable to treat him at the time because I was leaving for a month. His only symptom was excessive drinking and urination and urinating outside the litter box. His BG was 28, and the vet told me she didn't think I had the lifestyle to treat him because I am often gone for >12 hours of the day and travel a lot and that he would probably be fine for a while and then get sick and I'd have to make a choice, she did say diet could help and gave me purina DM to give him. I switched his food while I was away (he was getting dry food then as well) and he still peed a lot but stopped urinating outside of the box. I did a lot of reading when I got home and switched him to a completely high protein, low carb diet . In 72 hours of doing this he is drinking and urinating *almost* normally and his BG dropped to 20. I took him to the vet to learn how to get the shot, talk about home testing and Tight regulation and try to get the right insulin. This did not go well. The vets around here don't endorse home testing and she would only give me caninsulin, IF this doesn't work they will offer me Lantus. I have some acquaintances who are vets and I'm currently trying to get my hands on PZI insulin. The vet recommended that I give him 1 U a day for a week then bring him in for a curve at the vets on Friday.
On saturday and sunday I gave him 1 U insulin each morning. He took it well and behaved normally. I got a BG monitor on Sunday, and Sunday at midnight did my first test showed he was at a BG of 23.
This morning I decided to do a curve and so far here are the results........ trying not to freak out yet since he is currently low!
Time........Glucose level.....note
7:30am......21.2 (378)......1 U Caninsulin
9:30am......11.8 (212)
11:30am......2.1 (37.8)......Trying to stay calm, he is acting normal, eating and is on
the right diet.........
so how am I doing? I do want to try tight regulation but I guess I'll have to see how the rest of his response goes.......