New bottle Lantus

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Wally, Jul 27, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wally

Wally New Member

Hi,

I am a bit of a newbie, Wally being diagnosed in April. He is an older tuxie "street cat" that I finally brought into my home after he spent the summer in our neighborhood unclaimed, so I don't know a lot about his background.

He is now on Lantus, recently moved to 8u. He seems to have some muscle/nerve issues still in his back legs and we are it hoping will improve with control. He is also ravenous - resorting to eating paper towels at one point. (We make sure everything is tucked away that he can get to now!)

Friday was the last of his first bottle of Lantus, opened mid April, kept in the refrigerator. I checked his BS at 2 pm (insulin at 6:30 am) and it was almost 300! His control has not been great yet, but this was high for this time of day.

Saturday was time for the new bottle, I gave him 8u and checked his level again at 2pm - it was 88. I went back to 7 for the time being since he is home alone during the day.

His diet was the same both days. Thoughts on the big difference as I learned Lantus should last several months? Thoughts on helping with his hungries?

I have to say, learning about feline diabetes with Covid restrictions in place at the vet has been a challenge - no more popping in with quick questions!

Thank you in advance!

2. jt and trouble (GA)

jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

WELCOME TO FDMB! I havent seen you post before this so I just wanted to say hello and glad you did post.

It seems to me (and I am NO expert) that the old bottle lost some of its efficacy. I know a vial refrigerated should last a few months. Did your power go out at some point? Seems it should have been fine. Like I said I'm no insulin expert so I will stand aside for others to comment.