New: BG is 72 at +2.25. What to do?

Emma Hefton

Member Since 2021
Hi all,

Charlie is newly diagnosed and this week has been consistently in the greens. I like higher greens and lower blues because then I'm not too worried about dipping into the light green (hypo).

Over the last 36 hours we reduced him from 1 unit (skipped 1 shot while I collected supplies to be able to do less than 1 unit), to .75 unit, to .5 unit because he was below 90 at AMPS today.

Now at +2.25 he is at 72. He has Dr. Elsey's kibble out to free feed on (just started), and I am working from home and can monitor him hourly. Do I give him a Churu which is like kitty crack and also low carb to bring him up a little, or ride it out and see how it goes? (interested in seeing what happens naturally if I don't intervene).

Thanks,
 
He’s earned another reduction to .25. It’s a good idea to feed him any lc he will eat and retest at +3.
 
For a hypo kit I have a range of carb content things to give him: low carb pates and kibble, med-high carb kibble, and high carb karo syrup and I stay stocked on his testing needs. I am still getting situated with printing instructions and such and there is a hospital nearby.

Do I really go all the way down to .25 with only having done .75 unit one time and one .5 unit one time? I wonder if I can even have the precision to get him .25 LOL such a tiny amount!!
 
This dude is at 66 at +3.25 now. And he is giving himself a bath and playing with his toy like he's a sprite young kitten (since I woke him up for testing anyway).
 
Do I really go all the way down to .25 with only having done .75 unit one time and one .5 unit one time?
Yes. On SLGS, you take the reduction immediately for safety reasons. Here's the dosing method sticky for reference. If you ever feed *only* wet food, you can switch to TR if you wanted.

precision to get him .25
The Fine Dosing Sticky shows 0.25. A magnifying glass helps. Or even using the camera with zoom if you have a smart phone.
49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg

You seem to be testing and feeding him quite well :bighug: Surf safely, Charlie :D
 
Yes. On SLGS, you take the reduction immediately for safety reasons. Here's the dosing method sticky for reference. If you ever feed *only* wet food, you can switch to TR if you wanted.


The Fine Dosing Sticky shows 0.25. A magnifying glass helps. Or even using the camera with zoom if you have a smart phone.
49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg

You seem to be testing and feeding him quite well :bighug: Surf safely, Charlie :D
Thanks, Susanne. I don't know why I don't think of you more often when tagging. You have a wealth of knowledge.
 
That's what I'm saying. We did reduce by .25 two times (twice for a total reduction of .5) already in the last 24 hours. I appreciate it!!! He had a snack and is coming up a bit now at 76 at +4 and got a treat after that. Will keep checking. Thank you all!!!
 
That's what I'm saying. We did reduce by .25 two times (twice for a total reduction of .5) already in the last 24 hours. I appreciate it!!! He had a snack and is coming up a bit now at 76 at +4 and got a treat after that. Will keep checking. Thank you all!!!
OK so I think what you're saying is even if you just reduced the dose once, twice, whatever, another reading under 90 means to reduce again. My syringes have half unit markings. I'll do my best to get between .5 and 0. That is just such a small space! lol!
 
OK so I think what you're saying is even if you just reduced the dose once, twice, whatever, another reading under 90 means to reduce again. My syringes have half unit markings. I'll do my best to get between .5 and 0. That is just such a small space! lol!
Yup, this is correct. On SLGS, you take reductions immediately even if you just took one the cycle before.
 
Emma, your kitty is too low right now. You are too new to this site to take any chances. Please, reduce the dose to .25. Charlie has had five in a row BG readings under 90. Trust us. We will work with you but don't take chances right now. Just make the reduction, to the best of your ability based on the syringe, and then we can work with you going forward. Please let us know what your next test is and please don't shoot more than .25 tonight at PMPS.
 
your kitty is too low right now
Charlie is not too low. He's in nice numbers. He has never been in danger, especially with Emma monitoring and giving snacks. Emma seems to understand the reduction, let's let her ask for help if she needs it :bighug:

Emma, post to the board (add a comment to this thread and update your title) if you need any help at PMPS. On SLGS, you don't shoot anything < 90 on a human meter.

I personally won't be around but others will be! You and Charlie are doing great :cat:
 
I am taking all the help I can get! I am just trying to understand, not take chances. Again, I've reduced his dose twice in the last 24 hours and will be happy to try to get .25 tonight. Thank you all so very much!
 
Charlie is not too low. He's in nice numbers. He has never been in danger, especially with Emma monitoring and giving snacks. Emma seems to understand the reduction, let's let her ask for help if she needs it :bighug:

Emma, post to the board (add a comment to this thread and update your title) if you need any help at PMPS. On SLGS, you don't shoot anything < 90 on a human meter.

I personally won't be around but others will be! You and Charlie are doing great :cat:
Thank you, Suzanne, I really appreciate your support!
 
Back
Top