New bean will need pm dose help in roughly 3 hours

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes.I shuold be online around 9PM my time (7:20 now here)
Catl in SC
 
Ok everyone - here is Beau's BG at +23.5 = 311. Any advise on PM dosing so I can get a shootable AM dosing tomorrow for vet's BG curve??? Please take a look at his spreadsheet for his BG readings. Thanks.
 
It looks to me like 1.5 units it too much and .75 isn't enough. So I guess I would go with somewher between .8 and 1 unit. Can you get any mid cycle tests to see how it works?
 
Hi Robin -- when you said mid cycle test does that mean a few +2, +4 readings tonight after I give his PM shot (between 0.8-1U)? Sorry I'm still new to the terminology.
 
I was reading your thread on Health about the curve at the vet. You don't have to do that at the vet & it won't really be acurate. Her BG is going to be elevated due to stress at the vet. I think you said you couldn't get mid cycle tests in? I can't get them most days but I get a few spot checks in weeknights & if I need to do a curve I do it on the weekends when I'm off. It will also save you some money! :smile:
 
Looks like Joanna answered you on your post on health and also is on board with the 1 unit dose.
 
Hi Barbara -- I am using U40 syringe so the 1.5U and 1.25U I had given him is by eyeball. I didn't have time to get U100 syringes and the vet hospital didn't stock these. And I didn't think we need to drop the dosage that soon! When the vet told me to drop the dosage down to 1.5U she said it's ok to eyeball it for now until our next visit which is tomorrow.
 
The U40 syringes are fine, I just didn't know if you knew there was an option. Sorry, I just saw Joanna & Nancy answered you over on health. I saw they also mentioned the vet curve issue. I don't know how your vet charges but it can get really expensive for them to do it & it really won't tell you anything. Her numbers will be different at home. And I can tell you the vets usually recommend a higher dose than they really need, at least in my experience (which is really not much) so be cautious about that. BTW, welcome to our group! :smile:
 
Actually I think 1u is too low a dose. If you look at the AM cycle on 7/27, she shot on about a 300 PS and the nadir was about 150. While that's a decent drop, I don't think it's enough - from what I have seen they seem to do better at more like 60-65%, 50% usually leaves them too high (not to mention that he is responding really well to green nadirs, so why settle for mid-blue).

The 1.5 looks a little steep, so that's where I would try 1.25, but be quick to raise closer to 1.5 if the green nadirs are lost.

I mentioned 1u only in the sense of being 100% sure of a shootable PS in the morning. It is a deliberate undershoot in my view, just to be clear.
 
Sorry if I misrepresented what you said...I was referring to the 1 unit being a safe dose for tonight!
 
:mrgreen: Thanks for clarifying Kim! I panicked at the idea she might go with 1u as an ongoing dose when he is doing so great with a little more insulin! lol ohmygod_smile I need a vacation ;-)
 
Thank you everyone for your input and advise. I went with 1.0U on the conservative side just so Beau will have a shootable # in the morning. I agree with Joanna and would have given him 1.25U if it was any other day to get a better response and nadir.

One of the reason I'm keeping the appt is so far I was only able to do spot checks and already had 2 NS #'s with varying dosages. The vet's curve is to give both me and my vet a peace of mind on where we stand with his treatment although we both know it will be elevated. We had talked about it on our last appt and agreed we both want the first BG curve to be done in the hospital and afterward I will be monitoring his progress with home BG curves. I had mentioned in earlier post that this vet I'm seeing only works 1.5 days a week and doesn't have much experience treating diabetic cats (Cindy gave me her vet's info who she had good experience with so I am thinking of bringing him in for a 2nd opinion). But she is honest and open to home testing and knows I am checking his BG's. I will bring a printout of Beau's spreadsheet with me tomorrow and make sure she takes into consideration his #'s when interpreting their BG curve and adjusting his dosage. They have quoted me $180 for the in-house BG curve (9 data points) and $75 on the fructosamine, which I thought wasn't too bad.

I will be checking his BG tonight and post here. Thanks again for everyone's help!
 
Nancy and Payne said:
No one else can leave until Sue comes back!!!
I realized I am here pretty much 2 hours every night, so that's 14 hrs a week. :o That's a part-time job! I like to check in, but I need to figure out how to cut back in some fashion, just can't keep doing it like this. It would be one thing if I had a diabetic cat anymore, but I'm starting to feel like one of those people who keep their kid's room just as it was after they die or something - I'm living like I have a diabetic cat, and I don't! I even felt a huge sense of relief when I switched my civie to injectible meds rather than oral (which she really hated). It was such a relief to be shooting someone up twice a day LOL, just felt like normal again. Clearly I need help lol, addicted to an internet board and to giving cats their shots!

:dizcat

mini-hijack, sorry!
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
Nancy and Payne said:
No one else can leave until Sue comes back!!!
I realized I am here pretty much 2 hours every night, so that's 14 hrs a week. :o That's a part-time job! I like to check in, but I need to figure out how to cut back in some fashion, just can't keep doing it like this. It would be one thing if I had a diabetic cat anymore, but I'm starting to feel like one of those people who keep their kid's room just as it was after they die or something - I'm living like I have a diabetic cat, and I don't! I even felt a huge sense of relief when I switched my civie to injectible meds rather than oral (which she really hated). It was such a relief to be shooting someone up twice a day LOL, just felt like normal again. Clearly I need help lol, addicted to an internet board and to giving cats their shots!

:dizcat

mini-hijack, sorry!

I completely understand you, Joanna....but you've been such a HUGE help!! Thank you for sticking around here :YMHUG: You just need to wean yourself a bit at a time lol
 
+4 UPDATE: Beau's BG is at 126 so dose seems to be working alright for tonight. Will update tomorrow morning's AMPS. Good night everyone ~~
 
+12 UPDATE: this morning Beau's AMPS is 233. I'm thinking of giving either a slightly reduced dose at 1.25U or the vet's prescribed 1.5U. Any thoughts?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top