DaniCoz
Member Since 2011
I've posted to the Health Forum a few times and was directed here to get a question answered. I've just started home testing, and still don't have many #s because I'm not getting enough blood every time I test. I'm going to copy/paste some of my previous posts and hope that I can get some advice and see if I'm doing the right thing. Here goes:
Charlie was acting not quite right and losing weight, so we took several visits to the vet and got lots of tests. His BG was somewhat high, so he went back to the vet for a fasting BG and then went downhill fast. After being at the vet for two days I took him to the "kitty ICU" where both my regular vet and ICU vet agreed he had a 50/50 chance of surviving. In a week he had lost a pound, become dehydrated, developed DKA, liver failure, anemia... you name it. As sick as he was, I couldn't take that 50% chance away from him. Luckily, he got a little better every day. After a 5 night stay in the hospital, an ultrasound, insulin CRI, IV fluids and antibiotics, 2 blood transfusions, and placement of an e-tube, we were able to bring him home. This was back in mid-December. When he was sent home he was on 2u of Lantus twice daily. Pre-dx and hospitalization he was eating Iams dry indoor formula, with the occasional can of wet, then getting IV fluids for a few days, then started on Hills a/d through the tube. After 2 weeks of tube feeding he was fully transitioned to low carb wet (4 small meals per day) and has been for 10 days.
Now the part that I'm looking for help with. On Saturday, Charlie got his annual checkup and rabies at the vet. He also got his feeding tube out! The vet tech called a couple hours after his appt. and said the vet wanted him to get his shot only once a day b/c his bg was low. I swear it sounded like she said 22, but he was showing no signs of hypo and eating normally, so I'm not sure yet. I haven't called them yet because I want to have data to present when I call. I didn't think that just one shot blindly per day made sense, and luckily I had already started trying to test at home. I tried to test Saturday at +12 but couldn't get a reading. So I skipped the shot just be on the safe side. Tried to test yesterday (Sunday) pre-shot, but again, not enough blood after 3 pokes...Charlie is such a trooper! I gave him 1u because I was still worried about hypo but was also afraid to not give him his dose. Well he did great yesterday, including have a great appetite. OK, now I'm getting to the numbers. Sorry this is so long! I tested yesterday at +9 (about 4-5 hours after he ate). His BG was 132. I tested again at +12: 119. I skipped his shot and gave him his dinner. I tried again before going to bed last night but no dice. He got his midnight meal. This morning I tested at what is now +24 from his last 1u shot. He was at 115!! So I skipped his shot and gave him his meal. I tried to test several times throughout today but only got 2 more results: At +3 (really +27 from last shot, but 3 hours after eating) he was at 139. At +8 (really +32, and 2 hours after his lunch) he was at 112. Tried to test again before the time he would usually get his shot, but not enough blood after 3 sticks (he tends to move his head a lot). Since I only have 5 numbers I haven't started a SS yet and don't have a real clear picture of what is going on. I can't imagine him spiking above 150 before his next shot, but if he does get that high maybe I should just do a small dose? If it's still around 110-115 should I skip it again? Is it possible that diet alone is enough to get him regulated so quickly?
Sorry this is so long. We are still so new to this, so I don't know if this is normal. I want to do what is best for him and wish I could get blood every time I stuck him. He is pretty cooperative, but I don't want to overdo it because I don't want him to run away every time I walk in the room!
Thanks for reading :smile:
Danielle and Charlie
Charlie was acting not quite right and losing weight, so we took several visits to the vet and got lots of tests. His BG was somewhat high, so he went back to the vet for a fasting BG and then went downhill fast. After being at the vet for two days I took him to the "kitty ICU" where both my regular vet and ICU vet agreed he had a 50/50 chance of surviving. In a week he had lost a pound, become dehydrated, developed DKA, liver failure, anemia... you name it. As sick as he was, I couldn't take that 50% chance away from him. Luckily, he got a little better every day. After a 5 night stay in the hospital, an ultrasound, insulin CRI, IV fluids and antibiotics, 2 blood transfusions, and placement of an e-tube, we were able to bring him home. This was back in mid-December. When he was sent home he was on 2u of Lantus twice daily. Pre-dx and hospitalization he was eating Iams dry indoor formula, with the occasional can of wet, then getting IV fluids for a few days, then started on Hills a/d through the tube. After 2 weeks of tube feeding he was fully transitioned to low carb wet (4 small meals per day) and has been for 10 days.
Now the part that I'm looking for help with. On Saturday, Charlie got his annual checkup and rabies at the vet. He also got his feeding tube out! The vet tech called a couple hours after his appt. and said the vet wanted him to get his shot only once a day b/c his bg was low. I swear it sounded like she said 22, but he was showing no signs of hypo and eating normally, so I'm not sure yet. I haven't called them yet because I want to have data to present when I call. I didn't think that just one shot blindly per day made sense, and luckily I had already started trying to test at home. I tried to test Saturday at +12 but couldn't get a reading. So I skipped the shot just be on the safe side. Tried to test yesterday (Sunday) pre-shot, but again, not enough blood after 3 pokes...Charlie is such a trooper! I gave him 1u because I was still worried about hypo but was also afraid to not give him his dose. Well he did great yesterday, including have a great appetite. OK, now I'm getting to the numbers. Sorry this is so long! I tested yesterday at +9 (about 4-5 hours after he ate). His BG was 132. I tested again at +12: 119. I skipped his shot and gave him his dinner. I tried again before going to bed last night but no dice. He got his midnight meal. This morning I tested at what is now +24 from his last 1u shot. He was at 115!! So I skipped his shot and gave him his meal. I tried to test several times throughout today but only got 2 more results: At +3 (really +27 from last shot, but 3 hours after eating) he was at 139. At +8 (really +32, and 2 hours after his lunch) he was at 112. Tried to test again before the time he would usually get his shot, but not enough blood after 3 sticks (he tends to move his head a lot). Since I only have 5 numbers I haven't started a SS yet and don't have a real clear picture of what is going on. I can't imagine him spiking above 150 before his next shot, but if he does get that high maybe I should just do a small dose? If it's still around 110-115 should I skip it again? Is it possible that diet alone is enough to get him regulated so quickly?
Sorry this is so long. We are still so new to this, so I don't know if this is normal. I want to do what is best for him and wish I could get blood every time I stuck him. He is pretty cooperative, but I don't want to overdo it because I don't want him to run away every time I walk in the room!
Thanks for reading :smile:
Danielle and Charlie